11/23 Jazzy AMPS 108 +2.5 86 +5 95 +8.75 86 PMPS 90 +4 86

Cheryl & Jazzy

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-88-2-101-5-79-9-74-pmps-95-3-77-6-76.238938/

Really Jazzy? :confused:
So, per yesterday's thread, I reduced Jazzy's dose this morning to what I think would be .05, basically needle juice. Should I call it a drop? I checked to see how much that was by shooting into the sink. It's almost nothing. Not sure if I should've done that with this morning's number. Probably should've waited until the next green. Too late now tho. I feel like I have no clue what I'm doing. Any thoughts on dosage going forward?
Hope everyone's kitties are feeling great. Have a good day, all :)
 
I wonder if you just call it "needle juice"? I went looking at spreadsheets of kitties that have gone OTJ. Rebecca & Max went from .1u to "needle shot", which I interpret as "needle juice". She calls it "needle shot" on her spreadsheet. BTW, if you're concerned about Jazzy's blues, Max also had blue numbers, arguably more than Jazzy. ECID, but Max went OTJ even with blues.

Based on what @Sienne and Gabby (GA) wrote yesterday, you can still reduce even with the 108 today. And as she said, you can always bring his dose back up if he doesn't hold the reduction. You won't know unless you try, though. :bighug:

Just my thoughts. Whatever you ultimately decide to do, we all know that you always have Jazzy's best interests at heart. You are an amazing mama.:bighug:
 
You can reduce. The numbers don't have to all be green, just green most of the time. A drop dose is when you hold the plunger in as you insert the syringe into the insulin and then let go. The suction draws a drop back into the syringe. Needle juice is something new that I haven't seen before. But more people are using calipers to measure the dose and can do finer doses.
 
Yes, I'm a little confused by the term 'needle juice' too...since it's unclear exactly how much juice is actually getting into that syringe? Is it a drop? What shows up on the calipers? I know it's gotta be the tiniest of an amount...but it might be good to try to measure for the sake of consistency.

You're doing a wonderful job. Don't doubt yourself for a minute!
 
Hang in there Chery :bighug: Worst case is the little experiment doesn't work and you add more juice back but, if it were me, I'd give it a few days. And, remember, BEST CASE, is Jazzy goes OTJ (<anti-jinx>).

Also, tell Jazzy he can stay in the lagoon in the morning even if he sees Jax :p
 
You can reduce. The numbers don't have to all be green, just green most of the time. A drop dose is when you hold the plunger in as you insert the syringe into the insulin and then let go. The suction draws a drop back into the syringe. Needle juice is something new that I haven't seen before. But more people are using calipers to measure the dose and can do finer doses.
That's basically what it worked out to be. I pulled the insulin into the syringe to the old dose, which was level with the first line. Then I just gently pushed it back to closed. When I pushed harder to see what would come out from that point it was basically a drop. Needle juice is just the phrase I used, it wasn't anything I officially saw anywhere. So I'll call it a drop then I guess?
 
Hang in there Chery :bighug: Worst case is the little experiment doesn't work and you add more juice back but, if it were me, I'd give it a few days. And, remember, BEST CASE, is Jazzy goes OTJ (<anti-jinx>).

Also, tell Jazzy he can stay in the lagoon in the morning even if he sees Jax :p
True, I can always go back up. Not sure what would warrant that anymore, but true. Lol.
Also, these boys....:p. I thought for sure jazzy would have a nice number this morning based on last night. But Jazzy just wanted to be Jazzy. You would think they would enjoy each other's company. Lol. I'm glad Jax is hanging out in the lagoon. Jazzy needs to make his way there too. :)
 
Yes, I'm a little confused by the term 'needle juice' too...since it's unclear exactly how much juice is actually getting into that syringe? Is it a drop? What shows up on the calipers? I know it's gotta be the tiniest of an amount...but it might be good to try to measure for the sake of consistency.

You're doing a wonderful job. Don't doubt yourself for a minute!
It is basically just a drop. So that's what I'll call it to make it official. :) It is the tiniest amount, so tiny that I don't see how it can even be effective. But apparently it can be as it's been done many times with others. This morning I was in too much of a hurry to use the calipers, so I did it as described in my other reply. I will definately use then tonight tho so I know what exactly it is.
 
I wonder if you just call it "needle juice"? I went looking at spreadsheets of kitties that have gone OTJ. Rebecca & Max went from .1u to "needle shot", which I interpret as "needle juice". She calls it "needle shot" on her spreadsheet. BTW, if you're concerned about Jazzy's blues, Max also had blue numbers, arguably more than Jazzy. ECID, but Max went OTJ even with blues.

Based on what @Sienne and Gabby (GA) wrote yesterday, you can still reduce even with the 108 today. And as she said, you can always bring his dose back up if he doesn't hold the reduction. You won't know unless you try, though. :bighug:

Just my thoughts. Whatever you ultimately decide to do, we all know that you always have Jazzy's best interests at heart. You are an amazing mama.:bighug:
I think I should call it a drop to make it more consistent. Plus it will take up less space in the cell. Lol.
I definately have Jazzy's best interest at heart. It's just frustrating going all this time and now realizing it could've gone better.
I can't even imagine dealing with the issues you have to deal with for Butters pancreatitis. I guess that puts things in perspective for me. Jazzy's got it pretty easy. :bighug::)
 
I think I should call it a drop to make it more consistent. Plus it will take up less space in the cell. Lol.
I definately have Jazzy's best interest at heart. It's just frustrating going all this time and now realizing it could've gone better.
I can't even imagine dealing with the issues you have to deal with for Butters pancreatitis. I guess that puts things in perspective for me. Jazzy's got it pretty easy. :bighug::)
I'm sorry you're feeling frustrated right now. :bighug: We are all on a different journey (or have been on a journey) with our kitties; I empathize with the challenges you face, too.:):bighug:
Best of luck with the new dose! Fingers and paws are crossed over here.
 
Yay for a green PMPS!! Honestly I was quite surprised, I thought he was going to be much higher than even lately. This makes me happy, Jazzy. Keep it up :D
 
Back
Top