11/24/2019 - Freckles-AMPS 254 - dose increase? Advice please.

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Freckles seems to be liking the colour yellow even though I much prefer blue and green. I'm thinking I need to increase her dose by .25 to be at 2.75u. I'm at work all day tomorrow so would prefer to increase at today's PMST so I can do a check later tonight. Does anyone think I'm keeping her numbers artificially high by giving her meals throughout the cycle?
 
Since you haven't seen any blue, you can increase to 2.75 units tonight per SLGS. As far as feeing goes, if you feed after nadir it can make her numbers go higher in the second half of the cycle. However, if you're just feeding freeze-dried chicken that should not affect her BG.
 
Go ahead with that increase. You have held this dose 7 days and haven’t seen anything below 150. Paws crossed for better numbers on the new dose.

I think your feeding is fine. We have members with grazers. I know Freckles doesn’t understand the concept of grazing.:p
 
Thanks Carla. Freckles has been getting wet food (FF pate) throughout the cycle. 1.25 cans @ Shot time, .5 can @ +2, .25 can @+4, .25 can @+6, 10 pieces dehydrated chicken @+8.

She has gained her weight back, so I'm planning on reducing her 12 hr cycle food by .25 can (reduce .5 can/day overall)
 
Last edited:
No.... she much prefers the "24 hr All You Can Eat Buffet"!!:arghh:

Thanks Wendy!

So does Luci - food must be available at all times for this one ... she'll come out and sit an stare at me if her bowl is empty! And then when I put down a quarter can, she eats a few nibbles..then walks away...but I see her sneaking back in there...and by the next time she wanders in, it may or may not be empty...she's officially a grazer...

I agree with above posters - time for an increase to see if we can get some action out of Freckles that isn't yellow. Loves her lemons, huh?
 
food must be available at all times for this one
Thanks Sue. Just since Freckles' has had FD her appetite has been ravenous. I'm using the Petsafe autofeeder because if she had food left out all day, she would weigh over 100 lbs I'm sure!! Today was the first day that I noticed that she is actually sleeping better and not harassing everyone in the house to give her more food. Maybe it's a good sign??? I hope so... I'm not fond of 'lemons' at all!
 
Last edited:
Thanks Sue. Just since Freckles' has had FD her appetite has been ravenous. I'm using the Petsafe autofeeder because if she had food left out all day, she would way over 100 lbs I'm sure!! Today was the first day that I noticed that she is actually sleeping better and not harassing everyone in the house to give her more food. Maybe it's a good sign??? I hope so... I'm not fond of 'lemons' at all!

Poor little thing! I know that diabetes can make them ravenous - simply because the nutrients from the foods are not being absorbed by their bloodstream...so everything eaten is just passing right on by - and they're continually hungry. One you start to see better numbers, that will improve...and so will the LB conditions. Less water, less waste..the whole thing improves by getting them better regulated.

I've noticed though that when Luci's numbers are dropping dramatically she's a real pig! Licks that bowl clean and it's not long before she's looking for more food...so there's something about that too...I think we're the same way when our blood glucose drops - we want to eat something. I think it's a normal response.

Let's hope she can get to better numbers soon...and the next increase is the 'magic' right number for her!
 
Back
Top