11/23 Monster AMPS 146, +2 113, +11.5 107 , PMPS 112, +1 122, +2 99, +3 83, +4 71

Nice starter numbers for the day. I'm still waiting to get another set of numbers & was going to at his 2nd feeding/+4 this morning. But my idiot husband screwed that up for me this morning by freaking him out and now I can't get him.😡
And from the last thread, it sounds like with the small bouts of play, Monster is starting to feel better. That's good. Mine has just started running with the playmate I brought home for him a couple months ago. He is definitely not back to his former self yet.
But today I see him running around with him more & have hope. Thought he still won't play long with toys with me yet.
 
Nice starter numbers for the day. I'm still waiting to get another set of numbers & was going to at his 2nd feeding/+4 this morning. But my idiot husband screwed that up for me this morning by freaking him out and now I can't get him.😡
And from the last thread, it sounds like with the small bouts of play, Monster is starting to feel better. That's good. Mine has just started running with the playmate I brought home for him a couple months ago. He is definitely not back to his former self yet.
But today I see him running around with him more & have hope. Thought he still won't play long with toys with me yet.
It's nice to see them feeling better. We've gotta be doing something right, 😆
 
It's nice to see them feeling better. We've gotta be doing something right, 😆
Ha! I'm sitting here wondering how your baby's doing, the remembered you're at work. Duh. I've decided to keep a separate ss because my little guy's numbers don't look as good as they do on the human meter & I'm trying to get used to it.🤣 Hopefully don't make anyone mad, but since I'm trying to get both at once, figured they can look at the more popular human one now and I'll try harder.
Did something and thought it might be of interest to you, since both our cats seem to be alike and about same place it with numbers.
Nico came up to me and suddenly wanted to play. Not that this doesn't happen here and there (though nothing like pre-diabetes), but he was playing for a longer bit today. Besides he'd also been chasing his little brother around too earlier in the day. Lately he'll play for up to a minute or so, then just peter out. I must've gotten a good 5-6 minutes out of silliness just now. Wondered if he's feeling this good, what his numbers were. He's coming down off a high bounce, as just yesterday he was under 100 for his Amps. He's never been that low. And he bounces when he hits new lows. Anyhow! At his +4 today he was 205 (I know it sounds bad, but he was in red am and pm last night), and he was playing silly at +8. Took his test and he was at 214! In the past, Nico's nadir had been a measly +4. Still could be, but those numbers have never stayed that close for so long after before. I think the playfulness is from the lower numbers and it might be worth checking out yours when you can too. I of course waited till we were done playing. But I was wondering if his numbers were doing well, and that's a good sign to me. I could be totally off, but I'm hoping I might see 100's again tonight. He's such a weirdo and likes going low at night.🙄
Just thought I'd share in case you might want to try when Monster is feeling a little more generous to Angel.😅
I've got an Angel too, but she's anything but. In fact, hey middle name is officially 'Trouble'.
 
I wish I wasn't at work 😕 I've been wondering how my Monster is too. She did get a bit lower on her +2 so I hope she stayed around there.
That's great that he's staying around the same numbers. I hope it's a sign that they are getting used to being lower and can stay there a little while.
Don't you hate the bounce?!! It scares me at first until I can try to make sense of it and see that it's a bounce. That's really all this is... trying to make sense of things and getting comfortable. I feel like I have a toddler in the house again. Especially when she doesn't want to cooperate with ear pokes. She's pretty tolerable about though. It's just when I can't get it on the first try she gets a little impatient, who can blame her, lol
 
I wish I wasn't at work 😕 I've been wondering how my Monster is too. She did get a bit lower on her +2 so I hope she stayed around there.
That's great that he's staying around the same numbers. I hope it's a sign that they are getting used to being lower and can stay there a little while.
Don't you hate the bounce?!! It scares me at first until I can try to make sense of it and see that it's a bounce. That's really all this is... trying to make sense of things and getting comfortable. I feel like I have a toddler in the house again. Especially when she doesn't want to cooperate with ear pokes. She's pretty tolerable about though. It's just when I can't get it on the first try she gets a little impatient, who can blame her, lol
Yup. Mine had begun flinching AS I'm trying to get it. Which makes me mess up sometimes but not but a tiny prick and no blood.🙄 Again as you say, can't blame them. Although my little boy likes to tackle your hands pretty rough. So technically we're even on account of how many holes he puts in me with today murder mittens of his.
Looking forward to seeing his pmps and after. Hope yours goes well.
Have you ever thought of either a microchip or timer feeder? I have 3 girls in the bedroom that have microchip feeders and they wear their 'bling' around their neck. Had another girl that had a timer feeder and I had a blink camera watching over her so I could also give her food if I was out. Maybe for days you were worried about getting low?
I honestly feel like I'm never going to get away with this fella.😒
 
Yup. Mine had begun flinching AS I'm trying to get it. Which makes me mess up sometimes but not but a tiny prick and no blood.🙄 Again as you say, can't blame them. Although my little boy likes to tackle your hands pretty rough. So technically we're even on account of how many holes he puts in me with today murder mittens of his.
Looking forward to seeing his pmps and after. Hope yours goes well.
Have you ever thought of either a microchip or timer feeder? I have 3 girls in the bedroom that have microchip feeders and they wear their 'bling' around their neck. Had another girl that had a timer feeder and I had a blink camera watching over her so I could also give her food if I was out. Maybe for days you were worried about getting low?
I honestly feel like I'm never going to get away with this fella.😒
I was actually thinking about getting them auto feeders but the only problem with it is that when I feed them, they both basically lick the "gravy" part of it and leave mostly the rest of it and have no choice bit to snack on that, because it's the only thing they have. I'm afraid that I would waste even more food that way. But I'm still thinking about it. Maybe they will get better in time with the wet food. They have had dry food their entire lives.
 
I was actually thinking about getting them auto feeders but the only problem with it is that when I feed them, they both basically lick the "gravy" part of it and leave mostly the rest of it and have no choice bit to snack on that, because it's the only thing they have. I'm afraid that I would waste even more food that way. But I'm still thinking about it. Maybe they will get better in time with the wet food. They have had dry food their entire lives.
Try Young Again. It is dry food, but it you're using it for just that purpose? Personally it's what I feed all but 2 with bad ibd and Nico. My diabetic that went into remission years ago eats this. Why? Because they will drink the liquid like you said, and then refuse the actual food. So if it has to be dry, it's going to be the best dry made. They all eat from the Zero line. It's called Zero because it has less than 1% carbs. And it's so high dense protein packed, that they eat half of what other expensive kibbles feed. My 10lb'ers eat a total of 1/4cup for the entire day. That's it. There's no fillers, grains, useless veggies and fruits (I say useless because they're digestion cannot break them down to be of use), or anything else in it. If they don't need it, it's not in there. Family owned company, the president of the company will actually call you up if you have concerns or questions to answer them personally. But they only seem from their own website. And it has to be a slow transition unless you pretty is already on raw or cooked meats. Otherwise it will upset their stomachs going too fast in a change. Cause they're nothing else like it in the market.
Anyhow, if I had to leave a food and was worried about that, it'd never be wet food and that's what I'd use because it won't throw them off in numbers, but can help them in case worries of too low.
Or! You could have a small serving of freeze dried raw. I've got one ibd that switches up and eats that occasionally. It can be fed dry and next to nothing in carbs too.
I'd just never use wet for a feeder, because if left in something like that, it should be kept at 50 or 55° to stay fresh and not spoil. Or so I read when I was researching.
 
I just got home from and tested and she is at 107. I hope she didn't go much lower while I was at work. Her shot is due in about 30 mins and of course, I will check her again before but I'm not sure I should shoot. I know it says under 90 but, I scared to honestly
 
Absolutely shoot. I thought if it this way.... THIS dose is what got my baby to this.
On a human meter they can go down to I think 50 before your stress. Just have that hypo kit on hand in case of emergency. But Lantus curves are supposed to be much flatter than some other insulin. So I'm sure he was fine. It's why I was so happy to switch from Prozinc
 
I had to do this the other day. Nico was at 92 amps. But I trusted in the system and all I've read here and been told. It said to shoot and be brave.
You've got this. ❤️
 
Have you fed her yet?

How long has it been since the last test? If you can wait about 20-30 minutes from the last test and test again, you can see what direction she is moving in.
 
That's not a big bump up, but it is an increase, so she appears to be going up. Your options are on the sticky. If you want to stall (don't feed) for a bit and wait to see if someone comes in with dosing guidance, you can do that. Or you can make the decision yourself and assume that she is moving upward, so she is going to continue going up for a couple of hours until onset, and then she will drop. Then you'll need to monitor until she remains flat or goes up.
 
That's not a big bump up, but it is an increase, so she appears to be going up. Your options are on the sticky. If you want to stall (don't feed) for a bit and wait to see if someone comes in with dosing guidance, you can do that. Or you can make the decision yourself and assume that she is moving upward, so she is going to continue going up for a couple of hours until onset, and then she will drop. Then you'll need to monitor until she remains flat or goes up.
If I was able to test her today to see how she did I don't think I would be so on the fence about it. I think I'll go ahead. They are both waiting to be fed. Giving me the sad eyes. If I shoot and she goes really low then that would be a dose reduction later right? I'm going to shoot and monitor.... I think
 
If I was able to test her today to see how she did I don't think I would be so on the fence about it. I think I'll go ahead. They are both waiting to be fed. Giving me the sad eyes. If I shoot and she goes really low then that would be a dose reduction later right? I'm going to shoot and monitor.... I think
Typically, toward the end of the cycle, the insulin is waning and their numbers go up. It's possible that she went lower today, but I would focus on the numbers in front of you now. On TR, if she falls below 50, she earns a reduction. If you are able to monitor her, you can use the mc/hc food to boost her numbers through the cycle, if she falls too low.
 
Typically, toward the end of the cycle, the insulin is waning and their numbers go up. It's possible that she went lower today, but I would focus on the numbers in front of you now. On TR, if she falls below 50, she earns a reduction. If you are able to monitor her, you can use the mc/hc food to boost her numbers through the cycle, if she falls too low.
Ok, I'll do that. Thank you!
 
Just adding my 3 cents.
You can always adjust your dose also if you can't monitor for too long.
Definitely get auto feeders. They will come in handy especially while you're at work and noone is home to feed her.
I have 2 kitties and I have auto feeders for when I'm not there just to make sure he surfs through.
Another thing ill suggest is get one of those home/pet cameras. I have one and no regrets. That way you can check up on your kitties while you're away.

I'll also tag Wendy. She's great with advice.
@Wendy&Neko

Good luck
 
Just adding my 3 cents.
You can always adjust your dose also if you can't monitor for too long.
Definitely get auto feeders. They will come in handy especially while you're at work and noone is home to feed her.
I have 2 kitties and I have auto feeders for when I'm not there just to make sure he surfs through.
Another thing ill suggest is get one of those home/pet cameras. I have one and no regrets. That way you can check up on your kitties while you're away.

I'll also tag Wendy. She's great with advice.
@Wendy&Neko

Good luck
Thank you! I'm actually looking into getting both of those. I have my daughter on stand by to help me set up the cameras when I get them.
 
Didn't your say Monster's numbers double dip? My Nico does that. For whatever reason (and it's known to happen with some), they dip right before shots, but will go back up after a little. I know it's really scary, I had to do it the other day. Especially for cats like ours, the saying... 'You're not shooting for where the numbers are now, but where they will be at onset', comes in handy.
Look at your spreadsheet and it tells you that. That Monster's numbers always go up right after his meal and shot.
I can't promise anything, but I think he'll do fine.🥰
I have a feeling I might be staying up for at least another 2-3hrs, so if you need to vent, I'll be here. And here, Mary awarded this to me for my first shooting on green yesterday. Seems you deserve it now.
 

Attachments

  • 1763819667948.png
    1763819667948.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 24
Didn't your say Monster's numbers double dip? My Nico does that. For whatever reason (and it's known to happen with some), they dip right before shots, but will go back up after a little. I know it's really scary, I had to do it the other day. Especially for cats like ours, the saying... 'You're not shooting for where the numbers are now, but where they will be at onset', comes in handy.
Look at your spreadsheet and it tells you that. That Monster's numbers always go up right after his meal and shot.
I can't promise anything, but I think he'll do fine.🥰
I have a feeling I might be staying up for at least another 2-3hrs, so if you need to vent, I'll be here. And here, Mary awarded this to me for my first shooting on green yesterday. Seems you deserve it now.
I'm not sure about double dipping. But she did eat and I know that'll help raise her numbers before it kicks in. I'm really surprised she is responding so quickly with being on insulin. I hope this means she could find remission. I know it's not going to be that soon but I have faith in her, she can do it!!!!
 
I'm not sure about double dipping. But she did eat and I know that'll help raise her numbers before it kicks in. I'm really surprised she is responding so quickly with being on insulin. I hope this means she could find remission. I know it's not going to be that soon but I have faith in her, she can do it!!!!
Actually my first sugar baby was able to go off the juice after only 2 months of her new Young Again Zero diet and 1 unit twice a day. I think she's more of a rarity, but it can happen.
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing the tag. She has begun to see lovely flat cycles which makes it easier to shoot lower and lower preshots.

I am around if you need help later in the cycle. Can you get a test at +1 and feed a little snack after?
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing the tag. She has begun to see lovely flat cycles which makes it easier to shoot lower and lower preshots.

I am around if you need help later in the cycle. Can you get a test at +1 and feed a little snack after?
Thank you so much for responding. Just got her +1 and she's 122. I only fed her half of her food at shot time so I have the rest I can give her. We're still experimenting to see which ones she likes
 
Good planning! You don’t want to fill her up in case you need her to eat later in the cycle to bump up her numbers.
That's a good point. I don't think Monster has ever refused a meal/snack. 🤣 It's part if the reason we're treating diabetes now🙃 lil' stinker.
But seriously, I'll keep that in mind. Thanks again for your help!
 
Here is a note from Wendy that I have saved on my SS: “A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep.”

As Bhooma said, the green is not much lower than the preshot, so she’s likely to have a nice, flat Lantus cycle.
 
Here is a note from Wendy that I have saved on my SS: “A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep.”

As Bhooma said, the green is not much lower than the preshot, so she’s likely to have a nice, flat Lantus cycle.
That's very good to hear! Just got her +3 83
 
Hi Regan! Bhooma might be up still, but she's on the other side of the world, so she might not. What are you needing help with? If one of us can't help, we'll tag someone for you. Please start a new post (new day-new post) and link this one. Change your title to reflect the question, if you need to. Also, put up your "?" prefix.
 
Back
Top