11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +6 97, +7 132, +8.5 166, PMPS 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Well Sarge must have heard you that there is nothing to see on the 4th floor Julie! We are starting the day in the green at 68. Do I stall? I changed my tenting technique when giving his shots and ever since he seems so much more responsive to his insulin. I am afraid to give him a full dose. I hope he didn't go low last night. At +5.5 (about 1am) he was at 215. In the past this was enough he would be in the pink by morning but not anymore. So, I gave him a mix of 3% and 5% carb food as insurance that when he hit green it would be a safe green. He is eating his and Lobster's breakfast right now. Food does bring him up pretty quick. I think I can be home to watch him today. There was one thing we were thinking we would go out to do but I don't have to go.

AMPS 68
30 minutes after breakfast 78.
1hr 84.

11/21 Condo
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

Stalled for an hour since this is my first time shooting under 100. At AMPS +1 we were at 84. 10 point rise every half hour seems to be the pattern. Definitely on the way up. Gave his usual dose. I wouldn't be surprised if he earns a reduction today. We shall see. Thank you Sarge for teaching me to shoot green on a Saturday when I can be home!
 
Re: ?? 11/22 Sarge AMPS 68 AMPS +1 84.

If you're going to be home today, you could give him his insulin, if you want. Your shot schedule would need to be adjusted to 12 hours after the dose is given (unless he sky rockets up, but we can talk about that, later).
Are you planning to skip the shot? If it was me, I would give him his insulin, since you are going to be home to monitor, as long as you have lots of test strips and HC or syrup on hand, that is.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

Good shooting! I see we cross posted.

Just to let you know, when stalling, we recommend stalling without feeding, so we can tell if he's going up or down without the influence of just eating food. Not to scare you. I see that you have been testing a long time, and this is your first green shot, but we are here with you. Do you have lots of strips and HC or karo if needed?
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

Yeah, I realized later stalling is without feeding. Green mornings are new to us. I am well stocked. I have high carb food, syrup and five boxes of strips. Just got my ADW order on Monday! I am suspicious he will earn a reduction today just be cause he seems to be responding to his insulin better all of a sudden. I just really hope it's not a wild ride. His new shot time is 8am. Once I get this figured out I will probably slowly work him back to 7am so I can get an out the door spot check of more than one hour. I am so thankful we are doing this on my one day off a week. I don't know what I would have done if it was tomorrow instead. Thanks so much for your help Dyana. You are an angel to be helping others with all of your challenges this week. Take care :)
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

It keeps my mind off other things :sad: . Thanks.

I'm glad he choose your day off to give you the experience you need to shoot greens.

Next test at +2?
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

Yes, there will be a +2 and I thought it couldn't hurt to grab a +1. I don't know if it will tell me much but you can't go back and grab it later if you are curious.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS +1 84

Umm, sorry I didn't catch this before, but if you shot at the 84, then the 84 is the AMPS, and I think you might be coming up on +1 (one hour after shot), is that right?
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79

Eeek. Looks like +1 is 79. Fingers crossed for surf not dive. +2 up next or do I need to check sooner?
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79

+2.25 (+2 alarm didn't go off) we are at 67. Going down at +2. Long ways to go. I think it is time to start giving some "junk food."

+2.75 Gave heaping tablespoon of 5% carb food. 2% higher than regular food. Saving the "big guns" until later, hoping we don't need it.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67

Try giving a couple tsp of regular LC to see if he will surf instead. Try saving the HC for under 50.

Great cycle so far, hop on that surfboard Sarge. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66

If I had a kid I imagine this is how I would feel if he were learning to surf..with sharks! Hehe. +3 we are at 66. I'm off to give him a couple tsp of his regular food now and see what he does.

Nibbled at 3% carb food. He may be getting a little full since he did eat breakfast. I will try again in a little bit. Sarge is very playful. He is rolling around on the living room floor. Must feel good not to be sky high.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66

Hi,
How's he doing now? I'm watching with interest. Not sure I would be brave enough to shoot green yet but like you, I hope my Silver does it on a weekend!

Sounds like he is doing well though.

Juliet and Silver.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66

Sarge must be listening...72 at +4. Thanks for tuning in guys. Should I take down the 911 as long as he is surfing? +7 on should really tell the tale.
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66 +4 72

Yes, it's time to take down the 911. He's surfing nicely. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66 +4 72 +5 72

Gave two tsp. regular carb food at +5 when 72 repeated. We are 97 at +6. I had a little scare. My first test the meter said LO. Two retests gave 100 and 97 respectively. The first strip fed in a little funny so I am going to say there were something wrong with the first test. It will get your attention though!
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +1 79, +2.25 67 +3 66 +4 72 +5 72

If the strip gets not quite enough blood, the number can register low. Good instincts on retesting. Last night at PMPS I got a 42. :shock: I also did two retests like you just did.

Fantastic surf for Sarge today. Great example of shooting low to stay low. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Sarge AMPS 84, +4 & 5 72, +6 97, +7 132, +8.5 166

Oh my. A PMPS of 42! Glad that was a naughty meter reading :) Thanks so much for the surfing lesson today guys. I really appreciate it. We are at 244 at the PMPS. I reduced his dose to 2.25 since I had to feed most of the day to surf. I will definitely get a test before I go to bed and I am going to try to make it as far along the cycle as I can.
 
He didn't technically earn a reduction tody (below 50). If he doesn't head down to green after the bounce is over, I'd take him back up again. Paws crossed for an uneventful night.
 
He is full of surprises today. His PM +5 is 55. Luckily his nadir seems to have moved back up to +6 ish instead of +8ish. I just gave him some food for insurance and plan to stay up a while longer. I know the 55 doesn't earn him a reduction either but suddenly his insulin is working differently. I think the new tent technique I started Wednesday night has made a BIG difference. I must not have been getting total subq before. My gut tells me he might need a couple nearly but un-truly earned reductions to stay safe because we are in a different world of insulin activity. I don't want to go back to yellow, pink and red but I can't always count on being able to feed to surf either. I need a dose he can self surf on with the help of the timed feeder. I hope I can quickly figure out what that is.
 
The PM nadir was probably the 2.5U depot talking (can last 4-6 cycles after a reduction) but does look promising for the 2.25U dose working out for him. I guess the different tenting technique is giving better absorption. :-D
 
The difference is kind of crazy. It looked like a better technique so I gave it a go and now I wish I knew what I am doing now months ago. Better now than never but there has to be an absorption difference. I am scooping a third of what I was out of the litter box now too. Hooray for no more 60lb trash bags of litter at the end of a week! I am glad 2.25 units is looking good because I am afraid to give 2.5 when I can't be home now. Thanks for the insight on that PM nadir :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top