11/22 Olive PMPS 98, 95+2, 92+3 Earned reduction this morning

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-20-olive-amps-99-79-2-67-3-92-6-87-9.238863/

The last 2 cycles have been the lowest I've shot. Both AM and PM she was 86. At +2 tonight she dipped to 63 so I got some food in her right away. Just her normal Darwin turkey. She actually ate double her normal amount and I think she ate a bit too much as it seemed to elevate her numbers a little for the rest of the cycle so far. Normally she doesn't get her mini meal until +3. It's been a challenge the last few cycles to get her numbers to a "safe" shooting range. I had to stall this morning by about 20 minutes as she was just 81 when I first tested. I'd shot at 90 safely the cycle before so when I got her up to 68 I figured it was closer to that 90 mark so I shot. My question is how low can I safely shoot from here on out? I know she hit the lime green at +2 tonight, but I'd hate to give her a reduction at this point knowing she's done so well by staying mostly in the green. Mid to upper green, but still green. Anyone have any advice, thoughts, or suggestions moving forward?
 
Are you using an alphatrack or a human meter? Your signature indicates human, in which case it shouldn’t actually be lime green until 50. But the your signature also says SLGS whereas Olive is under 90 (and looking fabulous) most of the time now. So I’m confused about what advice to give. If you’re doing TR now and it’s a human meter you’ll want to wait for a drop under 50, if you’re still kind of following SLGS and or using the alphatrack I’d try the reduction.
 
Are you using an alphatrack or a human meter? Your signature indicates human, in which case it shouldn’t actually be lime green until 50. But the your signature also says SLGS whereas Olive is under 90 (and looking fabulous) most of the time now. So I’m confused about what advice to give. If you’re doing TR now and it’s a human meter you’ll want to wait for a drop under 50, if you’re still kind of following SLGS and or using the alphatrack I’d try the reduction.
Using a human meter. Is my color-coding incorrect then? A member helped me change things to match up with the human meter not long after I first joined. Supposedly lime green starts 67 and below. How so I fix this then? Yes, using SLGS, but one of the moderators proposed that I implement my own reduction point because Olive wasn't holding well and each time she earned the standard reduction it always failed. Once I decided on setting my reduction point to around 65'ish, then her BG started looking really good and staying far more steady in the green. So yes, she's SLGS but with our own set reduction point. I was supposed to shoot 5 minutes ago but Olive's AMPS number was only 77. Lowest I've shot is 68 and she hit 63+2 then, so I'm stalling at the moment and not really knowing what to do.
 
Using a human meter. Is my color-coding incorrect then? A member helped me change things to match up with the human meter not long after I first joined. Supposedly lime green starts 67 and below. How so I fix this then? Yes, using SLGS, but one of the moderators proposed that I implement my own reduction point because Olive wasn't holding well and each time she earned the standard reduction it always failed. Once I decided on setting my reduction point to around 65'ish, then her BG started looking really good and staying far more steady in the green. So yes, she's SLGS but with our own set reduction point. I was supposed to shoot 5 minutes ago but Olive's AMPS number was only 77. Lowest I've shot is 68 and she hit 63+2 then, so I'm stalling at the moment and not really knowing what to do.

Did you print out the information on what to do when you encounter a lower than expected pre-shot number?

This is the stickie: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

Best to get another test after 20 minutes with no food, see which direction Olive is headed. You've come a long way baby! That SS is looking wonderful!
 
The lime green at 67 is if you're using a meter calibrated for pets. Otherwise, you need to follow the guidelines based on which dosing method you're using. Reductions -- based on a human meter -- are at 50 if you're following TR and the cat is within a year of diagnosis and at 90 for SLGS.

There are photos of micro-dosing in the Insulin and Syringe info sticky. You might want to see how your caliper-based dosing compares to the photos. Between the numbers last night and this morning, with SLGS, Olive gets a reduction. You could, however, consider switching to TR where the reductions occur at a lower number if you don't think reductions are holding.
 
I'll reply later...want to get a nap in. I shot at 79 after holding for a half hour. I gave her a small reduction. Last time we gave the .06 she surfed the ocean more than the lagoon so I split the difference on the caliper and shot .09 and we shall see how that goes.
 
Olive is looking good. I think whether the number at PS is safe for you to shoot depends on if you can monitor her as long as necessary. A lot of people here shoot anything over 50. However, since your reduction point is 65, you'll need to take that into consideration and not shoot below 65.
 
Olive is looking good. I think whether the number at PS is safe for you to shoot depends on if you can monitor her as long as necessary. A lot of people here shoot anything over 50
Thank you! I've spent the day watching her numbers and mulling over what I want to do. I DID set her reduction point at 65 so at the morning's cycle I reduced her to .09 on the caliper and she had dipped to 58+2 after having done it. Still, I held at .09 for the PM cycle to see if her body would balance out before automatically dropping her again. I shot at 98 and she's only dropped 7 points in 3 hours. I'm going to hold at this reduction amount and see how she does.
he lime green at 67 is if you're using a meter calibrated for pets.
I just noticed my SS shows the 50 and below as lime green starting on 8/30 when a fellow member set my colors up on there, but for some reason I've had the pet meter's 68 and below etched in my head as lime green. Even though the changes were made on 8/30, the SS is still automatically entering the color as lime green. Is there a way to fix this without having to manually go in and change things when she hits 50 or below? Also, I'm having a glitch with those colors. On the PM cycle of the 21st it keeps turning lime green no matter what I do to override it, so the only way I could keep it the lagoon green was to write something out instead of just using the number. Which is crazy, since the 58 she hit this morning stuck at lagoon green and didn't turn lime at all and it was even lower.
A lot of people here shoot anything over 50
Wow! Knowing this, and knowing when I'll be home to watch her more closely, maybe I should have stuck at the .12 cuz she's been doing so well. Although she still dipped to 58 and the .09 reduction, so maybe I should just stay here a bit and see what happens. The "idea" of her reaching into the 50's scares me, even though logically I know non diabetic cats stay in the 50-80 range as a norm. I can't begin to imagine shooting when she's in the 50's. Shooting at 79 this morning I thought the world would end. lol. I just told myself I'd been slowly walking myself down to shooting lower and lower numbers and I'd never know unless I tried.
 
Wow! Knowing this, and knowing when I'll be home to watch her more closely, maybe I should have stuck at the .12 cuz she's been doing so well. Although she still dipped to 58 and the .09 reduction, so maybe I should just stay here a bit and see what happens. The "idea" of her reaching into the 50's scares me, even though logically I know non diabetic cats stay in the 50-80 range as a norm. I can't begin to imagine shooting when she's in the 50's. Shooting at 79 this morning I thought the world would end. lol. I just told myself I'd been slowly walking myself down to shooting lower and lower numbers and I'd never know unless I tried.
If you're going to do that, you should switch to TR. Otherwise stick with shooting over 65, your reduction number.
 
Back
Top