11/23 Chester's pmps 383, +3.5=274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
I'm just not sure what to think about Chester's numbers. He hasn't gotten into the kibble in days (yay!) but they sure are hovering in the pink...except when they aren't. A 132 last night and a nice 104 the night before. I realize that at the tiny dose he's on, consistency might be the problem but I'm wondering if maybe I'm overfeeding him (with apologies to Binks!) :-D or that the dose is too low. Won't be home at all on Thanksgiving (except for amps) until pmps, so if a change is made it would have to be Thursday pmps or Friday amps (will be home all weekend).

Suggestions? Now that I have the auto feeder at least I can be sure he doesn't eat after a certain time. What time should that be?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30359
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

I can answer your last question. I believe you don't want to feed from +10 on, so there are at least 2 hours before shot time to get a "clean" (without food) number when you shoot.
As far as the dose increase question, I'll leave that to others to help you with. If it was my cat, I would try to add a hair to the dose and see what happens, but you'll need to be home to monitor, as you know.

Hope you and Chester have a good day.
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

Good morning Jaye.
A lot can change in a couple of days so since you do not want to raise the dose until Thursday pm you have plenty of time to get more data to see if Chester needs a dosecrease. You know Chester will read this and do the opposite of whatever you want him to anyway. ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

No help here I'm afraid. Maybe Chester will surprise you with some awesome numbers today.
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

Good morning guys! Im glad to hear that Chester hasn't gotten into any kibble ... I know it's frustrating to see our kitties so often in pink .. I hope that chester starts showing more yellows and blues and greens on his SS .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

aw, jaye...you already have me laughing this morning...
love your sense of humor!

chessie cat...come down to comfy numbers, bud!
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

jaye...you already have me laughing this morning!

love your humor.

chessie cat...come down to the comfy floors...
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's amps 322 QUESTIONS

Celi and Binks clearly wanted to laugh twice as much!

If you're going to increase, it's fine to do so when it makes sense both for safety and schedule when you want to. I've held off on increasing because I wouldn't be around.

As far as feeding schedule, to a large extent, this is a trial and error process. It's very much an ECID situation. What I would point out is that it's probably best to not feed after nadir. If you are giving food at the time when your insulin level is in its lowest effective range, the food may overpower the Lantus. I wouldn't suggest feeding after +6.
 
Re: 11/23 Chester's pmps 383

I'm getting tired of these high numbers for no apparent reason. Tonight I raised his dose by a whopping one drop, which I'm calling 0.33. It's basically 0.5 minus one drop but is actually a little easier to dose that the .25.

Really interesting about the autofeeder. He LOVES eating out of it and has eaten every drop of the food I give him in it....when I'm home. It's neat that you can see what they ate and when they ate it. I say "they" because the little man has company during the day. They definitely snacked on the 8:30 bowl, but the 10:00 a.m. one was untouched. They all probably slept through it. So I know didn't eat after 10:00. Pretty cool.

If I can't find good little glass bowls to fit I'll be crossing my fingers that he doesn't develop any plastic issues, because he loves it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top