11/23 Ophie PMPS 96, +1 99, +2.25 74, +3 73, +4 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Is there anyone awake yet who might be able to "talk" me through my impending shot. I didn't wake up in time for my +11, but got a +11.5 instead of 97. I'm assuming, as usual, Ophie is going to dip down at +12.

So, I am facing my dilemma once again... to shoot low or not?

I was hoping to start moving her shot time earlier, but that may not happen today.

Thanks for looking!!

Joely
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

I don't normally give dose advice and I can't get Ophie's SS to load. You can stall and not feed and see where Ophie is in 30 minutes to see if she's rising or falling.

Have you shot a green before? Will you be home to monitor? Do you have lots of testing supplies and HC food?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

Thanks, Carla, for replying :smile:

She's been green before. She typically DIPS before her shot. I've been here before, and am thinking I need to shoot. I have plenty of supplies and can be here to test. Am testing again in 5 minutes for her pre-shot.

Oye, I do not like this at all (the wondering "what will happen"). nailbite_smile

Hoping your furbaby is well today!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

You can always shoot a reduced dose if you don't feel comfortable shooting the normal dose. If you will be home to monitor and have the testing supplies and hc food, today might be a good day to see how she does if you shoot low. I know it is nerve wracking, but we all eventually have to see how they do when we shoot green. I was very nervous the first time I chose to shoot a green.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

I finally got Ophie's SS to open and she's been looking good lately. She may be heading for a reducie. I'm sure some more experience people will be on soon to give you some advice on that. If you choose to shoot today, you will have more data to be able to know what she'll do the next time you get greens before her Pre-Shot number. If you don't feel comfortable shooting her normal dose, don't feel you have to. The most important thing it to keep Ophie safe.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

I see on her SS that you shot. Good job. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 so you can see if she's going to go up or down today. I need to go get some breakfast. I'll check on Ophie in a little while.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

Thank you again Carla! I did it, I shot low (her full dose) nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

We will see what the day brings, now that I have shot low for the first time.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

Good morning Joely ~O)
I was puttering around and didnt' get to the board in time, but YAY to you!! I would have shot that number especially if I'm around because Ophie does like to do a little bow at the end. I see you have your supplies (strips, HC, syrup, vet number handy) and will be around so you should be in good shape. I won't leave you now until someone else comes on board. Definately test at +1 and +2. By then the juice and food will all be starting to do their thing. How you feeling about this? :smile: :smile:
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

Morning Kim!

I am feeling good about this (so far!). Ophie is purring and cuddling flat as a board on my legs with her paws draping down. I was too stressed last night about her dropping too low that I didn't enjoy her green numbers with her. She was be-bopping around like a kitten last night, racing (!!!!!!) around, playing with her toys, and cuddling like it was her job. She hasn't done that since I first switched her to LC food back in June.

So, fingers and paws crossed! I will be checking her +1, +2, etc.

Thank you!! What would I do without this board and its wonderful members :-D ?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

I'm glad Ophie is feeling so good lately. I'm glad you feel good about shooting low, even if you are a bit nervous. I still get nervous when I shoot a low number too. Just remember to breathe today when you are testing her. I hope she gives you a good surf and stays playful today.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

I had to laugh that you didn't celebrate her greens with her :lol: That is just TOO familiar! It's funny that the lagoon is where they should be, get a part of us is so scared to let them too close to the water :lol: I have relaxed a bit myself, but Twice still needs to wear his water wings when he's there!
I'm so impressed with you and how quickly you are taking to all of this Joely! A big Atta Girl headed your way ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85

I know, right? I should have been overjoyed with her and her greens :lol: ! I told myself I would be happy along with her today if we are lucky enough to reach the greens again, but it's not shaping up that way as I'm too worried again! She just chipped away at her first breakfast a little more... I just wish she would eat more in one sitting and not be so darn "dainty" about it all.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85

Looks to me like she has a nice surf going :mrgreen: Don't be worried...HA yeah right eh!? But try not to be too worried. She hasn't done a big scary drop here and she's happy. Let her continue to pick at her food, with Twice it makes a difference. Just don't overfeed her, as you don't want them to be full in case you need to get HC in. I just wouldn't free feed a ton of food, just enough to pick away at. +2 will tell us a little more and in the meantime, enjoy the kitten in her! Wheeee :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

ohmygod_smile at +2 she is 53.

Thoughts?

Thank you so much for your support.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Adding: She is not happy, won't purr for me. Tail is twitching. Of course, that could be because I woke her up from her heater and dragged her downstairs for a poke.

I think I need to give her some hc food?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

She has dropped by almost half, I wouldn't say worry but you should be watchful. The moodiness is probably because you disturbed her and now she is also sensing your stress. Breathe. No matter what, you are there and she is safe. I wouldn't give hc food, but maybe 1 teaspoon of the gravy. We don't want to fill her up. Check in 20 min from last test and post
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

I will be hitting my refresh constantly know so I promise you are not alone. :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Thank you, Kim. Just having you post back so quickly helps me breath! I just gave her a tiny bit of dry hc kibble (because I know 100% she'll eat it). It was .25 of an oz. I will test and post back at +5 actually, I want to give the food 20 minutes to work.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

I would do the original 20 min after the last test anyways to see what rate she is naturally dropping at, if still dropping. Also, just so you know the dry kibble takes a lot longer to work into their system so not a good choice for quickly getting the numbers up. Also because of the fillers, it's too heavy. Don't let that scare you right now, just wanted you to know this so next time no kibble. 53 is not a bad number so don't feel you have to be hair back right now. It's an indicator number and we want to follow it. That probably made no sense :?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Just had another thought. Anytime kitty drops under 50, it earns them a reduction. We like reductions because it means they are headed in the right direction. So as scary as the numbers are, we want to see if they naturally go under 50 so that we know if they get that reduction.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

OK, will test at my original 20 minutes (which is in just 2 minutes). OK, I'm calm... yes, calm, riiiight... calm! If it say it enough?

Thank you so much.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

She is 49... still dropping? That seems to be steady, no?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Well you earned that reduction. Give some hc gravy please about 1 tsp and test again in 20 minutes. I will not be going anywhere. And as an added HUGE bonus , I see some of the pros are waking up and coming on board. Great job Joely!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Make that 1-2 Tablespoons of HC gravy. She is only at +2 and a bit so may need a bit more
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Kim, you are amazing. OK, I will give her a tspn of gravy. Reduction seems right!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

You guys are doing great here...congrats on the reducie!!! Time to come up a bit now, Ophie, you've made your point...work that gravy!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Ophie asked if it was kitty christmas, or something. She was thrilled with her gravy :lol: , and has moved on to a few more bites of her LC food. I do think she wasn't feeling so hot there for a bit. She wouldn't purr. She always purrs (except when she's mad that I'm withholding food, of course).
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Great job Joely. Now let's tick her off again and take the lc away for a bit. I just don't want her full so we can keep giving her the kitty christmas gravy :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Kim, I just saw that you said 1-2 TBSPN of gravy. I just gave her more and picked up her LC food for now. Testing again in 4 minutes.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Purrfect
ohmygod_smile I should have pointed out my change of mind! I think we cross posted there
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Yes, things are moving fast right now! Thank you again, I cannot say it enough!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

Be back in a few, my human baby is needing his breakfast!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

OK. Let's give another 2 TBLS of gravy and a couple drops of syrup. You can give a little of the hc food as well 1Tbls. Another test in 20 min please. You ok?
Also, change your subject line on the original post to give only the current 43 and the 911 icon. Don't panic :-D Let's just get some eyes on here
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

She won't eat the HC food. She ate all the gravy. Should I put the syrup on her muzzlepuffs? How does that work? Am I in crisis here?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

We just need to get her number up over 50 and not let it drop anymore. The 911 and 43 need to go to the 1st post in the condo or it won't show up ont he board.

Give a couple drops of the syrup in the gravy. It's not generally enough for them to taste. If she's not eating the hc then her body isn't thinking its starving right now. We are going to need another test in 20 min from last one again and by then we should see some of the gravy effect.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

Yes, I put it in the wrong place first! It's all still so new.

She is at 56 now. That is better, right?

Thank you, Kim!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

Oh, I forgot to add the updates/details: She is a picky eater and didn't like the drops in there (too many drops)? But she ate more gravy. I'm officially out of gravy, but I can ring my neighbor across the way. OH, she just came back downstairs and is eating more food...
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

Woo Hoo we are heading the right way :-D You got her numbers up nice and quick Joely! Ok, we want to make sure they continue staying safe, so we are still doing the poke-a polka in 20 minutes You can give 1 2Teaspoons of gravy this time. Still don't wanna fill her up and the gravy and syrup from before will still be working, just not for long. We are going to be hanging out for a while longer yet because we want to know without a doubt that she's safe.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

OK, sounds good. THAnK YOU!!

I'm like a mad woman over here doing 100 things at once: breakfast for kid, poking kitty, feeding kitty, calling neighbor, posting updates. I need a nap.

OK, I will est in 10 minutes (that's another 20 minutes for us) and post back. Need to get more gravy first!
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

How is Ophie doing? Did you get another reading?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

She is due for her next poke is 10 minutes. My neighbor has gravy food and I just sent my son to grab it. She is downstairs with us, so that seems like a good thing.

I will report back in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

They call it a 'dance'. Today it's more like the Charleston than the Waltz ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

We at 53 now, She is loving the new HC food (I assume it's HC, I haven't had time to check... it FF chicken liver and gravy). She is not a happy girl though and was really ticked about the last poke. Do you think I can give her peace for a little bit?
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

:lol: I just saw that... Charleston! :lol: Yes, she is giving me a run for my money today.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

Yup thats a hc according to the food list. Her number went back down a bit, so not steadily rising. Give her an extra 10 minute break (so 30 minutes). I know, woo hoo, not really what you two wanted to hear :lol: I would like you to read the sticky again on handling low numbers. It tells us that we can't become complacent until we know FOR SURE that kitty is on the rise. The reason for this is that the hc is influencing her numbers. Essentially these are not her 'real' numbers, we just have her in a food induced safe zone. Does that make sense? Once the hc wears off, if her numbers are not rising on their own, she will crash again. Soooo we have to get her to a place where we are comfortable that she is on the rise and then monitor for about two hours after her last hc. We will then see 'true' Ophie numbers.
 
Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

Yes, that does make sense. I will give her a few extra minutes to regroup before her next poke. She just ate quite a bit of the HC food (I say "quite a bit" by Ophie standards, so maybe 1/8th of the can? I was feeding it to her on teaspoons, so 2 heaping teaspoons). She just retreated upstairs to rest. I realize the HC food is helping her, and that a crash may be on the horizon, but for the next little bit of time, while the HC food keeps her safe, I will breathe just a little, tiny bit.

Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top