11/23 Silver AMPS 8; +3=7.4; +5=6.5; +7=6.8; +9=7

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Ok so I was a little nervous shooting a blue and going out all day but he was having so much fun playing in the grass last night he wanted to do it again.

So, given his track record of his PMPS being a lot lower than his AMPS, but also given that it's the weekend so I can stay up all night checking him if need be - what's my lowest NO SHOOT number for tonight??

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 FIRST BLUE AMPS

Let's wait and see where he's at tonight before making a final decision, but generally, if he's above 150, we'll tell you to shoot

As long as you can be home to monitor and have all the supplies you need, you'll learn to shoot anything above 50 (but that's later on when you have more data on how Silver does)
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 FIRST BLUE AMPS

Thanks Chris....so how to change the name of my link? Thought I'd be clever and try it myself but messed it up!
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

I see Chris beat me to it, but ditto what she said. Let's see how he does today before we make the final call on tonight's No Shoot number.

Which link are you trying to change?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
I see Chris beat me to it, but ditto what she said. Let's see how he does today before we make the final call on tonight's No Shoot number.

Which link are you trying to change?

Mel and The Fur Gang

:-) thanks for clarifying - I was wondering if the Chris I've been talking to on FB was male or female! Sorry Chris! :-D

fixed the link, I was messing around with adding a link to my previous condo on the new thread like I see she has been doing.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Actually I think I miss typed I think Chris and China Chris is female...not real sure, but if I'm wrong I'm sure I will be corrected, just we don't have a lot of Sugar Dads on the broad, a few but not nearly as many as we do Sugar Moms. lol

And only TR requires you to link back to your previous condos, you can here if you wish, but we are a lot more free form over here, just because we don't have the amount of daily condos as they do over there. In fact a lot of us that have been here awhile start a new condo about once a week, we just edit the title daily. I know myself, after 2 years of dancing with Autumn there are days I just run out of new things to say about here to even bother starting a new condo.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
I just run out of new things to say about here to even bother starting a new condo.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Awwww, how can you ever run out of things to say about your baby :-) cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Well it happens from time to time plus I do have 17 babies here, 16 cat and one drooler that thinks he's a cat, and also believes that every cat he sees outside should be in our house.

So there are times that Autumn just hasn't been all the impressive from day to day, well until recently when she decided to change ALL the rules on how she was going to work her juice. (juice being insulin). And for about the last month I've felt like a complete newbie again with her. I could see what she was doing in the form of the pattern but I couldn't for the life of me figure out why, or how to make it stop. Then finally it dawned on me that just maybe her cycle (the period between one shot to the next) was longer than the standard 12/12 and because of that her nadirs were overlapping causing her to drop into the 20s and then spring-board right back into the 400s. So I got creative and now she is back doing what she is suppose to do. Autumn just a bit of a special case.

Miss Autumn has a pretty sad story behind her, I adopted her after she was already diabetic, from DCIN (Diabetic Cats In Need). I watched her on their website for several months and no one was stepping up to take her in. I've never really been much of a fan of torties until I met her. But Autumn was just breaking my heart as her previous owner wasn't doing anything at all to treat her, nor would she put her to sleep so poor Autumn was just slowly starving to death, while eating like a horse. When she finally got transported out to me, she was very near death. We've come a very long ways in just 2 years, she looks and acts nothing like the cat I first met.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
Well it happens from time to time plus I do have 17 babies here, 16 cat and one drooler that thinks he's a cat, and also believes that every cat he sees outside should be in our house.

So there are times that Autumn just hasn't been all the impressive from day to day, well until recently when she decided to change ALL the rules on how she was going to work her juice. (juice being insulin). And for about the last month I've felt like a complete newbie again with her. I could see what she was doing in the form of the pattern but I couldn't for the life of me figure out why, or how to make it stop. Then finally it dawned on me that just maybe her cycle (the period between one shot to the next) was longer than the standard 12/12 and because of that her nadirs were overlapping causing her to drop into the 20s and then spring-board right back into the 400s. So I got creative and now she is back doing what she is suppose to do. Autumn just a bit of a special case.

Miss Autumn has a pretty sad story behind her, I adopted her after she was already diabetic, from DCIN (Diabetic Cats In Need). I watched her on their website for several months and no one was stepping up to take her in. I've never really been much of a fan of torties until I met her. But Autumn was just breaking my heart as her previous owner wasn't doing anything at all to treat her, nor would she put her to sleep so poor Autumn was just slowly starving to death, while eating like a horse. When she finally got transported out to me, she was very near death. We've come a very long ways in just 2 years, she looks and acts nothing like the cat I first met.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Autumn is lucky to have found her forever home. I will never understand cruelty to animals and not treating a sick animal classes as cruelty in my book. The 16-16 must be pretty hard cycle in order to allow sleep! Tomorrow I plan to wake up, feed shoot and test at 6:30 am as usual then head back to bed til the 8:30 test. I am beat! I am actually beginning to enjoy this dance now that I am a little less terrified but I think a lot of that had to do with the vet's protocol and my stressing out over who to listen to. Its amazing how much relief I feel now I am not having that struggle. I gave the vet the time as promised - in fact, I have been doing it her way for 6 weeks and Silver was bouncing about all over the place. Three days doing it following the protocols here - and already Silver is settling down, no huge bounce this morning and I've not seen him so active and playing in weeks. Soooo, no more stressing over who to listen to!

Juliet and Silver.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

This dance is FUN once it no longer terrifies you, that is why I have adopted 4 more after my first girl died. I love watching what the insulin does in their bodies, and I love watching a cat that most would have put to sleep because they are so sick, rebound and not only recover but actually get better than they've been in years. Running, jumping, playing like a kitten again. And the bond that happens between the sugarcat and the caregiver is AMAZING.

For a lot of years I raised and trained Arabian horses, and I get the same thrill out of dancing with sugarcats as I use to when I was working with a young or wild horse and finally saw the light come on in that horse's eyes when they finally Got what I was trying to teach them. You can just see something click, when they realize that its okay, to let this puny little human touch you, or sit on your back. I still miss walking into my barn and being greeted by nickers and big soft velvet muzzles stretching out to say hello, but one day I'll have that back again. Right now I need to still be in the city, and close to my father-in-law to help him out. He is 90 also diabetic, and with heart problems so we wanted to be close enough to help if he needs us.

Really the 16/16 is easier to get sleep on if Cassanova hadn't gone back on the juice and needing to be on a 12/12. Since I'm always up by 6 am don't shoot until 7am, then not again until 11 pm which puts Autumn mid-point on those days at 7 am the next day, and then that day I don't shoot again until 3 pm so I have all evening to watch over her, and she is past her mid-point by 11 pm that night when I normally turn in for the night anyhow, and everyone gets their before bed snack at 10 pm so even if she is low she is either eating or just about to. So very easy to test and shoot and sleep at night.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
This dance is FUN once it no longer terrifies you, that is why I have adopted 4 more after my first girl died. I love watching what the insulin does in their bodies, and I love watching a cat that most would have put to sleep because they are so sick, rebound and not only recover but actually get better than they've been in years. Running, jumping, playing like a kitten again. And the bond that happens between the sugarcat and the caregiver is AMAZING.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yeah, I've noticed that with Silver - his personality has changed a lot since his diagnosis. Much more demanding for attention and sleeping my bed. Never used to be like that. I have to be careful to make sure Sasha gets her due time and attention though. I am worried about her as she has gained a lot of weight. I think she has gained because Silver is no longer chasing her round the house. I cut out her dry food almost entirely when I changed Silver's food. She is only getting a miniscule amount of dry coz I want to use up that bag of Purina DM I bought from the vet. She gets 1/2 a can of FF and a teaspoon (literally that's all) of dry food in with the wet twice a day - yet she is not losing a single pound. I don't want her to become diabetic as I know excess weight can do that. Any ideas?? I am trying to get her to play but neither Silver nor Sasha were the types of kitties to play much. She sleeps all day the wee fatso. She's 16lb on last weigh in but she used to be a dainty little girl of 12lb.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Oh can I take weight off a kitty...Cassanova was 37lbs when I adopted him. Yes he was a walking watermelon. First off you can return the bag of DM to your vet for a refund, just say neither cat will eat it. The company will take it back and refund your money even if it's been opened. Cass got to 37 lbs eating it.

Next get a laser pointer if you don't have one or one of those long feather wands. Make her chase it, annoy her with it until she does. lol I even took an the thin end of an old fishing rod, tied a catnip bird toy to it with fishing line and went 'cat fishing" with it when Cass was a blimp and didn't want to move at all. I bothered him so much in those early days I figured he would hate me, if I saw him sleeping I would wake him up to play with me. I would get down on the floor with him and tangle things in his face, I would run him over with the other cats chasing the Red dot, I was annoying. I'd pick him up and sticking on the highest perch of the cat tree just so he'd have to jump down to eat etc.

A year later he is a lean, muscular guy with loads of energy. He now chases me when we play hide and go seek. Or he will chase our 1 year old kitten around the house. He's just an amazing cat now and still loves me to bits, just he isn't allowed in the bedroom at night because he likes to "sing" at about 3 am to all the outdoor cats. :roll: And for not being siamese he has a very LOUD voice. In fact even my 4 Siamese will look at him like "Dude, can you tone it down some?" lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Lol that made me laugh. Silver likes to sing at 4am too. And if I kept him out the bedroom he would sing louder on the ther side of the door and wake my landlord upstairs!!

Ok I'll try the pointer thingy. Re the dry food hmm. I don't want to see my vet right now lol! How much FF should I feed if I remove the miniscule amount of dry?
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

How much should she weigh? On average a 10 lb cat should be getting about 2 cans per day of FF, if her ideal weight is a little more, then you feed a little more, if her ideal weight is under 10 lbs then feed a little less. Cass is ideally a 16 lb cat he's just a big boned large fellow I feed him about 10 oz per day, give or take a little he steals off the other cat's plates when they are done. But to feed all 16 I go through 20 cans per day broken up into 4 meals. (5.5 oz Friskies cans) so roughly 40 cans of FF if I was willing to open that many 3 oz cans everyday...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
How much should she weigh? On average a 10 lb cat should be getting about 2 cans per day of FF, if her ideal weight is a little more, then you feed a little more, if her ideal weight is under 10 lbs then feed a little less. Cass is ideally a 16 lb cat he's just a big boned large fellow I feed him about 10 oz per day, give or take a little he steals off the other cat's plates when they are done. But to feed all 16 I go through 20 cans per day broken up into 4 meals. (5.5 oz Friskies cans) so roughly 40 cans of FF if I was willing to open that many 3 oz cans everyday...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang

20 cans! Oh boy you are making me tired. I love cats but my limit is two ;-) Is it more cost effective to feed Friskies than FF? is one can of Friskies equal to 2 cans of FF? What brands of Friskies is okay for diabetics? I know we are digressing in the condo but its useful info.

Actually I don't know. I have never taken her to a vet. They are indoor cats so I have not taken them for annual shots except their initial shots and spaying. But she is the same litter as Silver and he's looking neat and trim at 12lb so I would say much the same - 12lb. I was feeding her less as she was getting a tinsy bit of dry and also coz I am aiming for weight loss.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

nckitties3 said:
Congrats to Silver, swimming in the pond! :RAHCAT

Thanks Deb...he's making me a little nervous as I think he would rather be playing in the grass ;-)
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

I'm with Mel...find a toy that your cats can't resist

China's all time favorite is Da Bird

I got her one when she started getting a little too uhhhh...."fluffy"....LOL

These aren't my cats in the video, but that's what it looks like around here when I get out Da Bird! All my cats really love it
[youtube]97CaN1J3TPo[/youtube]

P.S....both China and I are female..just a couple of old broads .....lol
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Chris & China said:
P.S....both China and I are female..just a couple of old broads .....lol

:lol: :lol:

I will check out da bird but so far all I have got them is not interesting them. They are 8 and have not been used to playing coz their mommy lives in a small apartment she doesn't want trashed. Hmmmm.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

Da Bird, the wand with feathers on the end, and laser pointers tend to be all round favorites for cats. Maddy is also fond of ball or other things, like the plastic ring of the milk container or plastic bottle caps, that she can knock around and chase. Hopefully, you'll continue to see progress with Silver's neuropathy and he'll start chasing her around again.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6) FIRST BLUE AMPS

april_sd said:
Da Bird, the wand with feathers on the end, and laser pointers tend to be all round favorites for cats. Maddy is also fond of ball or other things, like the plastic ring of the milk container or plastic bottle caps, that she can knock around and chase. Hopefully, you'll continue to see progress with Silver's neuropathy and he'll start chasing her around again.

hmmmm....yes, I want him well. 100% definitely. But I'm liking the fact that I can leave things on surfaces that the cats can NOT access...ie my knitting has been intact for a few weeks ;-)
 
Re: 11/21 Silver- LATE TRYING NOT TO PANIC

You have a few options.

1) You could skip and start again in the morning.
2) You can shoot when you get home and work on getting back to your usual shooting time over the course of the weekend. For example, if you ended up doing the whole thing at 8:00, tomorrow you would shoot at 7:30, Sunday at 7:00 and Monday you're back to 6:30. (Or in 15 minute increments - Saturday at 7:45am and 7:30pm, Sunday at 7:15 am and 7:00am, Monday at 6:45am and 6:30pm).
3) I saw on the FB page that you could temporarily do two 18 hour cycles. So you would shoot at 12:30am and then at 6:30pm tomorrow.

There may be some other ideas too.

We all try to stick to the 12 hour cycle, but life intervenes. This happens to everyone. You just do your best.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Thanks Maddy, I took down my frantically panicked post about being late coz I jumped off the train and took a cab. He's being doing so well I didnt want to mess up his system!
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Okay Silver is surprising me completely. I got home and his PMPS is 7.8 (140.4). I didn't want to shoot the full 1 unit so I just gave 0.5. Whats the general consensus - did I do the right thing? Mel?

I hope I haven't messed up this nice system of consistency we had going but I was a bit nervous to shoot such a low number without checking first to see who was online and I was already a bit late with his shot.

Juliet and Silver.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

You did fine. Usually depending on how late you would either reduce the dose and shoot just like you did. I'm still fighting traffic myself. God I hate the holiday shopping season takes 4 times longer to do anything!! Still on phone atm so will post more once home and I get my crew fed.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

MommaOfMuse said:
You did fine. Usually depending on how late you would either reduce the dose and shoot just like you did. I'm still fighting traffic myself. God I hate the holiday shopping season takes 4 times longer to do anything!! Still on phone atm so will post more once home and I get my crew fed.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Me too thats why I do all my shopping online.

I am still amazed at his numbers and so relieved that we are not at 2 units. I cant wait for my vet to see this! Oh and I gave 0.5 not 0.25 as I posted. Typo.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

It's always best to be safe if you aren't sure what to do Juliet!

I know you were running late due to the train being late, so were under pressure to get it done as soon as possible, so we'll just see how it goes and if the smaller shot does cause him to go higher, he'll get back on track soon

Usually, if you're unsure (and not already running late) you can Stall, don't feed and recheck in about 20 minutes to see if his BG is going up on it's own without the influence of food

Also, as long as he's above 150 (8.3) and you have the supplies you need and are able to test, we're usually going to tell you to shoot the "scheduled" dose so you stay as consistent as possible

All that being said..You did fine!! He's looking great!!
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Thanks Chris. Yes Mel had said the magic number was 150 but he was actually below that so I hesitated to give the full dose. I am about to test him again in a couple mins for his +1 - not sure yet if he spikes with food so this should tell. Will update post shortly.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Eventually, you'll shoot even lower (believe it or not!)

Now I'm on TR instead of Relaxed, but once we have enough data to understand how our cats respond to both food and insulin, most of us will shoot anything above 50..I think the Relaxed protocol doesn't shoot below 80 or 90 (Mel will be able to tell you for sure though)

I know it looks wrong to see when they drop from 400 to 250 and we're telling you to shoot a 150....it LOOKS like it would drop him to zero, but it doesn't work that way. Shooting low numbers usually keeps them in nice flat green or blue numbers without a lot of dips and spikes
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Chris & China said:
Eventually, you'll shoot even lower (believe it or not!)

Now I'm on TR instead of Relaxed, but once we have enough data to understand how our cats respond to both food and insulin, most of us will shoot anything above 50..I think the Relaxed protocol doesn't shoot below 80 or 90 (Mel will be able to tell you for sure though)

I'm ok with that as long as I am home. I won't be able to shoot low and go out for 12 hours during the week. Too much of a risk I think. Cross that bridge when we have to. I think the TR protocol is only for those who can intensively monitor their cat and I can't at all during the week :-(
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

Chris

We kinda hybrid the two protocols. When still consistently high or on limited data we give reductions at 90, but once down like Silver then yep once data supports we shoot anything above 50 & reduction is earned the same as TR. Just an FYI encase you ever need to know to help out over here :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2 (183.6); PMPS 7.8 (140.4)

MommaOfMuse said:
Chris

We kinda hybrid the two protocols. When still consistently high or on limited data we give reductions at 90, but once down like Silver then yep once data supports we shoot anything above 50 & reduction is earned the same as TR. Just an FYI encase you ever need to know to help out over here :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang

So I shouldnt have reduced his dose tonight then?

Is that when the nadir is at 90? I am hoping to find Silver's current nadir tomorrow. But I think its likely below 90 already.
Who is online early in the morning EST that could help if I got a green preshot? I think Mel, I am two hrs ahead of your time.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

If your EST then you're only an hour ahead of me. You shoot when, 7a.m.?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Okay back home and have the crew tested, fed and shot for the evening.

Yeah, my actual Holiday shopping I do online as well, today was just trying to get the weekly basics. Cat food, Litter, test strips, syringes and food for us. Just what normally takes me maybe 2 hours was taking forever and then on the way home there was a 3 car accident of course on the route to my house and on the only section of road where you can't turn off to avoid the backed up traffic.. grumpy_cat

Now back to what I was telling Chris. With Tight Regulation a cat doesn't earn a dose reduction until they have a reading below 50 for someone like Silver that has been on insulin less than a year or below 40 for someone like Autumn who has been a long-term diabetic. Over here, while the cat is still running in the high pinks, and yellows we give the reduction if anywhere in the cycle they hit 90 or below. But once the cat is staying in the low yellows, blues or greens the reduction come if they hit the same criteria as in Tight Regulation. As long as testing data supports the ability to shoot low to stay low. Or in other words either lots of random spot checks or nice flat curves. If we have a cat that likes to jump around like they are on a pogo stick, Autumn is a good example of that recently, then we don't shoot below 90 for new diabetics or below 80 for a long term.

It really is kind of hard to explain since over here because of the inability for most of us to monitor closely what is safe to shoot for one cat and caregiver, might not be for another. Just because we are kind of the nonconformists of the forum. We are a lot more flexible about when to shoot, what to shoot and on what preshot number to shoot based on the ability to stay with. Like with Pam and Larry since she can't wake up at night to test, we keep Larry a little higher at night just to keep him safe, but with Autumn because I can stay with her and test regardless of the time of day or night I will shoot her as long as she is above 50, or at least I would until she changed her pattern on me after 2 years. Now I'm back to not shooting below 180 with her until I get the new pattern figured out, then I will slowly drop that number again once she smooths out and I can figure out what is and isn't a safe number to shoot on.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

The quick answer to your question about reducing tonight is No, you shouldn't have reduced (as long as you can be home to test and have all the supplies you need) BUT since you were already running late and weren't sure what to do, it's always better to err on the side of safety and either shoot a reduced dose or skip

At least by shooting a reduced dose instead of skipping tonight, you're keeping some insulin in him, so that will help, but he may run a little higher tonight...and for up to a few days ahead

There's really no way to know until we see what happens. Every cat is different and will respond in different ways. Some cats can bounce right back after a skipped or reduced shot..some take a few cycles or days to get back where they started

Don't worry about it tonight...You kept Silver safe...that's the most important part!
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Chris & China said:
The quick answer to your question about reducing tonight is No, you shouldn't have reduced (as long as you can be home to test and have all the supplies you need) BUT since you were already running late and weren't sure what to do, it's always better to err on the side of safety and either shoot a reduced dose or skip

Okay now this is what I was meaning re conflicting advice. Mel told me last night that my no shoot number was 150 as she knows Silver's tendency to drop suddenly after a couple hrs.

MommaOfMuse said:
No shoot is 150 for now we will lower that has he gets more stable

Mel and The Fur Gang

I am really really trying to rely on this board but the advice must be consistent right?

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Yes...150 isn't necessarily a NO shot number....for newer people who don't have a lot of data on how their cat responds to food or insulin, it's where we say "Stop, Stall...ask for help"

When a new member first starts to shoot lower numbers, we like to have someone who can be 100% sure that they're going to be online to help in case the newer cat drops too low

With him being at 140, that's close enough (in my opinion) to have stalled, posted and see if someone could make sure to be around tonight in case you needed help
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Chris & China said:
Yes...150 isn't necessarily a NO shot number....for newer people who don't have a lot of data on how their cat responds to food or insulin, it's where we say "Stop, Stall...ask for help"

When a new member first starts to shoot lower numbers, we like to have someone who can be 100% sure that they're going to be online to help in case the newer cat drops too low

With him being at 140, that's close enough (in my opinion) to have stalled, posted and see if someone could make sure to be around tonight in case you needed help

I just edited my post as you were typing. Mel was clear that 150 was my no shoot number.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Okay that is going to be 5:30 my time so yeah a little early for me to be mobile on a weekend...lol But someone should be alive and kicking on either Health or TR about that time in the morning and you can always post there or even cross post, which is probably the best option that way all the advice stays on one condo, so when I jump on in the morning I can catch up quickly without having to go search 200 condos over on TR. And that way you aren't getting conflicting advice either since the two protocols while they share a lot in common do have a few quirks that are different.

To cross post, you open your condo here, then go and highlight the address bar at the top of the browser window, like right now where it says http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB?posting.php etc that is what you want to copy (ctrl C) then you go open a condo over in TR with a title like need advice in RL low preshot or something close to that in the title.

Then you do it just like you linked back to your previous condo here, except you use the address from here over there.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Actually Chris this is where the two protocols differ especially right now with Silver. Because his dose has been bounced around so much, and I wasn't sure when I could be here to help watch him, I would have said to reduce as well, now if I was sure I was going to be here to watch over them then yes. stall without feeding retest and post the results. Its just that this forum doesn't have the same experienced man power as TR to always be able to have someone watching out for our newbies with low numbers, I'm pretty much it over here most days and nights.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Thanks - both of you. You have both been extremely helpful in your advice. I just need to know you are on the same page. Its a nerve wracking ride and I am relying on this board as I have put my vet's advice aside.

Mel - you mean you are not up 24/7? lol! Actually my plan is to feed test shoot and go back to bed if Silver will let me.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Actually the order is Test, Feed, Shoot. You need a fasting number for your preshot .

And unfortunately you probably always will get slightly conflicting info between Relaxed and TR as they are two different protocols. If we completely agreed there wouldn't be two forums. Both protocols share similarities but also differences

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

MommaOfMuse said:
Actually the order is Test, Feed, Shoot.

Mel and The Fur Gang

That's what I meant - am tired....I shoot as his nose is stuck into his food.

I'm never sure who is following TR or the Relaxed method really. I am learning some, but most I don't know.

Not seen Aine lately - she ok?
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Because his dose has been bounced around so much, and I wasn't sure when I could be here to help watch him,

I understand that Mel...that's why I had said it's not necessarily a No shoot number...it's more of a "See if there's someone around to help" number...at least until you've got enough data to really understand how Silver is going to do...right now, you don't, so if he's below 150 and you HAVE to shoot now,(you can't stall or nobody is around that can stay with you until it's totally safe) I'd stick with what I said earlier....either skip or shoot a reduced dose

The first rule is to always be safe.

I agree with Mel too...if you're looking for help and nobody is online here in Relaxed, post over in Health and/or TR with your link here (so everything stays in one thread)

Mel is the pro at Relaxed protocol Juliet...You can't get better than her! Too bad we can't clone her so we'd have one Mel here all the time....LOL
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

She's in the process of moving houses so may not have internet service or the computer maybe packed

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Chris & China said:
I agree with Mel too...if you're looking for help and nobody is online here in Relaxed, post over in Health and/or TR with your link here (so everything stays in one thread)

Mel is the pro at Relaxed protocol Juliet...You can't get better than her! Too bad we can't clone her so we'd have one Mel here all the time....LOL

Thanks Chris. And yes, I think a lot of people on Relaxed wish they could clone Mel!
Mel - I hope you switch off sometimes and get to spend time with your DH and your furry gang!

Am about to go do his +3 - I am hoping to do a +5 but my eyes are drooping. Maybe I will decide when I see the number.

zzzzzz

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

MommaOfMuse said:
She's in the process of moving houses so may not have internet service or the computer maybe packed

Mel and The Fur Gang

Ok - thought she had been quiet on the board lately. I need my iPhone when I am not at my computer - this girl is a Facebook addict!
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Thanks Chris there are days I'd love to clone myself just to get more done . Lol

Yeah I have a rep for breaking my toys. ( broken diabetic is one in remission)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

Lol I broke up with Facebook years ago. Might check it once a day or every couple days just to check up on my kids and grandkids.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top