Snickers and Chrissy
Member Since 2019
Snickers PMPS was 176. I gave her .25 unit. Almost two hours later (like 1.5) I checked and it said 64. (Alpha Trak 2). I double checked and it said 84. I checked a third time and it said 89. I'm assuming the 64 was wrong then? How did it go from 64 to 88 and 89 in like a minute? Did I do something wrong? Can different parts of her ear give different readings?
Am I updating this thread correctly? Am I supposed to delete the first post then? I'm feeling a bit frustrated. Grrr. FYI, Snickers seems totally fine. She was getting slightly irritated I poked her ear a bunch of times in a row though.
****
*Just an update in case anyone wonders. Snickers PMPS was 176, I gave her a dose of .25. I think her numbers today were pretty good. She did not dip into the light green danger zone at any point. I'll monitor her tonight and see how it continues to go
*****
Original Post
Hi, Snickers and I are still only on week 2 of this whole diabetes thing and trying to figure it out.
I read a lot of posts where people talk about bounce back and I searched the term on here and read more posts about it, and want to make sure I'm understanding correctly for Snickers' sake.
So if your BG numbers drop too low, then the next day they can bounce back and be too high? Is that the right idea or am I misunderstanding?
Last night Snickers dropped to 54 about 2 hours after her dose of .5 units. I gave her some more food (she only ate half at dinner time) and a few Temptations treats (I don't give them to her anymore but kept them in case she goes low, I thought they'd help).
This morning Snickers was at 210, which is high for her morning numbers. Actually, 210 is high for her at all it seems like. She doesn't usually get that high in the day, though granted I've only been checking her morning numbers consistently for a short while. I didn't realize I should check so often till I came here.
So is 54 to 210 a "bounce back?" Or is that because I gave her extra food last night? Or both? When a cat is bouncing, then it's best to keep them at the same dose or a lower dose, is that right?
I gave her .5 units last night and eyeballed .25 this morning. Just checked and her numbers are now 116. Wondering if I should have given her the .5. Thanks so much for any help!
Am I updating this thread correctly? Am I supposed to delete the first post then? I'm feeling a bit frustrated. Grrr. FYI, Snickers seems totally fine. She was getting slightly irritated I poked her ear a bunch of times in a row though.
****
*Just an update in case anyone wonders. Snickers PMPS was 176, I gave her a dose of .25. I think her numbers today were pretty good. She did not dip into the light green danger zone at any point. I'll monitor her tonight and see how it continues to go
*****
Original Post
Hi, Snickers and I are still only on week 2 of this whole diabetes thing and trying to figure it out.
I read a lot of posts where people talk about bounce back and I searched the term on here and read more posts about it, and want to make sure I'm understanding correctly for Snickers' sake.
So if your BG numbers drop too low, then the next day they can bounce back and be too high? Is that the right idea or am I misunderstanding?
Last night Snickers dropped to 54 about 2 hours after her dose of .5 units. I gave her some more food (she only ate half at dinner time) and a few Temptations treats (I don't give them to her anymore but kept them in case she goes low, I thought they'd help).
This morning Snickers was at 210, which is high for her morning numbers. Actually, 210 is high for her at all it seems like. She doesn't usually get that high in the day, though granted I've only been checking her morning numbers consistently for a short while. I didn't realize I should check so often till I came here.
So is 54 to 210 a "bounce back?" Or is that because I gave her extra food last night? Or both? When a cat is bouncing, then it's best to keep them at the same dose or a lower dose, is that right?
I gave her .5 units last night and eyeballed .25 this morning. Just checked and her numbers are now 116. Wondering if I should have given her the .5. Thanks so much for any help!
Last edited: