11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +10 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
171 @ 6:01AM

I'm sorry. I set my alarm for 4am (+4) and I remember hearing it but must have just went back to sleep. I woke up to him scratching the litter box. I jumped up hoping to get a urine sample, but he threw litter over the saran wrap. I will try throughout the day for the urine sample.

How often do I need to test him this morning?
Is the subject line supposed to have PMPS +6 also or instead of AMBG?

yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57023
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMBG 171

Since you shot at 12:00am, yes - your subject line should be "+6" as opposed to "AMBG". You would use "AMBG/PMBG" if you are 12 hours past your previous shot and you're not shooting, therefore the number would be your "AM Blood Glucose" as opposed to "AM Pre Shot". I hope that makes sense!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +6 171

We have never stopped by to say hello but you have had a busy few days! Welcome to LL!! You are doing great and asking a lot of good questions.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +6 171

~O) ~O) ~O)
nice day yesterday for you two! Good job!

Get a +10 or +11, so when shot time rolls around you get an idea of whether he is going up or down.
You are trying to get back to 11a/11p schedule, correct? If so, numbers permitting you can shoot 15 mins early, which would be +11.75.

I'll be at work but will try and check in - hopefully I won't have connectivity problems today.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +6 171

Ummmmm... I think Amy is incorrect.

If I'm reading your SS correctly, you should still be posting in your condo from yesterday even thought it's no longer 11/22. It looks like your PMPS was 242 and the 171 was your test at PM +6. It gets confusing because you're shooting late. What I would suggest is to not think about the actual time (e.g., 4:00 AM). Rather, treat your shot time as 12:00 and you will shoot on the 12s. Every other number reflects how much time has passed since you gave an injection. There are 2, 12-hour cycles to each day. Thus, your 11/23 cycle doesn't begin until your AM shot time.

Now to add to the confusion, since you are in the process of moving your shot time, you are shooting 15 min. early -- like Sandy noted, at +11.75. Since you will be administering insulin at that time, the shot clock starts over. In other words, the +11.75 is treated like it was your +12 (the AMPS or PMPS).

I hope I haven't muddied the water too much. If it doesn't make sense, let us know.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +11 123

Hi Jennifer:

Thanks for posting that. I think you are shooting at 11:45 your time? So let's see if he comes up some. You shot a 140 yesterday so I think as long as he doesn't come back down, you
can probably shoot on time but post when you get his +12. I'll be looking for it.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +11 123

Glad you saw the post. I just started to PM some people I saw online as I didn't see any of the familiar names. I should have know you were checking in on me ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +11 123

You'll be home all day to monitor right and you have plenty of supplies (HC food/gravy, strips)?

I'll be working from home today so can keep checking in on you.

So tomorrow....you want to post all your numbers prior to the AMPS on your today's condo. As the others said, you are a little behind the rest of us because of the time you shoot. But each day should start out with your
AMPS or AMBG....the numbers you get prior to that go on the condo from the previous day. I know that sounds confusing. So...example....your +11 today would go on the 11/22 condo subject line. The way you bring it
to our attention is that you post a comment in the condo like you did and it will bump it up to the top. Any time you need help and your condo is falling back down the list, just open it up, click "post reply", and type "bump" in the
text area. Also...you can open the first post of the day, click "edit", click on the "?" button and add "need help" or "???" in your subject line, then click submit.

As Sienne said....there are many of us checking in on you so you shouldn't have to bump your condo too much and we know to look for the prior condo for your +11.

Good job!!!! Mikey is doing awesome and you are at the helm!!!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +11 123

BG is 141 but I did give him a little food around 10am. He is starving! He keeps looking at me with that look like "i thought you were coming to feed me not poke me again". I didn't want to feed him too much because I know I have to wait 2 hours before he can get a shot if he eats.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey +11 123

I think you are fine to shoot. Any food spike would be wearing off by noon which is only a short time. So go ahead and give him his 1.5u at 11:45. I think it's still a good idea to get a +1 and +2 today and
we'll go from there.

So if you want to update your subject line to show his AMPS, that would be awesome. See you in one hour!!! Great job.

ETA: good job linking yesterday's condo!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141

Just wanted to stop by with some encouragement. You're doing a wonderful job and Mikey is looking fantastic! You have a lot of great help here. Carry on!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141

Hi Jenn

Just checking for a +1....I'm working from home today so running back and forth between work 'puter and home 'puter...and Gracie, of course ;-) :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1 170

Great. Well...keep trying...I know you are!!!!

Wow..is he ever consistent...almost the same as yesterday. How about we do a +3 instead of a +2?

Normally, I recommend a +2 every single cycle but if we do some other test times today, it will help you see what he's doing in terms of onset, etc. So
we'll give you both a break, and if you'll grab a +3 and post it, I'll be looking for it in about two hours. Sound good?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1 170

Hi guys .. just wanted to stop in and cheer you on .. you're doing great! I won't be here this weekend, so wanted to say have a great holiday!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1 170

OK! I'll get the +3. Which is 2:45 my time.

The +3 is from the time of shot or time of AMPS. I'm not sure if I know the difference or if it's one in the same
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1 170

Your shot time and AMPS should be within 15 minutes of each other max as you get more comfortable with it and don't have to post a PS number and wait for a response before you shoot. I usually have it down to a couple minutes as I test, put the food down, and immediately shoot.

But your +3 should be three hours from the time you actually shot. Will be looking for your +3 here in a few minutes.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1 170

Ok....how about the next number being a +6 so we can see his mid-cycle. Right now, you are just data gathering since you are there and able to do so. It will help you in the long run. Once you see patterns and have some data,
you might decide that with a 203 at +3 that he doesn't need a test until much later in the cycle. But for now...let's just track him if he's doing ok. You got a +5 yesterday so let's look at +6 today.

Great job. I'll check back in later at your +6 time. Any questions???

BTW...are you going to be away tomorrow for Thanksgiving? He's just running in such decent numbers that if you wake up tomorrow and he's low..... you may need a Plan B.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +3 203

I wish I had documented his progress both on paper and video better. It reminds me of how autistic children, with the right training, can do such a turn around. In college I had an autistic child to tutor and the only way I knew he was autistic is by watching previous years in video. I can't believe Mikey is only with us 10 DAYS!. Thanks for all your cheering because it's really paying off, not just for his Diabetes.

I will do a +6 which is 6pm my time. I will be home all morning and will only leave for about 3 hours around 1:30pm then stop in and then leave for another 2-3 hours then be home for the night. Let me know if you will be online tomorrow checking in?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +3 203

Jennifer:

Yes..I'll be home most of the day. I plan to go to a friend's house for dinner from 3-6pm my time which is 5-8pm your time. Other than that, I'll be here and checking in. Glad that you can check in on him tomorrow since he has been liking blue surfs.

Ok..I'll be sure to check back for your +6.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +3 203

i can be around while you're gone marj - my eldest daughter at the coast has to work til 4ish, so we're not eating til probably 6pm.

jennifer, if you run into trouble just edit your subject line with a great big old HELP and add a new reply so that it bumps to the top and someone will be here. i imagine those who are around tomorrow and through the weekend are going to make an extra effort to check in, just in case someone needs a hand.

but so far so good! yes, isn't it fantastic to see your kitty return to health?! when punkin was diagnosed he was laying against his water bowl all the time. plus he went from being fluffy to being greasy. he's still not grooming, but the rest is all good. i'm just happy that he's happier. i'm also happy that mikey is happier too.

what are the thoughts for his future?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6 175

BG 175 at 6pm (9+6)

I am shooting at 11:30pm tonight? I shot 11:45 am this morning and we are trying to get to 11.

Mikey's future? He's up for adoption but is fine in my home if there is no one that is interested in him. He's a good boy and getting settled into my brood but he would do best in a home with less cats and more one on one love. I would also like to see him OTJ and to get adopted because I'd like to continue rescuing and with my 15 and him there's not much room for more.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6 175

Nice on the +6!!

Jennifer: it's ok to leave the entire day's numbers up....that way people that are helping you can quickly see when you tested and what he was doing so.....hate to ask but could you pls change the subject line and put all his test numbers back after his AMPS? Thank you so much. You can look at, for instance, my Gracie's condo and see how I have all her numbers up.

He's coming down pretty slowly.....how about a +9 and then from there we'll decide if we need a +11 or not. Does that sound OK?

Julie: thanks...that would be great; I'll check in with you tomorrow before I leave so we make sure Mikey and LL are covered ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

ok. i'll test at +9

I think the subject line is correct now? I'm not sure how to see Gracies?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

I think you can just get your PMPS and don't need a +11. If he's above 150, go ahead and shoot 1.5u on time. If not...same drill...don't feed, post. I'll be looking for you.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

ok and I'm shooting at 11:30 my time, correct? i shot at 11:45 am this morning
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

Yes ma'am. I'll be looking out for you if his PS is low.

And just for funnsies: besides the +2, another great number to get is a +10 on a routine basis. Again, right now, we're just getting some data to see what he's doing at different times. But in the very near future, you'll learn to figure out when you need to test him and won't have to ask us (although it's always fine...that's what we're here for). So, when that time comes and you get a feel for his numbers, keep it in your back pocket that +2 and +10....good testing data almost every cycle. The +11 is good if you see him dropping at the end of a cycle and you know you are going to need help. That gives us all time to look at his SS and come up with some ideas.

Great job!!!! See you at 11:30 your time if (a) you need help or (b) you're just posting his PMPS that you shot :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

PMPS 297 i will shoot 1.5u

what should the subject line read now? PMPS 297?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

Exactly!!!! Just go back to the subject line...take out from "AMPS" on and put in PMPS and start over again!!! You're getting it!!

Looks like Mikey has decided to finally bounce!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

i just keep adding on numbers - personally i would cut out the +1 or +3 and leave the lowest of the day up.

so it would be amps 141 +6/175 pmps 297.

looking good tonight! the high numbers will clear out - you're seeing some good ones so that tells us this is a dose that can take mikey to the lower numbers. great.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

hahaha marjorie and i were posting at the same time. you can see there's different ways - just look at the overall lantus forum page and everyone's got their style. the most important numbers are the most recent - that way people looking to see if anyone needs help can tell easily.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

Ok, good, because I start seeing yellow and get nervous. Do I need to do a +2 (which will be 1:30am my time)? What other times should I do?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +1/170 +3/203 +6/175

You need to get some kind of test because we don't know exactly what Mr. Mikey will do altho I'm guessing he'll go up. So I'd say a +2 and if you are up later than that, a before bedtime. Won't +2 be 1:30 your time?? You shot at 11:30.

If you are only up until 1:30, then get the +2 and see where he's going. If he's way higher, then I'd save some strips. If he's not very high ....you probably will want to set your alarm and get up and get another test. I'll be up for your +2 if you want to post it.
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297

yes, I corrected the time +2 is 1:30 (originally I typed 2:30). So I will get that test and post and go from there :)

If he is high at +2 then I don't need to test him until say 6am which is +7 or go later? I will post his # and see where to go from there. If all is ok I am to shoot at 11:15 tomorrow because I shot at 11:30 tonight, is that correct?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +2 432 AND 334

ok. we tested +2 and it was 432 but the blood hit DF finger first. We tested other ear and it was 334. Now what?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +2 432 AND 334

Go to bed! :lol:

ETA: Sorry....trying to feed Gracie and type.

There can be variance from ear to ear although it shouldn't have been that much. I have found with my meter that if I do one test right after the first one...then the second one is always lower. You can retest him if you want but I think he's high enough that I'd just go on and go to bed. Yes...test him when you get up and see where he is....I won't be up anytime near then. If that's your +7, you might want to get a +10 and see where he is headed unless he is still really high. If he's still really high, then just get his AMPS and shoot. If he has come back down below 140, then post and hopefully someone will be around to help you. I should be on to check on you at 11:15 your time but if Gracie has me up all night, I might not make it. You know the drill though if he's above what you have shot before :-D

Your shot time tomorrow should be 11:15...almost there!!! Get some rest. Great job again today!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +2 432 AND 334

:) ok. will be up at 6am and will see where he's at!

Thanks!!!
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +7/360

OK. so I'm a little confused. This morning at 6:40am, his +7 BG # 360. Why is it so high after being so low?
 
Re: 11/23 Mikey AMPS 141 +6/175 PMPS 297 +7/360

Good morning Jennifer!

The high numbers you are seeing are most likely a bounce. Mikey has gotten used to the higher numbers, his body sees them as normal. His liver "panicked" from the blues, it sees them as "low" and dumped sugar and hormones...like we talked about the other day. Don't worry, he will come down, it may take up to 72 hours.

Any luck on the ketone test?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top