11/22 Leo PMPS 139, +2 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56955

Mornin LL and Happy Tuesday!

It seems Leo was feeling a bit punky yesterday, he didn't eat all that great and now that I've turned into a worrywart I was watching his every single move. I decided to try the pepcid, so I gave him a quarter of a 10mg pill and he perked right up and ate quite a bit. I could only find the chicken pill pockets so that's what I gave him the pepcid in. I looked everywhere for this duck ones but no luck. Does anyone know what the carb content of the chicken PP are? Plus what is the dosing for pepcid? BID? Or just once a day?

We had a good test, shoot and excellent feed this morning. Looks like I'll increase his dose tonight if he doesn't do anything spectacular today. BTB for us both. Will check in later!
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180

Hi Tracy, not a bad AMPS for free feeder Leo :-D, but I know you want lower numbers. I just read your comments in my condo on our kitties both being free feeders. Yay for the Pepcid helping Leo's tummy. I'm not sure of the dosing of Pepcid for kitties, but someone wiill be along. Enjoy your btd with Leo and have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180

Great start for Leo! Yellow seems to be le couleur du jour. We give Zener 2.5 mg once a day (1/4 of a 10 mg tablet). Seems to have really helped his appetite.
Liz
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180

Hi guys .. glad to hear with a little bit of pepcid leo was eating better for you .. This is a nice solid blue start to the day .. perhaps green later on leo? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180

Good Mprning, I'm sorry that Leo was feeling off yesterday, no idea what the carbs are for the pill pockets, just that they are higher. on the Pepcid 1/4 pill BID, if needed. But if he starts eating again you could just give it the once.

I'm glad tha package finally got there. Try the Feline Future premix. Tess finds that more appealing than the from scratch. look at Tess's SS there is a tab for TCfeline , toward the end there is a green section where I worked out the amounts of everything for small batches, you do need a scale. When we made this last batch we put the thighs in a preheated oven, 450º for 10 minutes. Even that may have been a little too long. Next time just 5 minutes.
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180, +3 144

I hope Leo is back to his normal self today. His numbers are looking pretty good, though still not his "normal." He'll get there, though!!!

BTW...Champ's food is made with the TCFeline and he devours the stuff, absolutely loves it!!

Hope you have a great day, Tracy!!
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180, +3 144

There is corn syrup in the chicken ones, but they're so small it shouldn't effect BG much. Before they came out with the duck ones, I used the chicken ones but I would break them in half (you really only need half of one anyway) and it was fine. It's sugar instead of carbs, so it clears quickly.

Another option is little bit of American cheese--Gabby stopped eating each flavor of pill pockets so I used cheese rolled in tuna/turkey/salmon/sardines/ect. to give her pills and it worked well for quite some time. It's just as malleable as the pill pockets, and most cats like cheese (Gabby happened to LOVE it).
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180, +3 144

He seems to feel much better today, he's eaten a can of Sophisticat and about a quarter a can of Wellness Turkey so far today. I think part of the problem is he's very picky now, i knew he was hungry but he wouldn't eat the Wellness without fortiflora this morning. He eats the Sophisticat just fine but its 8% and i'd rather he eat less than 4%. 'll watch him though and if he starts feeling yucky again i'll dose him with some more pepcid. Good to know about the pill pockets, i only gave him a half a PP last night with the pepcid and he didn't even chew it! Gobbled it up!

I'm planning on making my second batch of kitty fuds on Thursday with the TCfeline, i don't want to buy a grinder just yet so i'll use my magic bullet or my mom's food processor WITHOUT the bone. Thanks for the cooking info Ann, i'm gonna try the 450 for 5 minutes.

Totally OT, but i think i have a spider bite, where i got it from? I have no idea, could have been from work, my parents place or my place. I haven't seen spiders at any of those places. Its on the backside of my thigh and its really starting to hurt....like to the point where it hurts to sit down, its red and swollen, but not itchy. Of course my doctor is all booked up for the week, so if its getting any worse by tomorrow i'll have to go to a walk in clinic somewhere. :roll:
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180, +3 144, +5 74

My darn cat must be reading his condo again! Just cause I mention more juice tonight he goes green! :mrgreen:

I'm going to a walk in clinic today. My bite is hurting more and more by the minute. :sad:
 
Re: 11/22 Leo AMPS 180, +3 144, +5 74

well, if that's all ittakes ……keep talking! :lol: :lol: I hope you don't have too long a wait at the clinic. Good idea to have it looked at though.
 
Re: 11/22 Leo PMPS 139

I went out and bought a few new cans of fuds for Leo, i found the Wellness Core Chicken & Turkey and fed it to him for supper, does anyone know the carb content? He loved it, but then again he probably won't eat it tomorrow. :roll:

I didn't end up going to the doctor today, i popped a benadryl and fell asleep, my bite feels about the same, still hurts.
 
Re: 11/22 Leo PMPS 139

Nice green for Leo today. Of course he read the condo so hopefully the threat worked! Hope the pepcid helped and he is feeling better tonight.

Be sure to get your leg looked at. I don't know what kind of spiders you have there but it isn't good if it hurts. Healing vines for your leg and Leo's tummy.

Thanksgiving is Thursday so lots to do! My sister and DSIL get here tomorrow. Mason is home but he and DH leave to go deer hunting tomorrow at 3 am and will get back Thursday around noon. It's really great guy time for them.

Have a wonderful evening!!
 
Re: 11/22 Leo PMPS 139

Well i've been reading a bit on spider bites, we don't have the scary spiders up here like the brown recluse or black spider (can't remember the exact name). Plus i read that if a spider bite is going to be one of the "scary" bites it'll do the most damage in the following 24 hours. When i first noticed i had the bite it was Saturday, and today is Tuesday.........all i'm doing is making excuses right now, is it working for anyone??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Leo is feeling great, there was a point where he was sleeping this afternoon and i freaked out and gave him another dose of pepcid, i don't think he needed it cause he just kept sleeping, and when he was done he got up and ate :roll: Why have i turned into such a worrywart ????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top