11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563; PMPS 527

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56988

Hope my link works now!

He was even lower today than yesterday! Since I will be at work all day, I did not give insulin. I hope this bounce figures itself out soon! I'm wondering if the new cartridge of insulin I started the other day is having an effect on this - combined with the eating ups/downs, and the antibiotics!!! Today is day 5 post-op....my vet wants me to keep him on the ab's for at least 10 days post-op. We have an appointment to see her again 14 days post-op to check on his healing.

Last night, he ate 1/2 of his food. He had good LB action overnight as well. His purring motor has been working more the past few days as well! He is turning into a nice cuddly sucky boy.....instead of his normal tempermental cranky old ways :-D :o
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88

could be a number of things - if he had an infection and pain, that could've elevated his BG. if your last insulin was no longer working and you started a new batch, that might explain things too.

either way, glad to hear he's happier (sounds like he was in pain) and his BG is lower. now the challenge is going to be finding a dose that you can shoot 12 hrs apart consistently without having to skip or stall doses.

enjoy your day at work!
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88

Gwen, your link to yesterday's condo works just fine. I hope Morris doesn't bounce from this very nice AMBG. It's a challenge to balance all you have going on with the ABs, new insulin, possible release from pain, etc. I hope you can find just the right dose for your " nice cuddly sucky boy"!
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88

Gwen,

You really need to get tests in the PM cycle. With the 88 this morning, who knows how low Morris went last night?

The 88 this morning also underscores what I posted in your condo yesterday. If you moved your shot time earlier, you would have the time to stall and test again to see which way Morris was going. Did you get any other tests? If not, who knows if he was on his way down or on his way up? I'm not a morning person either, and I have a daughter and a husband too....but when Mr T was on the juice, I got up earlier so that I had time in my schedule to accomodate his needs.

You really need to consider his safety. I don't think you understand the risk you are subjecting him to.
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

We need more options for our posting icons - would have liked to have added the surprised icon! He has eaten 1/2 of his food so far today.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Gwen,

You really need to get tests in the PM cycle. With the 88 this morning, who knows how low Morris went last night?

The 88 this morning also underscores what I posted in your condo yesterday. If you moved your shot time earlier, you would have the time to stall and test again to see which way Morris was going. Did you get any other tests? If not, who knows if he was on his way down or on his way up? I'm not a morning person either, and I have a daughter and a husband too....but when Mr T was on the juice, I got up earlier so that I had time in my schedule to accomodate his needs.

You really need to consider his safety. I don't think you understand the risk you are subjecting him to.
And you don't understand my life & the sacrifices I have made for this cat over the past 2 years. Having his PM dose around 6pm-7pm doesn't really work for me either. I am the only person in my family willing to test his BG, so if I'm not home the choices are shooting blind or not at all. That is a bigger risk, in my opinion, than me not being able to stall some mornings. Think of all the cats out there whose owners don't home test & do just fine with their diabetes. It was due to condesdening remarks like yours that made me leave this board before - I was hoping things had changed around here.

I love my cat dearly & I am doing the best I can to take care of him.
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

We are all here because we love our kitties. I think we are each doing the best we can. Providing information to someone in need of it is the greatest gift of this forum. But I think it is absolutely necessary that we respect the fact that the responsibilities of life weigh on each of us uniquely. We must provide the emotional support our partners in this very difficult journey need, in order to empower each to continue providing the best possible care for their sugar kitty. Words divorced from the inflection of voice are too easily misinterpreted, so we each have the responsibility to choose them carefully.
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

Linda for Weezer said:
We are all here because we love our kitties. I think we are each doing the best we can. Providing information to someone in need of it is the greatest gift of this forum. But I think it is absolutely necessary that we respect the fact that the responsibilities of life weigh on each of us uniquely. We must provide the emotional support our partners in this very difficult journey need, in order to empower each to continue providing the best possible care for their sugar kitty. Words divorced from the inflection of voice are too easily misinterpreted, so we each have the responsibility to choose them carefully.

Well said Linda.

Ouch on the +9!! Morris, please tell Mr Liver to chill out some!
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

Gwen,

I tend to be very direct. I have a limited amount of time to spend here, and I try to use it to the best effect possible. My goal is simple: to pass on the benefit of what I have learned from others before me...to pay it forward. I assume that anyone who is posting in LL every day is here for the primary goal of getting their kitty tightly regulated as quickly and safely as possible, and I try to help where I can. The TR protocol is aggressive and the testing that is suggested is intended to keep your cat safe.

You can ask any of the people who have been here for a while, I put the cat first and I make no apologies for that. That's what this forum is about....the cats! It's also a nice place to chat, but the primary purpose is to help the cats. I'm sorry if I have offended you, that is not my intention.....but I would rather offend you than have to see you post that you came home to your cat in severe hypo and had to rush him to the vet for emergency treatment.....or worse. I can link some examples for you if necessary...the risk is quite real. Morris' SS concerns me greatly, there are indications that he is hitting very low numbers and bouncing very hard. His liver can only protect him so long.

If you choose to be offended and leave, that's your choice.....I don't want to see that happen. But I will not sit by and watch you put your cat at risk and say nothing.....I can't! I'm very worried about Morris...the testing NEEDS to be done...period.

If you can't do the testing, then I urge you to reduce Morris' dose. It simply isn't safe to keep his dose where it is and not test....it's a recipe for disaster.
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

There are cats that die of hypos - they go low and can't be brought up with carbs. So Laurie was trying to impart the importance of evening tests to be safe.

Don't take people on the board personally. They are here to help, they care. So think where they are coming from. The written word comes across stronger sometimes.

I have a dog that has heart failure. I get up twice a night to give her medicine. It keeps her alive. I figure my time with her is borrowed and I can make up the sleep. I only lose twenty minutes or so a night.

I think Laurie did the responsible thing, and you would want her to input. And especially for people following along and learning it is important. We are in this sugar dance together. It is a community like no other - people care and they treat others cats as if they were their own. I wouldn't want it any other way.
 
I truly hope that you don't choose to leave, Gwen.

It's emotionally draining to be a caregiver...
sending you a cyberhug from Binkstown...

Celi
 
Re: 11/22 Morris AMBG 88; +9 563

I think Linda said it best...
Linda for Weezer said:
We are all here because we love our kitties. I think we are each doing the best we can..... But I think it is absolutely necessary that we respect the fact that the responsibilities of life weigh on each of us uniquely.
It was brought up yesterday if it was doable for me to change my shot times - I said I couldn't.
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
The TR protocol is aggressive and the testing that is suggested is intended to keep your cat safe.
Read what you wrote.......suggested

I am one of the few who is not looking at getting Morris off insulin - I would be quite happy giving him insulin twice per day every day for however many more years he is with us. He is an extremely loved member of this family!

Perhaps it is because I have an extreme amount of stress on my plate right now that things written are affecting me more right now than they might on a different day. I am just really annoyed at people who like to stand on their soap box & preach down to me - that is how I am feeling with what Laurie has said & how she has said it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top