11/23/14- China AMPS 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

animallvr64

Member Since 2014
China was high this AM which is what I expected, due to her schedule being off yesterday. She is back on her 6/6 schedule today. Was tested at 6am which was the 301, and did a spot test at +6 and she was 73 is this considered a bounce? Or is it hard to tell because I didn't get a spot check before the +6? I can tell when her BG is down she acts different normal I should say, and I love that.
However, she has been on the 1.75 for a week now, so should I keep her there for a bit longer or should I increase her dose to 2.0u? I am not sure cause she has had numbers in the green and blue on this dose, so am not sure if I should give it more time on this dose or increase it.

Thanks
Vickie&China
 
That's a pretty big drop, Vickie. She is clearing the bounce already which is great news! I would not increase the dose. She's getting into good nadirs on this dose.

I would check her at +7 and see where she is. If she's flat or higher, I'd suggest checking again at +10. If she's still coming down, please post and put the"?" Icon up (the star is reserved for group informational posts) and ask for help. I am going to subscribe to this condo and will hopefully catch your posts.

Sound like a plan?
 
I would also hold the dose.

One thing you can do when you see her get into green numbers, give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular low carb. Sometimes that little bit of food will help a cat stay in the green range for longer - which is your first goal. The longer she spends in normal numbers, the better the opportunity for her pancreas to do some healing. The more time spent in those normal numbers (50-120) the more her body will also accept it as normal and hopefully, the bouncing will lessen or stop.

Vickie, Friday you said:
Because of my stupid mistake she is paying the price.
You haven't done anything to cause her high numbers. Her body is reacting to getting into normal numbers. Her body is bouncing. This is just part of it - you're not making it happen. Don't blame yourself! :-D
 
I just checked her BG and am happy to say its at 84 so your right Marje and Julie, after giving her a little of the LC food after her +6 check I think that helped her stay in the green. I was not going to check her again until her PMPS at 6pm which is in about 3hrs and she is due to eat then also. Would this be OK? or should I check her again before then.

Vickie&China
 
It sounds like she's on the way up, slowly. You can get a +11 test if you want. I think holding off until PMPS will be fine too.
 
I agree with Dyana. If she's still green at PMPS, you can post for help if you need to. She's doing so much better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top