11/22 Nico amps- 92, +1- 180, +2- 169, pmps- 427, +3- 316

Congratulations on your first green shot! Whohooo!
And it's a weekend day, so hopefully easy to monitor!
I think you deserve the BOS award already, not sure who can give that though!
 
Congratulations on your first green shot! Whohooo!
And it's a weekend day, so hopefully easy to monitor!
I think you deserve the BOS award already, not sure who can give that though!
What a BOS award?
And thank you. I was right in keeping his same dose though, right? I'm having trouble with the whole.... Yes it's low, but THIS is the dose he does well on and works!😅
Very nervous, but hanging in there. Wendy asked me to get a +1 when his numbers were below 300, but I think that was last week. Should I still try for that? If it's not important, I'll probably just do 2&4 and maybe one between that and pmps. I don't know, just winging it here. 🤣
 
Ok, yet more questions after re-reading the Be Data Ready thread.
It says if your cat isn't a food spiker. How would I know? From the start I was told to feed at +2 & +4. His nadir seems to be +4 and I've been feeding him as above from the beginning. I am new to this, but he seems to rise and then at +5 you see the numbers start going down again.
Also says stall if your cat doesn't go down typically after his shot from amps numbers. My cat doesn't go down & has an early nadir. So at what point do I not stall? He was 92 this morning. Should I not have shot so soon and tested him at some other point first?
Great, just when I think I'm getting the hang of this.
And I took a test at +1 and his numbers doubled.:(
Is this yet another bounce? Thanks 😔
 
Congratulations on shooting your first green, Tyleete! You’ve earned the coveted BOS award!
1763819667948.png
 
What a BOS award?
And thank you. I was right in keeping his same dose though, right? I'm having trouble with the whole.... Yes it's low, but THIS is the dose he does well on and works!😅
Very nervous, but hanging in there. Wendy asked me to get a +1 when his numbers were below 300, but I think that was last week. Should I still try for that? If it's not important, I'll probably just do 2&4 and maybe one between that and pmps. I don't know, just winging it here. 🤣
I guess you found out what BOS award is. I'm still wondering how you get to give one :D
Regarding tests, I think it depends a little on what Nico does usually. With Blue, I did not test +1 much, but +2 and +3 were almost always revealing in case of an active cycle.
As for the dose, I'm in no way an expert to advise on dosing, but I'm not seeing anything wrong if you're following TR.

Ok, yet more questions after re-reading the Be Data Ready thread.
It says if your cat isn't a food spiker. How would I know? From the start I was told to feed at +2 & +4. His nadir seems to be +4 and I've been feeding him as above from the beginning. I am new to this, but he seems to rise and then at +5 you see the numbers start going down again.
Also says stall if your cat doesn't go down typically after his shot from amps numbers. My cat doesn't go down & has an early nadir. So at what point do I not stall? He was 92 this morning. Should I not have shot so soon and tested him at some other point first?
Great, just when I think I'm getting the hang of this.
And I took a test at +1 and his numbers doubled.:(
Is this yet another bounce? Thanks 😔
You know with experience. You can see this during a normal flat cycle, how much the increase is when you feed some LC or some MC. Or when he goes low and you have to feed and test every 30 or so minutes. This way you also know how long the increase will last, this is different between LC, MC or HC.
It could be another bounce or it could be double dipping on this cycle when coming of the previous bounce. Blue also did this, when we went lowest at the end of the cycle, but usually at PMPS.
What you are missing though is some tests in the PM cycle. This is when Blue went the lowest most of the time, and luckily we has so hungry that he was keeping us awake so I just tested him if he woke us up.
 
I guess you found out what BOS award is. I'm still wondering how you get to give one :D
Regarding tests, I think it depends a little on what Nico does usually. With Blue, I did not test +1 much, but +2 and +3 were almost always revealing in case of an active cycle.
As for the dose, I'm in no way an expert to advise on dosing, but I'm not seeing anything wrong if you're following TR.


You know with experience. You can see this during a normal flat cycle, how much the increase is when you feed some LC or some MC. Or when he goes low and you have to feed and test every 30 or so minutes. This way you also know how long the increase will last, this is different between LC, MC or HC.
It could be another bounce or it could be double dipping on this cycle when coming of the previous bounce. Blue also did this, when we went lowest at the end of the cycle, but usually at PMPS.
What you are missing though is some tests in the PM cycle. This is when Blue went the lowest most of the time, and luckily we has so hungry that he was keeping us awake so I just tested him if he woke us up.
I try hard to pack it in just after 11pm, that's why the lack of tests. My husband wakes me up by 5:45 and I get up out of bed around 6:30 to start the day. I really don't want to be up past midnight if I can help it.
If it's not just his double dip (mine usually does this at night too), and his +2 is usually lower than his his Amps, is it still ok to give him a regular dose? I'm guessing his rocket to 180 way him bouncing again after early this morning.
 
If you happen to be awake for any reason, just take a test, whatever time it is. Does your husband also test? Maybe he can start, if he doesn't. My wife also learned to do that, especially when he was waking us up during the night. Is he crying for food, or whatever reason, and we're awake? Ok, let's prick them ears.
I don't see myself qualified to give any dosing advice, and ultimately it's up to you to decide. But if you were to fully follow the TR protocol I see no reason yet for which you would decrease the dose at this point as it does not look to me that Nico has earned a reduction.
Remember, we don't look for pre-shot values like with other insulin (like ProZinc or Vetsulin/Caninsulin) but for the lowest value that Lantus takes them during the cycle.
 
If you happen to be awake for any reason, just take a test, whatever time it is. Does your husband also test? Maybe he can start, if he doesn't. My wife also learned to do that, especially when he was waking us up during the night. Is he crying for food, or whatever reason, and we're awake? Ok, let's prick them ears.
I don't see myself qualified to give any dosing advice, and ultimately it's up to you to decide. But if you were to fully follow the TR protocol I see no reason yet for which you would decrease the dose at this point as it does not look to me that Nico has earned a reduction.
Remember, we don't look for pre-shot values like with other insulin (like ProZinc or Vetsulin/Caninsulin) but for the lowest value that Lantus takes them during the cycle.
Yeah, looking for the lowest values is hard though when he's having new numbers. :/
I think you might've hit the nail on the head there. PZ and Lantus are so different, and we started on PZ. So maybe that's why I'm having such issues?
I'm trying to t everything I've read and it's not the same for both. That being said, I have read the TR and TR data ready threads recently, and still don't understand how you actually 'earn' a reduction. And if he hits real close to the low point (which is 74 for my pet meter), would I skip or take some away? If I reduce some, how much?😬 I have read all the stuff and am still confused. I suppose it doesn't help that I'm still using my pet meter, but it's more accurate for an actual cat and I would rather spend more money right now, and get numbers I can count on. Once he's at good numbers, I'll see about switching.
And your have no idea how much I appreciate everyone's input. It seems I lost my original 'sponsor'. So I'm just relying on others to comment and give their opinions. So thank you.
Oh! And I'm the only one that can and will do this. My little Nico is so afraid of everything, that he won't let another pick him up without feeling the wrath of his murder mittens.😒And both my son & husband have already told me they won't do all this with the needles. Like it's fun for me either.🙄
 
But reductions are very easy to understand:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

You should adjust the numbers for your meter (which is why I think human meters are easier to use, since that is what the protocol was written for, many years ago) so that means, if I remember right, adding 18 - but don't take my word for it.

As for people answering, life hits everyone of us with various issues, we should not take anything for granted. If you feel you need help with anything add the question mark to your thread title, or the 911 if it's an emergency and I'm sure someone will be here for you to answer your questions.
 
But reductions are very easy to understand:



You should adjust the numbers for your meter (which is why I think human meters are easier to use, since that is what the protocol was written for, many years ago) so that means, if I remember right, adding 18 - but don't take my word for it.

As for people answering, life hits everyone of us with various issues, we should not take anything for granted. If you feel you need help with anything add the question mark to your thread title, or the 911 if it's an emergency and I'm sure someone will be here for you to answer your questions.
There's no clear way to adjust the numbers, or not that I've seen demonstrated between my pet and human or in reading. I only know in higher numbers the difference can be 100+.
I've had a few ask me why sometimes I write both on my chart. I am trying to get the hang of it for an eventual switch & curious how far off it is from my pet meter. Even in 300's, it can be nearly 100 off. :/ It's why did now I stay on the pet meter. Also why I said the pet meter ss should be redone. While it looks like mine is still not as low as he should be (in the low 100's) and officially in the blues, he's actually exactly where he should be in what would be greens for pet glucose meters. But that's just me.
Thanks for showing that again, and I'll try that. So if my boy goes 74 or lower, I'll take him back to 3.5 for that shot. Thank you. And I get people get busy. Most of the ones that have been here a while don't even still have diabetic cats, and I'm most grateful they stay to help newbies like me. 😁
 
Hi Tyleete!

Valentin has posted the information about reductions for a cat following TR. So, anytime Nico falls below 50 (this is during the first year following dx), he earns a .25 reduction. Alternatively, if Nico has a week of greens under 100, he earns a reduction.

Your spreadsheet is set up for a pet meter, so the numbers are "adjusted" for you.

In terms of testing when you have a lower than normal preshot number that you shoot, it's best to catch a +1/+2. I also catch a +3 because that's typical onset. The direction the cat is moving in at that point can signal how the cycle will go. If they are going up at +1/+2, then they might drop at bit at +3 (onset), but hopefully not too much. If they are moving downward at +1/+2, then you should be prepared to begin manipulating the curve with food--getting carbs on board so that when onset occurs, they don't drop too low (more on that here). Those carbs can be LC/MC/HC, depending on how carb sensitive Nico is.

Let's see if @Sienne and Gabby (GA) is around and she can speak more to your questions about your pet meter numbers.
 
PZ and Lantus are so different, and we started on PZ. So maybe that's why I'm having such issues?
Yes, this is a common phenomenon. You do have to learn to shoot lower numbers with Lantus. So glad you shot that green today. Well done.

Regarding reductions with TR, kitty earns a reduction if going below 50 if using a human meter, or under 68 if using a pet meter, when they are a newly diagnosed diabetic like Nico is. Or if they spend a week in solid green/normal numbers. You can look at Blue or Trixie's spreadsheet to see how that works.

What might help you with the pet or human meter question is to do some side by side comparisons in lower numbers. Who cares if they are far apart in high numbers, both are still "too high". It's low numbers which count and how we decide what a reduction has been earned. We have had very few people use the Advocate pet test meters, so not a lot of data to compare how it measures against even a more common pet meter like the AT.
 
Hi Tyleete!

Valentin has posted the information about reductions for a cat following TR. So, anytime Nico falls below 50 (this is during the first year following dx), he earns a .25 reduction. Alternatively, if Nico has a week of greens under 100, he earns a reduction.

Your spreadsheet is set up for a pet meter, so the numbers are "adjusted" for you.

In terms of testing when you have a lower than normal preshot number that you shoot, it's best to catch a +1/+2. I also catch a +3 because that's typical onset. The direction the cat is moving in at that point can signal how the cycle will go. If they are going up at +1/+2, then they might drop at bit at +3 (onset), but hopefully not too much. If they are moving downward at +1/+2, then you should be prepared to begin manipulating the curve with food--getting carbs on board so that when onset occurs, they don't drop too low (more on that here). Those carbs can be LC/MC/HC, depending on how carb sensitive Nico is.

Let's see if @Sienne and Gabby (GA) is around and she can speak more to your questions about your pet meter numbers.

What might help you with the pet or human meter question is to do some side by side comparisons in lower numbers. Who cares if they are far apart in high numbers, both are still "too high". It's low numbers which count and how we decide what a reduction has been earned. We have had very few people use the Advocate pet test meters, so not a lot of data to compare how it measures against even a more common pet meter like the AT.
Thanks! When my other cat was diagnosed back years ago, a diabetes site was the one that had suggested the Advocate one. Even showed a coupon to use, so knowing nothing, I went with that.
Yesterday I had 295 on the pet & 204 Relion amps. 376 on the pet day before & 280 Relion goes amps. But I will keep trying. I want the pet for myself, but understand it's also easier for those looking and trying to help me. I definitely need to get and keep those numbers down.
So if Nico had a solid week in green, he's to take the small reduction? That really works? I thought once they get to the proper dose for them, that's it and we need to be happy.😅
And to Mary, they're actually not accurate to pet meters. I liked online here and the alpha track says up to 150 is normal. My Advocate one is up to 120. I will probably switch to the Relion for the ss once I get his numbers in the green.
 
Hm...somebody needs to grab his pogo stick the next time he comes down.
Thanks! I needed that laugh.
I'm hoping by tomorrow he'll be doing better? But won't get too disappointed if not right away. And won't freak out unless it's real low in the morning. I don't need patient pants anymore, I need a security blanket!😅
 
The good news is that it is worth hanging onto this dose a little longer, since he's new to greens. Let's see what he does when he breaks this bounce.
 
The good news is that it is worth hanging onto this dose a little longer, since he's new to greens. Let's see what he does when he breaks this bounce.
I know I don't hadn't much experience with this yet, but hoping after seeing him in greens, maybe this is good? I'm going to try and get the Relion numbers as much as I can right now alongside his regular one. But even when I get enough blood, I'm still getting errors about half the time. But I'll continue to try.
 
Back
Top