11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

11/23 Recap:
AMPS: 96 9th cycle sk1.25u lev
+2: 140
+5: 185
+8: 76
+8.5: 59
+9.5: 69
+10.5: 67
PMPS: 78 10th cycle sk1.25u lev
+1.5: 31 :shock: :shock: fed 10%/.5 ml karo
+2: 54
+3: 70
+4: 76
+5: 80
+6.5: 128
+9: 250 confused_cat


Gobble gobble gobble!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!!!
e-card%20thanksgiving_thumb.gif


My gratitude list is so very, very extensive that I will give you my extremely abridged version: my beloved Mikey, our kitties, and each and everyone of you and all you have done for us during the sugardance. Love and hugs to each of you.

Gracie had a nice day yesterday and....lo and behold...tenth cycle (just like last time on this dose), she kicked in and earned a dose reduction. I shot through the bounce this morning (which was expected after that 31) and will give her the reduction when she starts to clear. After lights out last night, she and Tobes started their chase/smackdown play :lol: :lol: He was cooing and she wasn't hissing so I assume she was getting the upper hand. They were so loud I couldn't sleep so I turned the light on only to find them just quietly sitting next to each other looking at me with those big SF eyes with a "WHAT?" look on their innocent faces. As soon as lights out, they started again.....at least they were getting exercise. They eventually came to bed for snuggles.

After Gracie's T/F/S this morning, I headed btb only to find she had beat me back there and was waiting to cuddle. So I got in a couple more hours sleep with lots of purry cuddles from both Gracie and Tobes...snuggled up in my arms...heaven!!! I was being lazy cuz I knew I had only to do my quick cranberry sauce for dinner today. However, when I finally got up at 10, my DF called and said her punkin pie didn't turn out cuz she used a real punkin so I told her I'd make my caramel pecan punkin pie (SO YUMMY) but I had to go to the store and it is a bit labor intensive thus my tardiness posting. Anyway...I'm shortly out the door for dinner there. Mike and I are both feeling much better today.

Have a wonderful day with your family and friends. I'll be back at shot time and will be able to catch up on your condos and day then.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

The innocent looks, what, us? No it wasn't us! How cute :lol:

I want you to know how much I appreciate you. It gives me reassurance to know you check out Weezer's condo. You are on my thanksgiving list.

Have a great Thanksgiving.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy thanksgiving. What a great day yesterday for Gracie! She wanted to give you both a day out today! Hope you both enjoy your day and your better health.

It's cool and blustery up here today, but no moisture in our forecast. It looks like the system is hanging around your part of the state. We love that kind of weather this time of year, so festive!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving! all sounds well in your household - and the beans are getting healthy again too. YAY!

have a great day today, I hope your holiday is a good one.

Gracie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Turkey party at Tess's!!!! I gots turkeys and squirrel and mouse stuffing and taters and FD veggies and lots of pumpkin pies with tons of whip cream! So hurry, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

nom nom nom that sounds like a very yummy pie! we love their little innocent faces!

hope you had a fun time at your friend's house!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Wishing you and yours a Happy Thanksgiving.

You are certainly a person I am thankful to know and to have close by. Your generosity in helping us overwhelms me, truly it does. Love to you, Mike and the kitties.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving Marje, Gracie and crew. Thanks for your friendship and support. I can relate to Tobes and Gracie causing a stir in the middle of the night, as I get it with Maggie and her imaginary friend! :lol: Yikes on the 31 and best wishes on the dose reduction. Oh that pie sounds so good. The rain held out for us today, and it was just very cloudy and cool, a nice wintry day. Glad you and Mike are feeling better and have a nice and blessed Thanksgiving today.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Hi Marje. Happy Thanksgiving to both beans and kitters. Thank you so much for all you do on here lending encouragement and kind words, even when in the midst of your own struggles.

And- my goodness- the stink eye picture from yesterday :lol: :lol: I just want to reach out and tickle the belly and kiss her square on the forehead. That's what I do when mine are protesting something. :lol: They don't appreicate it, but I find it priceless!!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Hi Marje and Mike, Gracie, Tobey, and Gus,
We hope that you are enjoying your Thanksgiving dinner with your friends and that your pie turned out great! So happy to hear that you and Mike are feeling better.
Gracie and Tobes are having a ball these days. How wonderful to see such activity!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving and thanks for all the excellent info. in Gracie's condo every day. Lev. cycles are not easy to figure out and I am thankful that you are so ready to share your experiences with regard to the oddities of this insulin!

Thanksgiving scritches to Gracie and Tobey,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving Marje, Mike, Gracie, Tobey, and Gus!! Thank you for all the support and words of encouragement the last year! Hope you had a great day!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie AMPS 296 +4 293 Happy Thanksgiving!

Bouncy girl today!! the tale of last night's wrestling match cracked me up... I can totally just picture them with the cute little innocent faces the minute the light went on!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks for your sweet words in our condo today... I'm so blessed to have met you as well... and so grateful to count you as a friend. :-D :-D :-D :-D


Hey, Tobey! Iz Willie!! I haz plan... De Herblet won't go out de pet door (an' I'z good at guarding it, so I figure out how to open it wen de bean leaves, an' den u (an' Miss Gracie if u needz a chaperone!) can visit us anytime! I know Herbie would love to play, even it if it iz in de house. Bean sez she'll haz plenty of cinnaminimumuffins for you!! See ya soon!! --Willie. PS-- Sorry Miss Gracie for hijacking your condo wif a message for de Tobes. See u at Tess'??
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 Happy Thanksgiving!

We hope you all have had a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and loved ones. Thanks for taking time in your busy day to visit us.

Gracie is starting to clear her bounce...let's see if she keeps it up. I did reduce her tonight. I decided if she was above 250, I'd shoot through the bounce again and below...reduce. So she got the reducie!!

The pie was incredible...all of dinner was wonderful. I've shared so many holidays with my friend and her family that I feel very comfortable amongst them. ....but miss Mike terribly.

Linda: thank you so much; I appreciate every single day that you bring your wonderful humor to our condo!!

Anne and Liz: yes...doing better and we haven't yet gotten that rain...it may bypass us!!

Michelle: It was as great as it could be without Mike. Gracie and Tobey are conked out...they must have had too much turkey at Tess's!

Julie: those two can look more innocent than a newborn baby!!

Rosalie: And I'm so thankful to know you...I've learned so much about diabetes from you! Love back...

Ann: Thank you for yours....we always enjoy your visits here! HOpe you had a lovely day.

Lisa: Hugs to you and DL!!

Jaclyn: Thank you and I so appreciate it. That picture is a LL classic....and she has the most kissable belly ever!!

Ella: They are two crazy kids!! You are another stabilizing force in LL that I've learned alot from . Thank you!

Melissa: You're welcome and same to you!! Hope you all had a great day.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! Happy Thanksgiving!

*(@&#()&!(&@~~!!! I am not believing this!! Thank God I checked her at +2...I don't even know why I did because she has been sitting in here with me.....not running around, not acting hungry....nothing at all. I rechecked her on my backup OT and just to make sure there was not a strip problem, on my Contour. The two OT's read 20 and the Contour 21.

I fed her a large portion of 10% and .5 ml karo. I know this has to be the shed from the sk1.25u as I just shot the f1u tonight for the first time. Holy Cow!!!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! Happy Thanksgiving!

Is Gracie okay? Please let us know. I am here and will be for several hours so if i can help in any way, call me. Just keep giving her glucose. I know you know what to do. Yikes!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40

Thanks Cathy, Anne/Liz, and Rosalie:

I got her up to 40 in 20 minutes and gave her more 10%...am rechecking in just a few minutes. If she's not up a lot more, I'll give her more karo. She seems totally fine. She's never been that low and out of nowhere. I can only wonder if her pancreas kicked in. I am certain the 193 was an accurate number....good fill on the strip and right in line with how she was dropping earlier.

Be back in a few minutes with another test. She wants to go out on the catio but I'm keeping her in because it's easier to get her to test her inside.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40

Glad she is up a bit. I will keep my e mail open for more updates from you and I am a night owl so we can have a pj party all night if need be. I hope you are doing okay. It can be a little freaky, I know. Spent a few nights myself drinking the sugar water I prepared for the humming bird feeder.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66

Thanks, Rosalie. I just hope that she is ok.....she seems totally normal but I hope this does not have some residual effect on her. She did not have one single symptom of hypo...her pupils are not dilated, not sluggish, grouchy, overly affectionate, acting starved. Nothing. I'm so worried about her even though she seems fine and is acting just like Gracie.

I can't imagine what could have caused that crazy drop like that...she's never done that on lev. She does nadir late on levemir...sometimes after I've given her the next shot so +14/+15 from the previous shot but geez.....never like this. But I've also never shot through the bounce on lev although I did it frequently on lantus. I guess we will not do it again.....

I'm sure that I will have a hard time sleeping tonight .....I'll be checking her every time I turn around.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66

OMG!! WOW!!!! What a drop! Sending prayers for Gracie that everything is okay!!!! (((hugs)))
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118

MJ: I know!!!! My expression exactly.

Whew....she's up to 118 and should start her onset from her PM shot in the next hour or two. Will continue checking her. Part of this might also be the fast rise at the end of the lev cycle and/or her liver already in panic mode. Keeping a close eye on her....she's on the back of my chair.

Thanks to all who checked in.

Violet: yes...she seems to be fine. Thank you so much for the prayers. I can't imagine what caused that drop.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118

I am sure she will be fine. As I mentioned, unless she had a seizure, there will be no problem. Another FYI about human type 1 diabetics is something called hypo unawarness. I have it and I would think kitties can develop it as well if they go lower than normal enough. I no longer respond to really low numbers. I have been in the 40s and not felt a thing nor did I act differently. That is VERY low on the human scale. After a while the body adjusts to those lower numbers and the typical symptoms do not occur. So, I would think that kitties develop hypo unawareness as well, especially on the protocol we use. That is probably why Gracie seemed to be fine. Do not worry about any damage done. If she is acting normally then she is normal.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118

Thanks, Rosalie. It's been almost 2.5 hour since I got that low and she has been acting 100% normal the entire evening. I'm getting ready to test her again. Normally I would go to bed and get up at 12 to check her but think I'll stay up as late as I can and then sleep/test her.

Thank you again for your support and information. I was afraid of some residual effects on her.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20!! +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118

Good grief, if Zener could send her some of his numbers, I'm sure he would! Hope she is holding steady in better numbers now.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5

Thanks Anne... She's skyrocketing. I can only imagine that her liver is going wacko. I'm afraid it's gonna be a pretty ugly bounce. At least I already took her dose down.

Headed off to sleep/test. Ni Ni. Thank you, God, for taking care of my baby tonight and making me get that +2!
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5

(((((marjorie))))) that must've been scary! glad she's come up nicely and i'd guess no residual problem either if you hadn't seen it already. my gosh what a drop from a 193! she keeps you on your toes.

now gracie'll probably zoom high and you'll get the pass to sleep tonight. i'm off to bed - see you tomorrow to do it all again! :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5

I don't think there is any way that you could have gently raised that 20 up without a spike. Nature of the beast and diabetes is a beast. We make friends with it because we have to and we respect it and learn to deal with it. At least that is how I have come to relate to it but for my kitty, I resisted that reality until now.

Glad she is out of danger now and you can get some rest. I will hope for her to surf in the blues through the night but whatever she does, she did not lose a thing. Yes, thank GOD you tested at +2.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5

OMG! I've been trying to catch up and just saw this! And I thought Tess was giving me a ride tonight. Good catch! As Rosalie said, you caught it and you brought her up beautifully. It is great to have someone who knows diabetes so well to calm your fears.
 
Re: 11/24 Gracie PMPS 193 +2 20 +2.5 40 + 3 66 +3.5 118 +4.5

GRACIE!!!!! What are you doing????? I'm so glad to see that you were able to get her numbers up quickly and she is fine- I'm sure you're heart skipped a few beats!

Princess Gracie!!! I takes you to da falls wif me but dat's no good! You be more careful!!!
-Smokey
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top