11-24 Gizmo AMPS=289; +3=197; +5.75=133; +8.75=200; PMPS=233; +2.75=120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

PMPS = 243
+2 = 218
+4 = 161
+6 = 157

AMPS = 289
+3 = 197

Gizmo is doing good and seems to be liking 7.5 units. I'm just not sure how I know whether the cabergoline has started working or the tumor is just not active right now.?:confused: He went down to around 6 units right before we started cabergoline and then he climbed right back up in dose ... just to drop again while we were on vacation. I'm just not sure, but hate to keep him on the cabergoline if it isn't making a different. We just started the 3rd month. Hoping I know for sure within this month before I have to order another bottle.
 
It sure would be nice if you could see some proof that the cabergoline is helping Gizmo, but you don't want to give up on using it too soon either. That's a tough one. Glad to see Gizmo is getting in some feel-good numbers :cool::bighug:
 
Is there anything else about Gizmo that has changed since he started cabergoline? Any of his behaviours or 5 P's? Might be worth an email to RVC, but even they may not know the longer term answer about cabergoline. With an acro, I would worry more about some of the other effects of the excess growth hormone, not the insulin dose. There may be some correlation with dose, but even on small doses, Neko was seeing soft tissue and bony growth. Have you thought about getting the IGF-1 retested? Might be interesting at the threee month mark. That's an indicator of soft tissue growth, and unrelated to the BG.
 
+5.75 = 133
+8.75 = 200

Is there anything else about Gizmo that has changed since he started cabergoline? Any of his behaviours or 5 P's? Might be worth an email to RVC, but even they may not know the longer term answer about cabergoline. With an acro, I would worry more about some of the other effects of the excess growth hormone, not the insulin dose. There may be some correlation with dose, but even on small doses, Neko was seeing soft tissue and bony growth. Have you thought about getting the IGF-1 retested? Might be interesting at the threee month mark. That's an indicator of soft tissue growth, and unrelated to the BG.
We haven't noticed any changes in Gizmo since starting the cabergoline. I guess I got focused on lowering his insulin dose and forgot about the soft tissue growth. He does have a growth on the top of his head (since around the time he became diabetic). It has gotten bigger in the past few months, but just this past week we feel like it might have gotten smaller. I wonder if that is related to the acro? We can definitely get the IGF-1 retested. So a lower IGF-1 number would indicate that the cabergoline is working to help lessen the effects of acro? I will email Chris at RVC also to see if he has any answers. Thanks for all your helpful advice!:bighug:
 
Yes, the original goal of the cabergoline trial was to see if it could lower the IGF-1, which contributes to soft tissue growth, which SRT does not affect much. Neko had soft tissue growth on her gums and her throat, she was getting a whispery breath.
 
Yes, the original goal of the cabergoline trial was to see if it could lower the IGF-1, which contributes to soft tissue growth, which SRT does not affect much. Neko had soft tissue growth on her gums and her throat, she was getting a whispery breath.
Interesting. I didn't know that.
 
So we just started it today. I am considering this to be a lifelong med for Maverick. It is what is feasible for me and what I can afford. Here is the study that convinced me to do it. The RVC study solidified it. I just wish we would hear how it was going for them. Let me know if they get back to you. I will have the IGF retested at some point.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top