11/23 Max -2 450 AMPS 450 +6 162 +9 113

Rick Max’s dad

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-21-max-amps-441-3-434-6-459-9-421-pmps-475.238960/

Thanks very much, been looking into other foods today. I started giving Max more wet food yesturday and mixing water in as well with only a cup or so of dry to tide him overnight. Today his readings have dropped a lot. He hasn't been below 16 since I started monitoring but at +6 today he was 9 and half an hour ago at +9 he was 6.3. He is due for his evening dose in 2.5 hrs. Should I be concerned with the sudden drop in his readings. It's still safe. I gave him an extra serving of wet food just after the +6 reading today.
 
You should put a note in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet for today that you've made a food change and what to. That is a significant even when we look at dosing.

As for tonight, what it's safe to shoot will depend what his numbers are a shot time. Below 90 (5.0), you do not shoot if feeding dry food. I'm also wondering if you should back his dose down because of the reduction in carbs you are feeding.
 
I’ll add some comments tomorrow. I just did his pmps at12.7 so gave him his normal 2.5 ui dose. I’m moving him to low carb wet food so ideally don’t want to change more than one thing at once. I’ll do another reading in 2 hrs.
 
Good to see you can test again in a couple hours. By the way, a switch to low carb may mean you have to lower the dose for Max's safety. This is one case where we don't wait to do one change at once.

Nice to see he can do those blues though. :cool:
 
You just gave me a little heart attack, from looking at the spreadsheet I thought you had shot tonight without getting a PMPS :eek: I now see from this thread that you did test and he was 12.7/229 - phew!

Dosing can go as low as .1U when a kitty’s close to going off insulin, yes that was .1U not 1U so certainly you wouldn’t stop giving insulin altogether at 2U. Usually you’d step down .25U at a time but with the change in diet looking like it might have a bit impact you may need to drop down a bit more quickly in the next few days, we will see ...
 
Back
Top