11/23 Eddie: AMPS 430 +2 412 +5 185 PMPS 247 +2 254

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
Here is yesterday's story:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...162-pmps-418-2-144-3-117.255784/#post-2880700

Thanks to @Bandit's Mom for guiding me through the second night with dropping BG to keep Eddie safe.

@FrostD

@Wendy&Neko

Today's high is really concerning but it seems to be the pattern in the last few days. I am exhausted testing into the early hours and then to find these high numbers at AMPS.

Eddie was at the vet yesterday (see link above) for a blood panel. We got home and all was well and he moved into the blues until PMPS where he soared up into 419 and then plummeted down again for the second night in a row.

I'm at a loss and just riding the roller-coaster but I'm so tired. I should mention that I'm a professor at a university and have been teaching from home online because of Covid. In January I'm going back to in person classes and meetings and I'm so concerned about having to leave Eddie at home for long periods and for my own well-being of trying to do my job and not getting enough sleep.

Eddie is post-SRT by nine months and I'm told that SRT can start to really show results between 9-12 months. I keep hoping, testing, shooting, testing, etc.
 
Just some bouncing! It's a new dose, so he should hopefully settle down soon here.

A few things to consider, for your own well being (we've all been there!). Still always get a +2/+3. But there were nights I left out can(s) of HC because I just needed the sleep - it was better for him to just have the HC vs me missing an alarm and potential lows. You could also do some BCSs, but with large doses and large depot it's never a guarantee.

You could also consider a Libre. I'm not a fan of them in the lower numbers because they always seem to be off BUT they can be a good warning system. Cost is a concern for some...but after multiple hypophosectomies and SRTs between both cats, what's a few more $$ (I'm only half kidding!).

Probably mid December we'll want to think of a plan for you. It may be that TR just isn't a wise idea, or higher reduction points.
 
When you did a BCS before, Eddie took in in stride with barely a blip in his numbers. Now the depot does mean there is no guarantee he'll be safe, but it can slow down the subsequent drops after a reduction.

Out of curiosity, did Eddie get any food after nadir yesterday afternoon? Just trying to find an explanation for his sudden rise to PMPS.
 
When you did a BCS before, Eddie took in in stride with barely a blip in his numbers. Now the depot does mean there is no guarantee he'll be safe, but it can slow down the subsequent drops after a reduction.

Out of curiosity, did Eddie get any food after nadir yesterday afternoon? Just trying to find an explanation for his sudden rise to PMPS.

Thank you, Wendy. Are you saying that he might be in line for a BCS? Or, perhaps, was in line?

As for the food: he received food (snack) between +3 and +4. He did not receive any food until between +8 and +9.
 
Just some bouncing! It's a new dose, so he should hopefully settle down soon here.

A few things to consider, for your own well being (we've all been there!). Still always get a +2/+3. But there were nights I left out can(s) of HC because I just needed the sleep - it was better for him to just have the HC vs me missing an alarm and potential lows. You could also do some BCSs, but with large doses and large depot it's never a guarantee.

You could also consider a Libre. I'm not a fan of them in the lower numbers because they always seem to be off BUT they can be a good warning system. Cost is a concern for some...but after multiple hypophosectomies and SRTs between both cats, what's a few more $$ (I'm only half kidding!).

Probably mid December we'll want to think of a plan for you. It may be that TR just isn't a wise idea, or higher reduction points.

Thank you for this! I think I'm just so tired that I'm less resilient today.

As for the HC food: Eddie and I live in an open concept kind of place and it's hard to cordon off food when it comes to leaving it out. There are 3 other cats, one is Eddie's brother and although he is in remission and recovered from his SRT, he is still food-focussed. In fact, when I give Eddie a snack or a tsp of food for low BG, I have to give a token tsp of LC to Blue just to keep him busy. As I said, he's in remission: tests randomly at around 120.

The Libre: I honestly cannot do this to Eddie. He was so traumatized by his 28 day ordeal at WSU for the hypophysectomy and, based on research I've done, am relatively convinced he has injury to the hypothalamus as he sometimes reacts--for no apparent reason--like he's being threatened. He will hiss and lick my hand while I'm patting him. I'd rather lose sleep than make him wear the Libre and a t-shirt. But I hear you about the $$. I often joke that both Eddie and Blue have a Visa card designated only for them.

I would really appreciate a reevaluation of the current plan, though, by mid-December. Even thinking about that helps! LOL>

Thanks so much.
 
As for the food: he received food (snack) between +3 and +4. He did not receive any food until between +8 and +9.
I was wondering whether a snack had shortened his duration, but seems not.
Thank you, Wendy. Are you saying that he might be in line for a BCS? Or, perhaps, was in line?
Not sure he needed a BCS then, but rather if you need sleep, in your specific case, a BCS after reduction earned is OK if it helps you to get more sleep. Note to any lurkers, this is a suggestion to Jodey only. No one here, and I mean no one! has a cat like Eddie and his circumstances.
 
Hi Jodey. It looks like you have a great support group here. I can't advise but want you to know I am here to support you and your Eddie. I hope things get straightened out and that you are able to get some sleep. I also understand your concern about the Libre. It always sounded like a wonderful device but I could never bring myself to attaching it to Susie nor making her wear a t-shirt.
 
Hi Jodey. It looks like you have a great support group here. I can't advise but want you to know I am here to support you and your Eddie. I hope things get straightened out and that you are able to get some sleep. I also understand your concern about the Libre. It always sounded like a wonderful device but I could never bring myself to attaching it to Susie nor making her wear a t-shirt.
Thank you so much for the support. It means a lot to me as you probably know yourself! And, as for the Libre: in principle, a great device and it may work for some but as I've learned here ECID and it's not for Eddie. Again, thank you!!
 
PMPS 247. I am so hoping he can hold steady tonight after his 8u and that both Eddie and I can get some sleep. Will test again at +2 or +3. Fingers crossed. Prayers up. Whatever it takes. :):cat:
 
Back
Top