11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84, PMPS 99, +1 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

Remi is doing okay but I have been stressing about getting the 0.25 dose on his syringes. I was planning to change tonight but I am worried about getting it right.

As Wendy suggested I tried using the tiny arms on my callipers but I don't think they are well made enough. I worked it out that one unit was 1.72 and so dialled down the calipers to 0.43 but I could not really get the reading off the little arms they didn't cross enough to do anything with them. One of them doesn't really stick up enough I guess due to the manufacturing process.

So I am thinking about going with what I have been doing all along. I measure with a metal ruler from the lip of plastic that is just under the needle and so far have been reducing by 0.5 mm per quarter of a unit. I realise that this is probably quite far out but it made it easier to stick to but now I h

So far using the ruler to measure from the lip to the point I want it has been:
3mm is 1.25 unit
2.5mm is 1 unit
2.0 mm is 0.75 unit
1.5 mm is 0.50 unit
1.0mm is 0.25 unit

So using these measurements 2 mm is 1 unit (this is slightly off but it is what I have been working with). My main concern is do I continue to measure from the lip up to 1 mm or do I try to measure from the first line instead. I am a little concerned about how much the plunger effects this tiny dose.

Any help gratefully received
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

The key to this is to be consistent. If your original method has worked in the past (and it has) I would go with it. It doesn't matter what the dose actually is called as long as you give the same amount every time so you can go back up (hopefully not) or down and know that you actually have a decrease when you need it. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

Yes it does make sense. I'm just a bit stressed that such a low dose will be affected by my lack of precision and the difference in the syringes. If only we could use the same syringe all the time and just change the needles on it.
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

I so agree. I face that with Max daily because of the bubbles that I just can't get rid of unless I shoot the insulin back into the pen and ruin it earlier than necessary. So I use calipers and eyeball the bubbles. If they seem way bigger I get rid of the insulin and start over. Between that, the lack of precision of the needles being manufactured so differently, and meter variance it's a wonder I haven't gone completely insane. I'm just half way there at this point. :roll:
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

:lol: :lol: I agree totally. I think that I must have wasted half of the last cartridge of insulin trying to get rid of air bubbles and get the dose right. This reduction is worrying me the most as it is so close to the zero line. In fact he way I measure it it looks like it is actually on the zero line with this syringe. I wish I could just rely on the actual markings and just go halfway between the half mark and the zero but I guess it just won't be accurate enough.
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

I think using your metal ruler is a fine plan. Whatever works to help you get a consistent dose!

Can you update the dose columns for 11/21 and 11/22 on the ss, please? If it were me, I'd be forgetting by a day and a half what I'd done! :lol:

Good luck on the 0.25u!
 
Re: 11/23 remi AMPS 88, +2 72,+4. 70,+6 84 -advice changing

Thanks Julie I had somehow overlooked doing that. All up to date now.

I gave the reduced dose via the metal ruler measurement. I hope it's okay, time will tell I guess as the depot drains over the next few days.

Over the weekend I also gave a snack at +8 in case that might help his PMPS level stay lower but I couldn't noticeably detect any difference. So for now may just go back to his normal eating pattern.

I am also going to order the Granata pet food this week and try slowly adding it slowly to his diet.
 
Good luck with the new dose. I know what you mean about the small arms of the calipers. Some calipers, the little arms are too "fat" to measure those smaller doses. The ruler measurement sounds like it'll work just fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top