Mary & Jude
Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-21-jude-amps-373-pmps-380-2-341-4-250.295879/
Have a good Friday, everyone!
Have a good Friday, everyone!
Christie, should I have held him at the dosage for seven days even when his numbers were so high? The vet said six cycles, so I was going with three days. What are your thoughts given that we didn't start him at a very high dose (we started him at .25).You’re welcome. Thank you for being open to some feedback, although it’s also meant as general clarification about the SLGS dosing guideline to those folks out there who perhaps read and don’t post for help about their kitties themselves.
Good question, I think given that Jude went into remission so quickly, and it looks like an infection brought him out of remission, I might have given him a starting dose as if he were a newly diagnosed cat. I’ve seen a few members with kitties who have come out of remission ease back into it, so while 0.25u might have been a little low to start, it looks like you didn’t stick around there for too long.
As for more recently, he did get to mid 150s on 2.25 units on the pm cycle of Nov.20th, and otherwise we didn’t see any tests during the other cycles other than preshots. So from that aspect, it’s hard to say we know how low the 2.25u dose was taking him.
It’s often the case that kitties who fall out of remission are harder to get back to remission, so I do understand wanting to achieve better numbers as quickly as possible, it’s just a good reminder than you want to have the right number of tests in addition to preshots to be sure that Jude isn’t sneaking into greens somewhere then bouncing.
Is he still dealing with a UTI or has that completely resolved now? It may explain the continued higher numbers if he’s not quite over the UTI.
If you are primarily following the vet’s advice on increases and dosing, that’s okay, you may just want to make note of that.
Hope this helps.