11/22 Webster +11.5=187 +1=151 +2=72

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/22 Webster +4.25=41 +4.75=60 +11=142 2.75=44

Marje and Gracie said:
he should have had a food spike. It might be a busy night.....

Mike....when you get a chance, coul dyou please update the subject line so we can easily keep track of his numbers? Thank you!!


Okay.... 72. What to do? try to give more LC food?
 
if you can get him to eat TWO tsp of LC, that would be great. Or if you have a MC he will eat, that would be great. He's down quite a bit...thank you, depot.

If it were me, I'd retest 30 mins after you feed him because if he's still dropping, then he won't have dropped as much in 30 mins as if you wait an hour. KWIM?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
if you can get him to eat TWO tsp of LC, that would be great. Or if you have a MC he will eat, that would be great. He's down quite a bit...thank you, depot.

If it were me, I'd retest 30 mins after you feed him because if he's still dropping, then he won't have dropped as much in 30 mins as if you wait an hour. KWIM?

He just finished up the rest of his dinner from earlier which was a couple tablespoons. Will retest in 30
 
It's ok, Mike. Just breathe. This is all depot. So I think the best thing to do is give him at least 2 tsp HC with a couple drops karo and abort the cycle. Bring him up with whatever you need to....usually HC food with karo is best. He's ok...44 is not dangerous but we want to get him up.

Please feed and retest in 30. I'll be watching for you. Doing ok?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
It's ok, Mike. Just breathe. This is all depot. So I think the best thing to do is give him at least 2 tsp HC with a couple drops karo and abort the cycle. Bring him up with whatever you need to....usually HC food with karo is best. He's ok...44 is not dangerous but we want to get him up.

Please feed and retest in 30. I'll be watching for you. Doing ok?

Yes. Brb
 
He just ate a couple tablespoons of HC gravy food. I gave him 8 temptation treats coated in karo. I hope this sends him back up..

Will retest in 30
 
You're welcome, Mike.

I know this is stressful esp because you are tired but remember you are in control because you are testing and you can feed. Just remember lather, rinse, repeat so if he's still low at the next test, give him a couple more tsp HC gravy and a few tempations in karo.

Sometimes when the dry is taken away, the sugary a/b is gone, and things start to move downward, the trip down the dosing scale can be tiring. The good thing is, he doesn't have too far to go down the scale. I've seen some cats at 2.5u and take the fast trip down the scale....it is exhausting.

You're doing super!
 
I'm beginning to wonder if this whole administering insulin is really even necessary for him? I mean, he keeps on dropping like a rock. Maybe just the change in diet is enough to get things his BG levels back in check.

These drops don't make a whole lot of sense. Were talking about a micro - very small dose tonight and a fairly small dose of 0.50 over the past few days. Despite the small dose, he keeps dropping on me. I understand that the insulin builds up over time but... am I glad that I wasn't shooting 1U blindly from the beginning as the vet suggested!
 
Other cats do this as well. Mikey was dropping like crazy on 0.1u so we had Mary stop the insulin and he went sky high and stayed there for over six cycles (it can take up to six cycles to no longer see the effects of the depot). Some cats just need a tiny dose of insulin. There is a kitty in Relaxed Lantus who is on 0.1u and she can go from 400 to 20 something in no time at all. Take her off and she is high and flat.

Hang in there.....
 
87, were up. Now I suppose I have to wait this out for a couple more hours to make sure that he doesn't start dropping off again.
 
You can do a couple things.

You can give him more HC food, no karo, and just get him moving up more. Lay down for a couple of hours and then get up and check him.

Or you can give him LC and see if you can get him to just surf. You'll need to get up in a couple hours to chedk him.
 
Mike

you don't need the 911....i'm hanging with you :-D he's doing fine.

Pls let me know what you decide to do, ok? Thank you :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Mike

you don't need the 911....i'm hanging with you :-D he's doing fine.

Pls let me know what you decide to do, ok? Thank you :-D


Sorry, I put that up when he tanked to 44. I went back several minutes ago to take it off and it seemed to already been removed. Not sure why it came back but I took it down.

Ill try to get him to eat more high carb. If not, ill try low carb. I think he's as tired as I am...
 
I"m sorry. I know you two have to be exhausted. That's why I would carb him up, go to bed for a couple hours until he's past nadir, grab one more test after nadir to be sure he's staying up, and sleep. Can your wife maybe grab that test so you can sleep the rest of the night?
 
He went for a couple tbs of high carb gravy and ate a few bites of it although hes not a fan of shredded meat.

I'm going to catch some zzz and check him in a couple hours. I believe I can take it from here. If drops low again it's high carb food, a few drops of karo, perhaps some treats dipped in karo if necessary. Check in 30. Repeat if necessary.

What are we looking at as far as dosing tomorrow? I'm so frustrated with his hair trigger response to even a lower dose of insulin. I'm wondering what will happen if I continue his low carb diet and just take him off insulin for a few days, allow the depot to wear off and see what happens.

I'm not sure what to do at this point. How does the vet determine whether or not a cat needs to start on insulin or just needs to change their diet?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I"m sorry. I know you two have to be exhausted. That's why I would carb him up, go to bed for a couple hours until he's past nadir, grab one more test after nadir to be sure he's staying up, and sleep. Can your wife maybe grab that test so you can sleep the rest of the night?

She went to bed an hour ago with a migraine headache. I guess I'll be the one.
 
I would leave his dose alone and shoot 0.25u in the morning. If you get a number that worries you, post and ask for help. We just have to be so careful with a post-DKA cat who is not eating a ton on his own.

I'm not sure if you saw my earlier post but that's exactly what happened with Mikey. He was a dry food cat converted to wet food, diving, going low. We kept lowering his dose and then Mary took him off insulin just to see if it would work. It didn't. He was in immediately in 300/400 numbers for over six cycles.

We don't need that to happen with Webster. I know this process has been consuming your life and you are exhausted and worried. If we can get him to flatten out, it will be much better for you all and he made big strides today.

If a cat is on all dry and has high BGs, the vet might have them convert to wet and just see what happens in a couple of days. However, alot of vets are just putting cats on insulin, leaving them on dry, and they find us. I haven't really seen that many cats that have a high BG and are on dry and changing just brings the BG right down. They usually need a bit of insulin for a short time. Some longer...ECID.

YOu've got it right so I'll let you get to bed. I hope your wife feels better tormorrow. I'll hang around a few in case you have questions. Night, Mike.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I would leave his dose alone and shoot 0.25u in the morning. If you get a number that worries you, post and ask for help. We just have to be so careful with a post-DKA cat who is not eating a ton on his own.

I'm not sure if you saw my earlier post but that's exactly what happened with Mikey. He was a dry food cat converted to wet food, diving, going low. We kept lowering his dose and then Mary took him off insulin just to see if it would work. It didn't. He was in immediately in 300/400 numbers for over six cycles.

We don't need that to happen with Webster. I know this process has been consuming your life and you are exhausted and worried. If we can get him to flatten out, it will be much better for you all and he made big strides today.

If a cat is on all dry and has high BGs, the vet might have them convert to wet and just see what happens in a couple of days. However, alot of vets are just putting cats on insulin, leaving them on dry, and they find us. I haven't really seen that many cats that have a high BG and are on dry and changing just brings the BG right down. They usually need a bit of insulin for a short time. Some longer...ECID.

YOu've got it right so I'll let you get to bed. I hope your wife feels better tormorrow. I'll hang around a few in case you have questions. Night, Mike.

Good night. Thank you so much for sticking around. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top