Too late I already fed himDon’t feed and re-test.
no worries - generally if you see a lower than normal preshot, don't feed and retest in 20 minutes to see if he's rising or not.Too late I already fed him
no worries - generally if you see a lower than normal preshot, don't feed and retest in 20 minutes to see if he's rising or not.
I don't give dosing advice but I'll tag some people who have helped before - @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
Per your SS, you're following SLGS, is that right? It's a good idea to add to your signature when you get a minute.
I mean to add that for c) above that you'd wait ~2 hours from feeding and get a "new" PS number. But then your morning shot would be off by 1.5 hours (you can adjust by 30 minutes per 24 hours to get back to your normal shot time).
On SLGS, the numbers mentioned are safe for AT2 and Human meter. Reductions are taken at <90 on both meters.I have one serious question very important with respect to those numbers
Henry's numbers are from a pet meter (ALPHATRAK2) not a human meter
So what would be the guidelines for a pet meter since this protocol is human meter numbers????
On SLGS, the numbers mentioned are safe for AT2 and Human meter. Reductions are taken at <90 on both meters.
It's when following TR that the "take action number" is different - on AT2, it's <68 and on human meter, it's <50.
Maybe @carfurby can stop by - she follows SLGS and has been for awhile.
First...we don’t ever convert numbers from the AT to a human meter.I have one serious question very important with respect to those numbers
Henry's numbers are from a pet meter (ALPHATRAK2) not a human meter
So what would be the guidelines for a pet meter since this protocol is human meter numbers????
So I'm thinking if you were to convert Henry's number to human his 141 would convert ~= 100 Human?
First...we don’t ever convert numbers from the AT to a human meter.There is absolutely no equivalent.
If you fed him, unless you can shoot in two hours, you should just skip because you don’t have enough data to know if he gets food spikes. Can you be two hours off? The good thing is, he does bounce and so if he does, you can shoot early which I’ll explain later. I want to post this so you’ll see it now and then I’ll post another post with info.
I just want to be sure this does not confuse anyone. The 68 on the AT and the 50 on the human meter are the reduction numbers under tight regulation. For SLGS, the reduction number is below 90 regardless of the meter.edited to clarify: I should clarify that <68 on AT2 or <50 on Human is always a take action no matter the dosing method. On TR, the "take action numbers" are when reductions are taken too.
We never, ever shoot without a preshot so if you want to shoot in two hours, test first. I doubt you’ll see a number that will require the dose to be changed because that would mean that after two hours, and no additional insulin, he’d have to be below 90 to reduce the dose. Impossible? No but it’s unlikely.OK my guess and it's a guess I think his food spike is about 30 points - just a thought
I can shoot in two hours you need a BG reading prior to preshot to determine the dose if needs to be change???
I just want to be sure this does not confuse anyone. The 68 on the AT and the 50 on the human meter are the reduction numbers under tight regulation. For SLGS, the reduction number is below 90 regardless of the meter.
I do understand what you are saying here but I don’t want anyone to get reduction numbers on TR confused with when you need to test more, etc. the main reason is because an experienced caregiver might not need to take action at 50 or 68 on the AT because they might know their cat well enough to know they can surf in the high 40s or low 50s (human meter) with no issue. But, the point is well taken that if you get one of those numbers, you need to be sure you are testing and, depending on when it is in the cycle, possibly feeding.
Robert..I know, intuitively, there is the tendency to want to use the 68 and the 50 as equivalents and then adjust numbers from there. But it doesn’t work that way. When the TR protocol was written, the 68 on the TR and 50 on a human meter were not meant to be equivalents. Those were just the BGs set for reductions. If you look on Gracie’s SS, there’s a tab comparing my human meter and the AT and you’ll see there is not an equivalency and you can’t extrapolate numbers using math.
We never, ever shoot without a preshot so if you want to shoot in two hours, test first. I doubt you’ll see a number that will require the dose to be changed because that would mean that after two hours, and no additional insulin, he’d have to be below 90 to reduce the dose. Impossible? No but it’s unlikely.
In the subject line, the PMPS would need to be PMBG so we know you didn’t shoot. If you do shoot at +14, you would put PMPS in at that time.
Right. Even if we skip or stall, we don’t reduce the dose unless they actually earned a reduction which is below 90 for SLGS.Marje
So if his number is not below 90 - 4.75 units for his shot
Do you anticipate it will be rising above 141 at +2 (8:00pm EST)?
Thank You
If his numbers aren’t dropping, I’d just feed him before his +2 for the evening cycle. That means if PMPS is at 8 and +2 is at 10 and he onsets at +2, unless he is headed way up from PMPS, you might want to feed. Otherwise, I would feed on his normal schedule.Marje
Does this change in the PMPS preshot two hours later change our feeding schedule?
Thank you for being there. You did a great job!!!Thanks for stopping by @Marje and Gracie - I was getting to the end of my own knowledge![]()


I’d shoot and get a +1 and +2.New PMPS BG reading (166) @ 8:00pm EST
Correct.That means if PMPS is at 8 and +2 is at 10 and he onsets at +2, unless he is headed way up from PMPS, you might want to feed. Otherwise, I would feed on his normal schedule.
So feed him +2 (10:00pm EST) if his BG reading is up very little from the BG reading @ (8:00pm EST) - Which is his new PMPS
But if BG reading is significantly up just feed him his normal schedule which would be 11:30pm EST
Next BG reading in 15 minutes
Thank You
Correct.
On his SS, in the +11 column, please put “141 @ +12” and in the PMPS column, put “166 @ +14”.
Sounds like he is going to have some lower numbers tonight. It might be good to just give him a tsp or two of low carb food so he doesn’t drop a lot when he onsets. See you at +2.Just performed BG reading PMPS + 1 (158) @ 9:00pm EST
OK just fed Henry (2) teaspoons of his normal LC wet foodSounds like he is going to have some lower numbers tonight. It might be good to just give him a tsp or two of low carb food so he doesn’t drop a lot when he onsets. See you at +2.
Yes. I would and test at +3 to see if he slows down a bit.Marje,
PMPS + 2 BG reading = (122)
Recommend feeding his structured feeding normally @ 11:30pm EST (1/4 of his daily) at this moment???
Yes. I would and test at +3 to see if he slows down a bit.
If numbers drop, we often have to feed more.Marje
Just to let you know Henry has consumed his LC wet food (1/4 Daily)
No. Just letting you know if he continues down, he might need more food at some point.Marje are suggesting a little more LC wet food NOW in addition to his 80 calories 30 minutes ago???
Good observations. By +5, he will be getting close to nadir.Marje
Just performed PMPS + 3 (154)
Do not take this statement to the bank I think his food spike is ~= 30 points, I just sorta notice that of late.
Also I notice his food spike dissipates after (2) hours 30 points GONE
Good observations. By +5, he will be getting close to nadir.
What I’ve been having you do tonight is to feed him as numbers come down while he’s in very safe numbers so you can get an idea of how he responds to food. The caveat is that in some cats, if numbers drop faster or they are lower, it might take a higher carb food to control it. But this gives you some data.
I suggest you keep track of it on his SS. I’m not saying you have to get as detailed as I did on Gracies SS but it’s good to have a record so you can go back and look at it.
Since he’s headed up and not down, I am probably going to head to bed before his +5 which is when you should test again. If numbers come down, feed. Test as much as you need to. But....he shouldn’t come down too much more as he will be approaching nadir. Post for help if you need to.
Is that ok?
Nadirs can change so try not to get too married to that +6. Yes, check at +5 and feed, if necessary. I think you normally feed at +5.5 so it’s fine to feed him then as long as numbers are headed up. If the BG is coming down, be cautious about feeding at +5.5 if he doesn’t need it because you don’t want him to be too full.So the NADIR under Vet supervision was around + 6
This is my understanding now is to check at + 5 if the numbers are down (below the + 3 BG reading) feed but if status quo or rising then it is safe to assume Henry is past the peak of the insulin.
If the numbers are in fact dropping at + 5 ==>next BG reading + 6 (Which possibly might be his true NADIR)
If you are up at his regular shot time and he’s bounced up to pink or higher, you can shoot early at +10.5 (6:30). If he’s still coasting in blue, shoot at 8 and we’ll start getting him backed up tomorrow night.Now the AMPS will now be 8:00am EST?
Nadirs can change so try not to get too married to that +6. Yes, check at +5 and feed, if necessary. I think you normally feed at +5.5 so it’s fine to feed him then as long as numbers are headed up. If the BG is coming down, be cautious about feeding at +5.5 if he doesn’t need it because you don’t want him to be too full.
If you are up at his regular shot time and he’s bounced up to pink or higher, you can shoot early at +10.5 (6:30). If he’s still coasting in blue, shoot at 8 and we’ll start getting him backed up tomorrow night.
Nadirs can change so try not to get too married to that +6. Yes, check at +5 and feed, if necessary. I think you normally feed at +5.5 so it’s fine to feed him then as long as numbers are headed up. If the BG is coming down, be cautious about feeding at +5.5 if he doesn’t need it because you don’t want him to be too full.
I'm confused I understand about being to FULL but I thought feeding is a counter to dropping BG numbers but you state to be cautious if he does not need it because potentially of being full at that time + 5.5 this seems counter to his dropping BG number at the specific time?
If you are up at his regular shot time and he’s bounced up to pink or higher, you can shoot early at +10.5 (6:30). If he’s still coasting in blue, shoot at 8 and we’ll start getting him backed up tomorrow night.
I’m sorry I forgot to answer that. No. We don’t reduce based on that and I don’t believe he would have gotten close to 90 without feeding. We only reduce when we actually get a number below 90 (SLGS) on the meter or, very occasionally, if the depot gets ahead of us a bit and it takes a ton of food to keep the numbers up above 90.Marje does Henry possibly qualify for a reduction (@ AMPS) assuming his feedings prevented the 90 threshold to occur???
if you test him a little before 6 and you aren’t able to shoot because he’s in blue, you can feed him as long as it’s by 6 so you can shoot at 8. But you will likely have to feed him at +2 ( from when you shoot) as well so he’s got food on board within two hours of when you shoot.Does his feeding schedule align with his new amps?