11/22 Mr. Lump AMPS 126/+2 114/+4 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emma Troxell

Member Since 2021
If you need to skip again it might be better to shoot .10 so that he gets a shot every 12 hours even though a reduction hasn’t been earned.
 
If it doesn’t work out go back up. Don’t wait too long. Make a sample with a good syringe to use as your guide. Good luck. I’d rather see the .25 until a reduction is earned but skipping is a worse idea. He’s so close that you don’t want insulin resistance.
 
I’d rather see the .25 until a reduction is earned but skipping is a worse idea. He’s so close that you don’t want insulin resistance.
I agree. In fact, I think he may need more than 0.25U. There's no guarantee, but he's looking good and if you can be a little aggressive with dosing, you might just be able to get him OTJ.
 
would you suggest going back up to 0.5U? I know it is still not a lot but it is doubling the dose.
You have had only 6 cycles on 0.25U. Give it a while longer and see. I suggest following TR so that you can change doses faster and not take reductions at 90. He needs to spend time in the 50-100 range for his pancreas to heal. TR will let him do that.

In case you didn't see Comet's SS, linking it here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...6yIPSY39d_VFxn1rq2hmfl-YE/edit#gid=1182885903

Some more spreadsheets:
Belle - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1AlyR_Rpaig8lfhMdgxpC5tyDlUd2YcegjS12QOSA7X8/edit#gid=0
Oscar - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...7JcfOGpBhcYl32vzuwZX05IXpsBbvF7TWRC8t/pubhtml
Chico - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...7Cr_Xq64uZxfLNJvOfFAxEcqmVyqgVI9heGbA/pubhtml
 
Like I have said before I am not in a place to do TR. I work, I live alone, and I cannot 100% dedicate my entire life to monitoring my cat. While I would love to do what is best for him I also need to do what is best for me, because if I burn out or lose my job that would not be good for either me or my cat.
 
Like I have said before I am not in a place to do TR

Please don't take it personally if somebody mentions trying TR. It's just that when we see a cat with such a good chance at remission, we want to help them go all the way ASAP.

It's also impossible for everybody to remember the details about each caretaker's life. Why don't you add something like "SLGS...not interested in TR due to my own reasons" to your Signature. At least that may help reduce the number of times you hear about it.
 
I cannot mentally handle it. Sorry but I am going to take my vet's advice rather than random people on the internet who think they know more than actual vets.
 
Emma I am sorry you feel like this. We are not random people on the net. We are people who have in most case been here for years and we have all had our own diabetic cats and looked after them 24/7.
We only ever have the best interests of the cat when we post.
I agree that Mr Lump is looking good and with guidance could possibly go into remission.
Best of luck to you and Mr Lump. I hope you have a good vet who know a lot about feline diabetes.
 
I cannot mentally handle it. Sorry but I am going to take my vet's advice rather than random people on the internet who think they know more than actual vets.
Sorry you feel that way these are not random people, Some members have been giving advice for over 30 years, if I had listened to my vet about dosing Tyler would not be in remission today.
I showed my vet what and how I was dosing with the advice from the members here and she was amazed.
Good luck , I see you started the OTJ trial, with those numbers he's not ready for that yet at all. All the best
Most members here do know more than most vets
 
random people

I for one am so grateful to be one of those 'random people' on the internet. This group of random people literally saved Luci's life. My vet wanted to euthanize Luci - said FD was too difficult to manage in cats...If I'd listened to him I would have missed out on many years with Luci. Vets are notorious for giving bad advice. And 9 times out of 10 they are responsible for putting cats into hypo situations that end up in ER visits - if they're lucky...some do not survive the vets advice at all.

I had the same doubts - but the more I read here on this random internet site, the better I felt about saving Luci's life.

Hoping you'll return to this group of like minded people - we are not interested in earning a living doing this - we're interested in helping one another through a difficult process of caring for a treatable disease.
 
Thanks but again I’m going to be listening to my internal medicine specialist. I even sent her the forum and the dosing protocols and she does not agree with them. She said it can be dangerous to target a BG as low as 50 and like I said I will be listening to her since she is a medical professional. I agree he’s a bit high off the insulin. I’ll just have to see what my vet says when I send her his numbers after a week of monitoring.
 
My internist who is a diplomat in internal medicine and well respected said I managed Max’s fd better than any client in his over 30:years of practice. He showed my spreadsheet to his third year veterinary students. He handled Max’s many other issues. He respected my opinions and worked with me as a team. Due to years of chronic pancreatitis Max never went into remission but was tightly controlled. He never had a symptomatic hypo. I lost him to CHF.

I have seen people take cats off insulin too soon and when they return their cats go from .50 or 1.0 way up and some never achieve remission. I wish the best for your cat. I see you don’t have a spreadsheet link. Interesting. Good luck.
 
I don’t use it anymore because like I said he’s in remission. Has been four months. I check BG every so often to make sure he’s still good. Never over 100.
 
And yes, I felt I wanted to come back and say I didn’t need any of your spotty “medical” advice. Me and my vet are taking care of him just fine. He WAS ready for OTJ even when you all said no. Just had to prove my point.
 
Just so you all know mr lump is still in remission and doing just fine. Didn’t need you
Than maybe you shouldn't have come here in the first place and stayed with your internal specialist. I went back and read some of your old posts and members were giving you good advice when you asked about dosing and you took it.
I just don't see the need for you to be so rude now
We are always glad when a kitty goes into remission, so there was no need for you to be sarcastic . You just could have told us Lump was in remission
 
Last edited:
Than maybe you shouldn't have come here in the first place and stayed with your internal specialist. I went back and read some of your old posts and members were giving you good advice when you asked about dosing and you took it.
I just don't see the need for you to be so rude now
We are always glad when a kitty goes into remission, so there was no need for you to be sarcastic . You just could have told us Lump was in remission

Glad I didn't waste any more of my precious - and difficult to find - time on this one...LOL! Sometimes people can be so nasty...no need for that here...we got the message - she left the group. ok..buh bye...
 
The last time she posted was Nov of 2021, she said Mr Lump has been in remission for 4 months so 4 months is this March . I guess it was irking her and had to let us random people know when she said this email in one of her replies above. Lol

Sorry but I am going to take my vet's advice rather than random people on the internet who think they know more than actual vets.

This was even funnier when she said
I felt I wanted to come back and say I didn’t need any of your spotty “medical” advice. Me and my vet are taking care of him just fine. He WAS ready for OTJ even
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top