11/22 mikey PMPS 242 +2/256

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All! Just posting to see where we are heading today. I was supposed to give him a shot at 10:45. I will post his AMPS prior for advice depending on what his BG is.

Here is yesterday's condo link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56946 (for some reason I feel this is posted incorrectly, can someone advise)
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMBG 183 @ 6:05

Good morning!

A question: Mikey's AMBG 183 @ 6:05 is how many hours since his last shot? For instance, if you took his PMPS reading and then shot @ say, 10:05 p.m. yesterday, posted AMBG of 183 would be 8 hours since his last shot, or +8. So your subject line should read PMPS 183 +8.

We are all in different time zones and different countries so it's helpful to know how many hours have passed since the last shot, rather than the actual time, then we know where he is in the cycle. By now you have probably read a lot about nadir, which is the lowest # in a 12 hour cycle, which for most cats usually occurs at +6, the halfway point of the cycle, 6 hours after any given shot.

Insulin dose is usually based on nadir, not on pre-shot numbers.

Please do post his pre-shot # ahead of time before you shoot and post as you have been doing.

Welcome to the best place ever!

You are doing great and Mikey is very lucky to have you! Love the sink pic on FB!
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMBG 183 @ 6:05

Good morning ~O) ~O) ~O)

That's a lovely number - good job testing. Now, when you get your AMPS (which will actually be +12.25 from your last shot) we will know if Mikey is going up or down.

Housekeeping item - Please modify you condo header - since you shot at 10:35p, then your 6:05am number is "PMPS+7.5/183" in other words it's 7 and 1/2 hours since the last shot.
Since there are folks around here from different time zones all over the world, we express time in + hours since the last shot. Makes things easier.

I'll be at work at 10.45a eastern, however I should be able to look in on you.

How is Mikey feeling today? appetite good? Try and get a ketone check - when they are lurking about you can never get too many ketone tests!

One thing I thought of was when my BK was throwing ketones, I used to bring the strip out to a window and look at it under daylight.
It was easier to see that way - the artificial light in the bathroom made it difficult to see if it was trace or negative.
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMBG 183 @ 6:05

So far, what it looks like the numbers are telling you is that Mikey is coming down into some good ranges (i.e., below 200). Those blue numbers are below renal threshold. The pinks and reds are likely bounces. Mikey isn't used to being in lower, better ranges and his liver overreacts by dumping a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones which spike his numbers up. This is a normal reaction. It can take up to 72 hours for that bounce to clear although so far it seems like it may be taking Mikey less time than that to clear a bounce.
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMBG 183 @ 6:05

Thanks for clearing up how to log the numbers. It was confusing because this morning's # was done on a new day but should be on last nights +8 line. (I corrected his SS to reflect the few BG's I wasn't sure how to log) I got it now ;)

Mikey is doing great! I did manage to get a ketone test and it was more to the negative/trace color. The next time I do it I will take your advice and look at the strip outside.

I am going to test him at about 10:30am (PMPS +12) and post the BG to then get advice on what to do.

We tried to post his picture here but the file is too big. Once we get a minute to play with that I will post it. I also have a video of him that I need to post online. He is safe here and I will keep him as long as I need to but he is up for adoption.
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126 @10:34

Ok....I think you need to stall a bit and see if he is coming up. This would be a dropping number and you don't have enough data yet to shoot a dropping number. I know you want to get him on 11 am/11pm for shooting.

The other option is you can shoot a reduced dose ...say 1u but you must be able to monitor him very closely. I'm not going to be here today to help you so let me see if I can find someone. Let's recheck him at 11 and see what he's doing and then we can decide ok?
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126 @10:34

Hi Jennifer,

I'll be around, on and off, today. I can be here for the next 3 hours at least.

I see the 126, can you stall for 15 minutes and get another test? Please don't feed while you are stalling. I would not skip the shot...with ketones in the picture, you will want to shoot at least some insulin.

Do you have plenty of test strips, HC food, and will you be able to monitor him closely? I know you have a vet appointment today...how long before you have to leave?

How long can you stall before it makes a mess of your schedule? Remember that you need to shoot 12 hours from whenever you shoot this morning.
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

I'm not worried about his schedule right now. I can always adjust that later on down the road. Right now I just am concerned about him and what is best for him. SInce I work from home I have the luxury to fit into his schedule right now as it seems that is what is needed.

I will test him again at 11am. Just want to also note the last time he ate was at 6am and it was almost 1/2 a can. I know he is hungry now because he went into his "spot" to "beg".
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

Jennifer: Julie is going to help you today. I've got to get going to doctor and work. We do not want to entirely skip a shot with Mikey so you'll have to shoot something this morning. Julie will help you work through that.
She's taking care of her cat right now so just post his number that you get at 11 (it would be your +12.25); she'll be right along.

Here is your yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56946
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

I agree with Marjorie, recheck in 15 mins and see if you get a good rise.
Do not feed as it may artificially inflate the BG number.

I will likely not be around much today - unfortunately my office internet is down due to a Verizon outage in the area.
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

i'm around this morning and it sounds like laurie is too - so we've got ya covered. i think your shot time is in 4 minutes or so - post the next number and we'll check in on you.

you're doing such a great job! yes, mikey is lucky to have you!
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

BIG PROBLEM! MY FIANCE JUST FED HIM! I DIDN'T KNOW. NOW WHAT????
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126

WITH MIKEY EATING 1/4 CAN WITHIN THE PAST 10 MINUTES HIS BG # IS 123
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

It's ok, keep stalling. It's probably too soon for the food to have much effect. I'd get another test in 15 minutes, see where he's at then.

When do you need to leave for the vet?
 
Re: 11/22/11 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

mmm, ok. so did i see that you'll be around for the next 6ish or more hours to monitor? and you've got the strips and supplies? if the answer is yes on those questions, i'd go ahead and shoot the regular dose. he's surfing.

when the cat drops low and we give high carb foods to bring up their BG, it usually takes at least 10 minutes, more like 15-20 to show up in a test. so i think mikey has stopped dropping and is ok to shoot. we don't want to risk ketones.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

so... I am getting another test at 11:15 posting the BG# and waiting for the next step.

I will be home all day. My fiance will bring my other cat to the vet.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

I would stall a bit longer....you will need to shoot some insulin, but you want to be sure he isn't dropping.

ETA: Nice that your fiance can help out! :smile:
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

i noticed on mikey's ss that you have a note a couple of days ago that you added water to mikey's food. you can just do that all the time now. it's the only home remedy for dealing with small amounts of ketones, so for cats that aren't regulated yet it's a good habit.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

BG 133 at 11;20am (not sure + what hour it is now, i think +13?)
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

It's about +12.8...doing fine.

That 133 reflects the food you fed, so that's not a significant rise. I would prefer to continue to stall for a bit longer...you've never shot this low and you have the flexibility.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

When you say stall a bit longer should I test again in 15 min, 1/2 hour, hour?
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

Hi guys, no advice but you've got laurie and julie to help with that .. just wanted to say you're doing great! have a great day!
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

we're still trying to get you shooting fairly soon. i think give it 15-20 minutes and retest and repost the new number. as soon as it gives a rise we want you to shoot.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

Ok, I would shoot. Give him the full dose, 1.5u. You will want to watch his numbers closely.....start out with a +1, post your number. The 140 is his AMPS.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

You can feed him more if you want to. Did he eat his usual amount before? It's fine to give him small amounts of food frequently, that actually is better than feeding big meals spaced very far apart.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

also I do work from home so I have been in and out of my work programs and LL. Can someone help me with the "housekeeping" and his SS?

Laurie, you said 140 is his AMPS so how do I "fix" the SS to reflect that without deleting the other number(s)? I know the housekeeping is important for all those who are helping me, but there is so much I am learning and trying to figure out (while working) that I can't seem to focus on that. I also don't want to take too much time right now and risk having my job effected
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

For the condo link: You need to click on the URL button above the text box, the paste the link between, like this: LINK[url] For the SS...you can l...nediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56946
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

i like to highlight that box as well - when you've got more than one number in the cell it won't automatically color it. there's an A at the top of the spreadsheet that will color in the box. leave your cell highlighted, then click that A and click on a blue. your current cell will turn blue.

for the run of stalled numbers, i usually leave them in the amps cell and just stack them up so it would be

126 123
133 140

then color the cell blue. you'll know later what happened as long as the numbers are somewhere there.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

also, don't be surprised if he bounces from this. it's lower than he's used to and he likely will go straight up in numbers for a while. if he does, you hold the dose even though the numbers are high. the high numbers yesterday and the day before were both bounces. looks like he cleared both of those in less than a day, which is awesome. eventually they settle down and the bounces will become less frequent. at least that's what we hope! some of our kitties are very bouncy ones!
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

BG 172

I haven't had the time to fix all the housekeeping items. I'm getting a little behind in work.
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

nice!

so if you'd like to update your subject line that shows on the main page, it would be

11/22 mikey amps 140 +1/172

my bet is on a bounce. whadda ya think?
 
Re: 11/22 Mikey AMPS 126/ BG 123 +12.25

It could be a bounce, too soon to be sure. I try not to read too much into one test. It easily could be a rise from the last shot waning and the next shot not kicking in yet.

Please get a +2, that will give us more info. You're doing great, Jennifer!
 
Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +1/170

A bounce is the body's protective response to BG that is lower than what Mikey is used to, or a fast drop in BG. The liver dumps a stored form of glucose and couterregulatory hormones to boost the BG up and prevent hypoglycemia. It is a normal part of the sugar dance....as the cat gets used to lower numbers, the bounces will go away....some cats stop bouncing suddenly, some take a loooong time (like Mr T). You don't need to do anything different in response to the bounces, they will clear naturally in time....it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +1/170

ah, you caught my mistake. i tried to catch it before you saw it. your +1 was actually a 172 - i wrote 170 at first.

i was guessing he's headed for a bounce based off of the past 4 days. on the night of the 19th mikey had numbers in the 120's/130's, then the morning of the 20th he rose up over 400 - and pretty much stayed in higher numbers til last night with the 183 and 126 this morning. of course he might not bounce. at some point they get used to the lower numbers and mostly stop bouncing with them.

a bounce is when the cat's body has become accustomed to a particular range of numbers. if the body drops lower than it's used to, the liver thinks the cat is in danger of hypoglycemia (even though the numbers don't need to be even close to that range) and the liver lets loose stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones to save the cat's life. "here mikey, you're a little low, have a candy bar and raise that BG." the bounce happens from that lower-than-used-to number and the release of the sugars/hormones causes the numbers to go straight up for hours - could be a day, could be up to 3 days. then the body settles down, the sugars/hormones are cleared, and you start seeing lower numbers again. you can also have a bounce from a sudden fast drop in BG numbers.
 
Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +1/170

There was also a skipped shot and a token dose, and another skipped shot...so that data is not so clear.

I need to leave for an appointment now....Julie is here and will be able to help you....thanks Julie! :-D I'll check in later on.
 
Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +1/172

Looking good!
(got my office internet connection back)

So you learned about what to do when faced with a +12 lower than your +7 or 8 today - stalling for a rise.
And DF has been advised in future not to feed if you are stalling. . . ;-)

So, you shot at +13.5 this morning (noon), 1.5 hours late due to stall. If you need to work back to 11:00 am/pm shot times, you can safely do so in increments.
Either 30 mins early every other cycle (once per 24 hours) or 15 mins each cycle, until you work back to 11:00.

Will be watching for your +2.
 
Re: 11/22 mikey amps 140 +2/190

looking great!

i think if i were you, i'd get another check in about 2 hours. wouldn't that be about +5 for you?

how does that sound? tell me what time works for you and i'll be back to check with you then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top