11/23, Pookey, AMPS 313, +5 268, PMPS 296

If you can continue to get your tests in the am and pm cycle along with the pre shots, you don’t need to run a curve. You are testing enough that you can see how low this dose is taking him, so it’s not necessary in your case to run a curve. That’s really only for caregivers who follow SLGS who can’t get many tests in between preshots regularly to be able to see how the dose is working so a curve helps in those instances. Unless you see some serious shenanigans today, like greens, good luck with the increase tomorrow.
 
If you can continue to get your tests in the am and pm cycle along with the pre shots, you don’t need to run a curve. You are testing enough that you can see how low this dose is taking him, so it’s not necessary in your case to run a curve. That’s really only for caregivers who follow SLGS who can’t get many tests in between preshots regularly to be able to see how the dose is working so a curve helps in those instances. Unless you see some serious shenanigans today, like greens, good luck with the increase tomorrow.
OK thanks Christie! Will do :)
 
Hi Tim! Good luck with the increase if you do it tomorrow!
You can switch anytime. As long as you note clearly that you did, and then Bhooma will change your SS to show the appropriate colors.
 
Tim, I recommend at some point to get TWO of the Relion classic meters.. they're only like $9. I have three, one for my emergency Kona go bag, one I use regularly, and the other is just for back-up.

Also, if you're every paranoid with the readings like I am sometimes, Relion will mail you a free control solution every 10 weeks so you can ensure it is accurate.

You can order it from Relion FREE here: https://supplies.relionbgm.com/

I made an old post about it here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/time-to-test-your-relion-meters.284414/#post-3130992
 
Tim, I recommend at some point to get TWO of the Relion classic meters.. they're only like $9. I have three, one for my emergency Kona go bag, one I use regularly, and the other is just for back-up.

Also, if you're every paranoid with the readings like I am sometimes, Relion will mail you a free control solution every 10 weeks so you can ensure it is accurate.

You can order it from Relion FREE here: https://supplies.relionbgm.com/

I made an old post about it here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/time-to-test-your-relion-meters.284414/#post-3130992
Jason, that’s a great point. That’s originally why I bought the Relion as a backup, can’t hurt to have more. Then I’ll keep the AT3 for backup backup lol.

Nice tip too about a go bag, haven’t thought about that yet.
 
Jason, that’s a great point. That’s originally why I bought the Relion as a backup, can’t hurt to have more. Then I’ll keep the AT3 for backup backup lol.

Nice tip too about a go bag, haven’t thought about that yet.

Mine is actually a little tote, all the things for testing, different carb’d foods, honey for hypos, and all the meds for any emergency situation (gabapentin, cerenia, ondansetron, mirataz, metacam), pumpkin for consumption, and syringe feeders.

upload_2024-11-23_10-39-0.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-23_10-39-0.png
    upload_2024-11-23_10-39-0.png
    757.4 KB · Views: 168
Oh, so go to 1.5 tomorrow? Would you do a curve tomorrow?
It's been 7 days on 1.25U and you have enough spot tests to tell you how he is doing on this dose. So yes, you can go up to 1.U tomorrow.

If you are able to switch him completely to wet food, you could follow TR - which is a more "nimble" protocol than SLGS - in terms of dose changes and failed reductions. You test enough for TR!
 
It's been 7 days on 1.25U and you have enough spot tests to tell you how he is doing on this dose. So yes, you can go up to 1.U tomorrow.
If you are able to switch him completely to wet food, you could follow TR - which is a more "nimble" protocol than SLGS - in terms of dose changes and failed reductions. You test enough for TR!
Hi Bhooma! OK we will increase tomorrow. Thank you.

My current thoughts on TR versus SLGS:
  • Worried about testing capabilities in the future. I have been making myself very available these first few weeks, but I don’t want to lock into TR and then have days where I can’t test.
  • I still like the idea of free feeding dry, it just feels more comfortable and forgiving right now.
  • I would like to get him regulated faster, so maybe TR would accomplish that.
  • Concerned about moving too quickly with all this and having something happen. If he drops too low or acts different and me being new, maybe I don’t catch it.
  • I do like that there have been studies and research done on TR.
I’m definitely open to it though if the pros outweigh the cons.
 
Hi Bhooma! OK we will increase tomorrow. Thank you.

My current thoughts on TR versus SLGS:
  • Worried about testing capabilities in the future. I have been making myself very available these first few weeks, but I don’t want to lock into TR and then have days where I can’t test.
  • I still like the idea of free feeding dry, it just feels more comfortable and forgiving right now.
  • I would like to get him regulated faster, so maybe TR would accomplish that.
  • Concerned about moving too quickly with all this and having something happen. If he drops too low or acts different and me being new, maybe I don’t catch it.
  • I do like that there have been studies and research done on TR.
I’m definitely open to it though if the pros outweigh the cons.

When Kona was diagnosed, my vet told me to just feed the prescription Royal Canin food and give the prescribed U of insulin and come back every 3 months for a fructosamine test. After repeatedly asking if I should test, etc... was told, don't worry about, so I didn't.

I didn't test for 5 months and only made dose adjustments as the vet told me. If I knew what I know now, I would've done all that I could to go all out to get her tightly regulated... I don't now what the studies say, but I feel like the quicker you get a cat that is recently diagnosed TIGHTLY regulated, the more chances you have getting a cat into remission. For Kona, I'm at a point where I no longer even have that dream and I'm not getting my hopes up.

Would've should've could've... I miss sleeping in on the weekends and I miss not having to be home every single night at 6:00pm to give these shots.

With all that said, no pressure! :p
 
When Kona was diagnosed, my vet told me to just feed the prescription Royal Canin food and give the prescribed U of insulin and come back every 3 months for a fructosamine test. After repeatedly asking if I should test, etc... was told, don't worry about, so I didn't.

I didn't test for 5 months and only made dose adjustments as the vet told me. If I knew what I know now, I would've done all that I could to go all out to get her tightly regulated... I don't now what the studies say, but I feel like the quicker you get a cat that is recently diagnosed TIGHTLY regulated, the more chances you have getting a cat into remission. For Kona, I'm at a point where I no longer even have that dream and I'm not getting my hopes up.

Would've should've could've... I miss sleeping in on the weekends and I miss not having to be home every single night at 6:00pm to give these shots.

With all that said, no pressure! :p
Ugh… I wish the vets wouldn’t do that. They should send everyone here if they don’t have experience. I don’t want to have regrets, it’s always so hard to know. I will do more heavy research on TR. Thanks for sharing that.
 
Now my plan is to increase to 1.5 and switch meters for tomorrow morning
@Tim & Pookey
Good luck with the increase Tim
One suggestion where you have on your SS that you are switching to the Relion meter I would Type it in the the beginning of the blank line and highlight it any color you want to
Also up top where you still have the alpha Trak
After that type Relion as of (put the date)
Also do the same on your signature Relion as of put the date . If you can't fit it you can delete
only health issue is diabetes.
When switching to a human the last 2 color codes on the SS up top need to be charged,I think you can do it yourself, if not tag Bhooma (Bandit's Mom)

The dark green will be 50-99
The lime green would be BG<50

@Tim & Pookey
 
Last edited:
Hi Bhooma! OK we will increase tomorrow. Thank you.

My current thoughts on TR versus SLGS:
  • Worried about testing capabilities in the future. I have been making myself very available these first few weeks, but I don’t want to lock into TR and then have days where I can’t test.
  • I still like the idea of free feeding dry, it just feels more comfortable and forgiving right now.
  • I would like to get him regulated faster, so maybe TR would accomplish that.
  • Concerned about moving too quickly with all this and having something happen. If he drops too low or acts different and me being new, maybe I don’t catch it.
  • I do like that there have been studies and research done on TR.
I’m definitely open to it though if the pros outweigh the cons.
The prospect of TR is often scary. We have had so many members get scared of TR or greens only to end up getting addicted to them! :-)

TR will definitely get him to a good dose sooner. The good thing is that the decision to switch to TR is not irreversible. You could always try it and then decide you want to switch back to SLGS. But to follow TR, you would need to feed only LC wet...

IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!
 
Back
Top