11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30;+6.5/68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Clare went very low tonight. Scared the bejeebers out of me!

AMPS 325
+3 132
+4.5 108
+6.5 84 :mrgreen:
+7.5 84

PMPS 195
+3.25 30 :shock:
+3.75 56
+4.25 55
+4.75 58
+5.4 56
+6 56
+6.5 68
+7.5 64
+8.5 112

This is the first time I've called the emergency number to see what we should do if we need help on a Sunday night. She had a nice surf during the AM cycle and a lower than usual (for her) PMPS. She didn't eat her dinner right away and now I think maybe we should've waited a bit before we gave her her PM shot. We're not exactly past this yet but we're monitoring and I think we're okay.

She's certainly earned a reduction. The question is, should we skip tomorrow's AM shot?

Thanks for any advice,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

Wow..those 30's sure get your attention, don't they?

It's just too early to know what to tell you for morning. She could bounce (and I expect she will) from the 30 so it would be safe to shoot.

If she doesn't give you a big bounce before the end of the night, maybe get a +11 or 11.5 and if she's still lower than your comfortable with, your AMPS will at least let you know if she's rising or still falling.

Congratulations on the reduction though!
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

Georgette

Doing ok? I'd give her carbs and get her up a little more.

I'd also see where she is in the morning at +10 or +11. Lots can happen and she might bounce or her depot could be full enough that she doesn't. I'd reduce her dose back to 0.25u in the morning even if she bounces. The main reason is if she has a really full depot, she could come back down.
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

Thanks, Chris,

That makes sense. I don't usually look forward to a bounce but tonight's an exception! ;-)

If Clare keeps wanting to eat only the lowest-carb options on her LC menu, we might need to start blending in some MC in order to keep her at a higher (0.5) insulin dose. She hasn't usually had lower nadirs at 0.25 and so doesn't stay there for long; but things can change -- that's one thing FD has taught me! :roll:

Have a good rest of the night,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

Hi Marje,

Clare's been a very picky eater tonight. She came up with some maple syrup on her favorite baked chicken, so I know that won't last long. She didn't want the HC so I rolled some more little pieces of chicken in the gravy and I've given her some MC (6%) that she likes. Hopefully that will have some lasting effect.

She seems to be doing okay but I still don't quite understand why she would've come down so far and fast after PMPS tonight. Can you see anything that might've given me a clue that would happen?

So even if she bounces we'll still reduce her dose to 0.25. Don will be here tomorrow but I'll be out at a meeting most of the day, so we'll do our best to avoid any more surprises. Would it be okay if we give her some of the MC at AMPS, do you think?

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

I don't see anything that would have indicated she was going to go that low. However, I do think if you could switch the tests so you are always getting a +2 instead of +3, then you might have a little warning.

6% is still LC; MC is above 10%. I wouldn't feed her real MC in the morning after her shot unless the numbers warrant it.

Can Don post here for Help if he needs it?
 
Re: 11/23 Clare AMPS 325; PMPS 195:+3/30 Very low-shoot in

Hi Marje,

Clare's BGs are staying stubbornly low, but except at the very outset I haven't brought out the big gun HCs. She's still nibbling at the 6% (and now 8%) that I'm giving her. We'll hang in there until the insulin starts wearing off.

Don knows how to access the Board. I'll have my cell on vibrate during my meeting tomorrow and will just step out of it if he needs to talk with me, and will check in with him when we break. He may not test as frequently as I would, out of concern for Clare's comfort. It's always a balancing act.

Thanks for being there,

Georgette and Clare
 
Thanks, Georgette. Meant to check on you all again but I fell asleep......

Thank you for your sweet post on Gracie's condo yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top