11/23 Zeke - Day 17: Continue to hold the dose????

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Hi LL,

Healing vines to all.

Despite Zeke hitting pinks, should I continue to hold the 1.75 dose he's been on going on for 17 days? As always, your advice is greatly appreciated


Here's a recap of the last few days.

11/23:
AMPS = 362
+4 = 348
+9.5 = 319
PMPS = 276

11/22:
AMPS = 358
+2 = 302
+5.5 = 156
PMPS = 157
+3 = 183
+5 = 197
+6 = 228
+9.5 = 346

11/21:
AMPS = 345
+2.25 = 276
+5.5 = 115
PMPS = 108
+1 = 137
+2 = 95
+3 = 102
+4 = 100 / 113
+9.5 = 331

11/20:
AMPS = 311
+2 = 293
PMPS = 244
+3.5 = 175
+9.5 = 301

11/19:
AMPS = 263
+1.5 = 296
+3.5 = 292
PMPS = 261
+3.5 = 211
+9.5 = 307

11/18:
AMPS = 157
+1.75 = 278
+5 = 280
PMPS = 160
+1.75 = 77
+3/+3.75 = 59 / 61
+4.25 / +4.5 = 59 / 70
+5 = 71
+8 = 143

Zeke's condo from 11/7
 
hi laura!

lantus dosing is primarily decided by the lows in each cycle. Zeke is having some great nadirs, although last night he didn't get green, he's been seeing a lot of it in the night cycles.

i think i would hold the dose.

i'm not sure if it makes it hard for anyone else, but i have a harder time looking at his ss and trying to see what's going on with all the cells colored in. i'm thinking those aren't tests, because there are no numbers in them. it's perfectly possible he was in other color ranges during those times. for me, at least, i'd rather see empty cells than ones with color that might not be accurate colors. i'd rather only see the cells colored that have the actual test numbers in them. know what i mean? maybe it's just me, though.
 
Hi Laura, it's been 10 cycles since Zeke saw those lovely greens and he doesn't seem to be revisiting them. I think you've got room to increase him, unless he surprises you overnight of course. :lol:
 
LOL - and of course wendy and i post at the same time with different ideas!

i can see why she might say that. but if you do increase, be the test queen.
 
I think the problem is that her test numbers are inverted Julie

The numbers at the top of the list are the newest. She hasn't had a green since the PM cycle on 11/18 and that one green during the PM cycle on 11/24

I would probably try the increased dose too, especially if you're able to test tomorrow

Good luck Zeke!
 
Laura, sorry for the conflicting suggestions. I agree with Julie that Zeke has been seeing some great nadirs and you could wait to see if Zeke will settle down. But since you test frequently and it has been a while since those nice greens, I thought an increase might help kick start things and maybe reduce those pinks a bit. However, make sure Zeke has finished his bouncing and you are able to monitor when and if you do decide to increase.

I also agree with Julie that I find it hard to read the SS with the cells all filled in. I like to see the white space. It's OK to fill in if there's just an hour apart and you know for sure what the colour the BG was. I am guilty myself of filling in green squares, but that's because if I see two green squares a few hours apart mid cycle, I'm pretty sure Neko didn't go anywhere else in between.
 
i don't ever look at the recaps (i admit!) but i always look at the spreadsheet. had to look again to see if it was inverted, but it's not.

i was looking at a couple of recent days. for example, on

11/22
amps 358, +2 302, +5 156
The first drop is 56 points, or 28pts/hr. Then he dropped 144 points in 3 hrs, or 38 pts/hr. if he went 2 more hours like that and nadired at +7, he'd be at 80. we don't know when he nadired, but he's only 157 at pmps, and it would be reasonable to assume he was something lower between +5 and +12. having it colored in blue makes me think of blue numbers, but i doubt that he sat completely flat for those 7 hrs.

same thing the day before. on 11/21:
amps 345, +2.5 276, +5.25 115, pmps 108
the first drop is (i'll count 3 hrs) 69, or 23pts/hr, the second drop is (i'll count 3hrs) 161 or 53 pts/hr, and then 7 hrs later he's dropped 7 points. or has he really? i would just suppose it would be as likely that he might have gone down another 53 pts to +6 or 106pts to +7 and come up to 108.

on both of those days, which would include the 48 hrs prior to when you'd been asking, i think it's pretty reasonable to think he got under 100.

i think it's the colored cells that throws us off. it does me, anyway. i agree with wendy that coloring in one cell when it's between 2 numbers in the same color range and it's pretty obvious what the cat might have been isn't a big deal, but coloring in cells for 7 hr blocks - we just don't know what happened in 7hrs of a cat's cycle.
 
well, I will go against the flow and say that you have plenty of room to increase the dose, assuming you are trying to do TR. I don't see last night's numbers, so unless he was low last night then I would increase. The lowest number you have caught in the last 5 days is a 95. You have done enough testing to know that Zeke hasn't gone much lower than that (even if he has had other green). It was good to hold the dose after the 59 so you could see if he would get back to 50s after the bounce cleared, but it didn't so on to the next dose.

Counting "points per hour" doesn't really make sense for Lantus. There are too many other factors at play for that to work, not the least of which is the depot action of the insulin. You can and should look at when in the cycle the numbers start to drop to let you know how alert you need to be, but Lantus really does not work in a linear fashion so doing math doesn't work.

I do agree that the extra colors are misleading. I would only color where you have an actual number. Over the years, my eye has been trained to "read" the patterns based on the colors on the spreadsheet. I can mentally fill in what isn't there, but if there is something there it is hard to ignore the colors and let my mind insert what I think is really there. That probably doesn't make sense to anyone but me... :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top