11-23 Small Kitty - amps 409 pmps 178 +2.5 385 - Still progressing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning their collaborators,

First I would like all members who helped in understanding shooting principles, it
DID make a difference. It could not be just any hazard that there was green at
preshot for Small Kitty who's a pro red.

And red indeed he still is but with some good reason this morning. The NS
from yesterday has of course cut off the flow of fuel to the engine. Could
have been worst this morning but the engine is just red, not frozen. So will
finally apply the good old rules that have worked in the past with a reduction
of .25.

In the end, is green achievable by all cats ? That it's only a question of dosage ?

Thank you Mary Ann for waking up early this morning (if you're there).

*BTW, shot time is push forward 30min today, I'm starting to go to my
second job during the week now that snow has started and I'll
be at home at 6h30 (30min after usual shot time).

Wish you all a very good day, hope you target the right dose, safe
and greenish.

Sébastien

Yesterday
.
 
Last edited:
Good morning Sebastian

With the no shot last night the depot will be drained a little so with the reduction to 2.25 SK should be fine.


All kitties can get green numbers. The hard part is waiting through the bounces and hoping their bodies learn to accept the good numbers without bouncing up. As has been said before, just look at Bubba. He bounced all over until finally reaching remission. Then dental issues and what not knocked him out again, but he is getting back to good numbers. Time....it just takes time....you DO have better numbers than when you started so you and SK are on the right path. :bighug::bighug:


ETA I am always up at this time...just some days my brain is not awake yet :rolleyes:
 
That would probably a good idea for a cat or a vet that
has nothing to loose could manage something (without any other health issue,
like dental ) :

Keep a dose higher then it should be
Test every hour or so and feed or inject something that would
raise GL back to green and keep it there.

Before starting that, you test different treats and note the effect
on GL with quantity required to get back in green.

The cat would be happy getting treats and GL would be forced to
a specific level. There is plenty of treats with high carb level.

Will see where Small Kitty is at this evening and I might
try something :

If he's in the red, I'll shoot at 2.25 in the shoulder disk and give him
an outside ride 3 h after shot time. They are asking to go out
like mad.

1 : Lantus will have been on standby for 3h with crystal spreading
out in the shot area.
2 : Muscle movements will spread it out in the blood stream improving
the effect.

Imagine if this could save 3 days of bonce !

Usually I let them to out anyways when Small Kitty is high..

.
 
Last edited:
Sebastian..you will drive yourself crazy with thinking up novel approaches...even with a rapid insulin and then giving IV glucose to prevent hypos (which is basically what they do for DKA at the vet's office or ER) that does not mean the kitty will be regulated forever. The reason FD treatment takes time is the kitty's body has to "re-learn" being in good numbers and that can't be forced..that is where time comes in.

Letting SK out to prowl is fine, but the exercise won't prevent bounces. If SK is for instance in the reds at shot time, then drops to greens through the night, the body's natural counter-regulatory measures will still pump out glucogen into the system which will cause a bounce. The best way to prevent bounces is lots of monitoring and catching drops before they get too steep and steering with food. For instance if you had a big drop at +2, you could give some LC or even a bit of MC to slow the drop, then keep testing every hour and give bits of food if the drops are still too steep. You would continue this until nadir time, then let the cycle continue normally. This would prevent the really steep drops that would signal the body of an "emergency" where glucogen is released. Unfortunately this requires more monitoring than you are able to do at this time.
 
Sebastian..you will drive yourself crazy with thinking up novel approaches...even with a rapid insulin and then giving IV glucose to prevent hypos (which is basically what they do for DKA at the vet's office or ER) that does not mean the kitty will be regulated forever. The reason FD treatment takes time is the kitty's body has to "re-learn" being in good numbers and that can't be forced..that is where time comes in.

Letting SK out to prowl is fine, but the exercise won't prevent bounces. If SK is for instance in the reds at shot time, then drops to greens through the night, the body's natural counter-regulatory measures will still pump out glucogen into the system which will cause a bounce. The best way to prevent bounces is lots of monitoring and catching drops before they get too steep and steering with food. For instance if you had a big drop at +2, you could give some LC or even a bit of MC to slow the drop, then keep testing every hour and give bits of food if the drops are still too steep. You would continue this until nadir time, then let the cycle continue normally. This would prevent the really steep drops that would signal the body of an "emergency" where glucogen is released. Unfortunately this requires more monitoring than you are able to do at this time.

That is very convincing that trying to turn up things by force is not productive. I can't
stop thinking. One of my best friend who knows me very well told me one day :

''We would ask you to to make a paper plane and you'll come up with a 4 engines cargo plane'':)

I'll try, but before I need to read about glucogen, need to know what this is about :rolleyes:

Thank you Mary-Ann, your turn to take a break, you've guided me to the right path, you
and all other members actually.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Sebastian..you remind me so much of myself when I started the FD dance. I just KNEW there was more that I could do and spent so much time looking at every scientific paper I could locate on diabetes in general. After totally driving myself crazy, I just learned to relax, follow the protocol as much as possible, know my own kitty (s) and have enough knowledge and understanding that I felt comfortable with the treatment plan.

If there was a "secret" to treating diabetes, whether in people or animals, I am sure it would have become public knowledge after so many years. You have done a great job with SK...treating his DKA and learning all the information you have about treating FD. And SK's numbers are much better than at the start. He is a happy energetic kitty who is enjoying life....that is HUGE!!! You on the other hand need to relax more so that you don't end up getting sick again!! ;) :bighug::bighug:
 
Small Kitty has had a great welcome gift for my return from my 2 jobs. A very nice upper blue that
I was not expecting. Yellow would already have been great, blue is more then great, it's
excellent.

Don't know if we're running on credit card (lantus depot) or if Small Small Kitty has
produced the missing insulin himself, but I think Mary-Ann is right, we're progressing.

Kind of tired even if the 2nd job is no stress but bed time won't be very far ahead, just
in time for a test to know if we're rising or going down and that will be it. :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Wish you all have that kind of progress, if not, watch your *shot spot :)

*(see ''Yesterday'')

Good evening all

Sébastien
 
Good evening Sebastien~ I missed the skipped shot last night! Way cool and a beautiful PMPS tonight! Keep up the good work SK!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top