Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +4.5/164
Jennifer,
You are doing a terrific job.
This is a "dosing question" for my education. I've been checking in on Jennifer's threads the past couple of days, and it is helping to understand the Lantus protocol somewhat, as well as what it is like to be a "newbie" with Lantus.
Regarding dose -
Had I been the only person online this morning, I would have (like you) asked her to stall for a little bit, and wait for a rising number, then shoot. But I don't understand why the dose remained at 1.5u? I would have, apparently incorrectly, suggested a dose of 1.0u. My reasoning -
Mikey doesn't have a "standard dose" yet. Prior to his fostering with Jenn, he was given 3u per shot, but haphazardly, no set schedule, no regular testing. Obviously not the right way to dose any insulin. Jenn started with a 1.5 dose. but has had a skipped shots, and a couple of "wait and shoot" shots, and a shot that was 5 hours late a couple days ago.
This mornng was a low PS. Yesterday he was flat, but higher all day. People have said that may have been "bouncing", but from what? He's only gone blue a couple of times, and he's had some really long surfs like on the 19th. I know there are not a bunch of tests that day, but the numbers he had on the 19th show an AMPS that was pink, and then what looks to be a slow decline for almost 30 hours, then a steep climb that ended up with a mid-cycle token dose shot. After that, a spike for some reason three hours later, then a drop for another unexplained reason 7 hours later (was that the nadir from the .5 token dose?), then an up down flattish (given variance) 8 hour ride, a food spike? at +2 yesterday morning. He goes down for another 10-13 hours, and gets 1.5 into a possibly rising number last night, but no surefire proof of that - (I understand you were guaranteed a rise due to feeding at that point). Then overnight, a decline/surf to this morning, another late shot, and a blue surf since then.
Again, I don't "get" how lantus works exactly. I know the nadir is more important than the PS's when determining dose. I know the curves are pretty much supposed to be flat. I don't get why 1.5 is still the right dose I guess. Can someone educate me? I also know that testing is encouraged, and that the more data you have, the more sense things make. But what does somebody who isn't at home all day and can't stay up all night do? I know with my job and my schedules, there's no way I would ever be able to effectively treat a kitty on Lantus. It just would be impossible. How do you all do it?
Thanks, and sorry for butting in again,
Carl