11/23 Tibby AMPS 279 Really flat curve today

Amy&Tibby

Member Since 2020
Tibby's data has been a bit odd. Today's curve is pretty flat, and the last one I did curved in the wrong direction. He seems to be going low occasionally at night, but I can't manage to stay up to get much data. Should I still raise his dose? Night time worries me.
 
He's starting to wince from getting poked in the head. I think I have enough data to raise his dose, poor thing.
 
I'm glad you've got 4.25 in the PMPS column or tonight. His nadirs aren't between 90 and 149 so he needs that increase.

How many hours after PMPS do you go to bed? If it's at least 2 hours, then getting a before bed test every single night will go a long way towards figuring out what is happening at night. Night time would worry me less if I knew when he was going low and could either set another alarm or leave out lots of food to keep him safe. Right now there's not much data on the PM spreadsheet and that would scare me more. I rather suspect that curve going the wrong way was due to him going lower at night than he's used to, and then him bouncing.
 
I agree with Wendy...I'm glad you went up to 4.25

You shouldn't hold the dose more than 7 days if it's not getting his nadir down into the target range. If you hold a dose too long, it just gives the body a chance to get used to being in higher numbers even though you're giving insulin (glucose toxicity)

On SLGS, you should do a curve at least every 7 days. He was on 4U for 16 days.

All that being said, it's important that you DO get at least a +2 tonight. Many times, a flat yellow cycle can come right before a major drop
 
OK, I got a +5 tonight. I held for 16 days mainly because last time I tried to do a curve, it curved up instead of down, so someone advised me to hold the dose a little longer since he was bouncing. They probably didn't mean for as long as I did, but the work schedule doesn't allow a lot of flexibility. I'm remote now, though, for a little while, so I can get a lot more data.
 
someone advised me to hold the dose a little longer since he was bouncing.

Even if he was bouncing, the curve you did on 3.75 only had him getting down to 175. If he starts to get nadirs that are green or low blue, it might be helpful to hold the dose a few more cycles (not days) but as long as he's only getting to high blues, it really doesn't matter if he's bouncing....he needs more insulin.
 
Back
Top