? 11/23 Fistuk AMPS 86, +3 110, +4 86, +6 88 PMPS 99, +3 122::excessive drinking?

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9-6-75-92-9-104-pmps-104.283837/#post-3125914

Good morning :)
Fistuk was excessively drinking this morning again. I honestly don't know what to make of it. The obvious thing is that I want to make sure there's nothing I need to watch out for. I don't want to miss out on something important.

I give him water in his food all the time and it has a lot of the gelly from the tin so it's quite moist. I did give him the PB with water so when I stopped he drank less but it was not that big amount.

I noticed that in the past couple of days he's more in bed which means his back legs are bit more heavy to move to start with. But Fistuk has always been cuddly in bed when winter comes so there's no change here.

He pooped yesterday. will see today if he gives something.

It looks like everything is rather normal and good. His number I think looking quite good. What could that be? I don't want to go to a vet without a good idea of what I might be looking for.

I haven't yet changed his food to low phospherus. I still didn't manage to understand how to calculate this from the analytics. I'd appreciate help with this. Felling a bit thick about it because I've asked about this before but I just coulnd't get it yet.

Wishing you all a great day :bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly. How is his hydration if you pinch his scruff and release? Does he seem to be urinating more as well with the increased thirst? Also, does he drink excessively more all day or just when you notice in the morning?
 
Good morning Shelly. How is his hydration if you pinch his scruff and release? Does he seem to be urinating more as well with the increased thirst? Also, does he drink excessively more all day or just when you notice in the morning?
Thanks for your response and questions, Alli :)
I’m out of the house for a wedding. Asked Robert to test hydration and I feel so guilt for not being there :/
But he drank only this morning. And last morning. Nothing in between. No more urination than usual. From this morning shot I don’t recall his scarf not bouncing back properly. I asked Robert to check his gums as well
Thoughts ? :bighug:
 
I notice my cats both drink a fair amount in the mid mornings and then I don't see them do it the rest of the day. If he is not dehydrated, I wouldn't worry excessively just yet. When is his next vet appt? Could always redo a bloodwork panel and urine test.
 
Hi Shelly. I’m sorry you have any reason to worry about Fustuk. I don’t really have any solid answers for you, but I’ll put my two cents in here. The only thing I noticed with Ivy as I mentioned is that when her BG is higher and for us, that’s the 300 or 400s on Her Libre. I noticed she drinks about 2 ounces of water in a cycle.
When her numbers are lower, she drinks nothing and as I also noted I add 3 ounces of water to every feeding so she probably doesn’t have any real need for additional hydration with an addition to what I give her.
So, since his numbers are a little bit elevated, maybe he also is seeking more hydration like Ivy does when her numbers are higher for her.
Just my thoughts, not based on anything other than my observation in hopes that it can help you.
Hope the wedding is or was nice and you could get home and feel less stressed having been away from Fistuk.
It’s good that Robert is at home and able to monitor him closely. I hope you have a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey guy, thank you all so much for chipping in. It helps to know I'm not alone and to think about all these angles.
@allicatmeow @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @tiffmaxee @Mikanmama

I don't have a scheduled vet appointment for now. I generally don't like going to vets unless there's a specific reason. Last time was end of Sept so it's quite recent. he's had so many hospitalisations and blood work done over the past three months so I wanted to give him a break. the vet suggested to do a CKD check every 3-6 months. So I'll plan for Feb unless there's something else popping up earlier.

Normally Fistuk is not out of my sight. Which is quite crazy thinking of it. So I can tell whatever is changing. No chance he was drinking and didn't see. If I'm not home he's just sleeping and doesn't get off bed until I come back. Mummy's boy :)

I reduced his dose to 0.1U on the 20th and he started drinking on the 21st afternoon. After the third shot with 0.1U-count it be related to insulin?
The other change was stopping the PB I also took a break from S.bouldari so that's a bit less water given.

This evening he drank again. He ate from his food which I add water to. then he wanted to eat from his brother's plate, which doesn't have water added. And wanted to go out to the balcony-4 degrees (celsius) outside. he was running around like a bunny. haven't seen him like that for a long time.

Honestly, don't you just love how unexpected, crazy psycho cats are?!? :banghead::woot:

Heating did kick in here and Robert complaint about his skin getting dry.

I think in total, I'm curious if less insulin has anything to do with the drinking.:bighug:
 
It could if his numbers were high, like in the 300s or higher, but I don't think the numbers he shows now would be enough to explain that. Probably more just a coincidence in timing. How much is he drinking?
 
It's certainly possible that if you have the heat on in the house, that it's causing everyone to be in need of more hydration.

The one headache we all deal with is that pet food manufacturers rarely inform the public if they change the formula for their food. I wonder if there's more sodium in what Fistuk is eating. That would certainly be one reason why he's drinking more.
 
It's certainly possible that if you have the heat on in the house, that it's causing everyone to be in need of more hydration.

The one headache we all deal with is that pet food manufacturers rarely inform the public if they change the formula for their food. I wonder if there's more sodium in what Fistuk is eating. That would certainly be one reason why he's drinking more.
Ugh that doesn't sound good. I can try and call the company to ask
 
+3 122
Well a higher +3 and he ate ravenously. Almost finished a full plate of food though he's had good supper. Ill test +7

Allowing him out on the balcony earlier was a bad idea. Now he's wheezing:/
 
I would measure what I put in his bowl from a measuring cup, then measure what's left at the end of the day. But you have several cats, so I guess that makes it impossible to know how much each one drank.
That’s what I do with measuring the water. But Ivy is an only child ( of the 4 legged, furry variety).
I also keep a pee and poop log. I know. Crazy over bearing mother. Yep.
 
upload_2023-11-23_18-23-39.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-23_18-23-39.png
    upload_2023-11-23_18-23-39.png
    378.3 KB · Views: 137
Back
Top