11/22 Dashers AMPS 54 +24 , 68+27 , 77 +36

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Ok its been 24 hours since his last shot of 0.1 and he's at 54. I know its best to shoot twice a day but his number are low and the PM shots I wont be up to monitor him. I expected to she a higher AMPS number but no . This is why I get stresses because I don't know what to do, if I shoot him he's going to drop or at least I would think. I will be home until 4:00pm this would be his +6 mark if I did shoot.
 
Re: 11/22 Dashers AMPS 54 +24 ....??

Ugh, that is a bit low to shoot. I think I'd skip and see how the day goes. Can you get another test a few hours after breakfast?
 
Re: 11/22 Dashers AMPS 54 +24 ....??

Wendy&Neko said:
Ugh, that is a bit low to shoot. I think I'd skip and see how the day goes. Can you get another test a few hours after breakfast?

I will, he just ate so I"ll wait a few hours and retest. Dasher seems to be dashing to become OTJ although I'm not sure he's ready to try. I agree with keeping him on the new dose for the seven days as I want him to have the best chance to go in remission and stay there.
Thanks again Wendy .
 
Re: 11/22 Dashers AMPS 54 +24 ....??

Robin

I'm sorry to ask this because I know you've probably addressed it but is there any way at all to get just one test at night before you go to bed?
 
Re: 11/22 Dashers AMPS 54 +24 ....??

Marje and Gracie said:
Robin

I'm sorry to ask this because I know you've probably addressed it but is there any way at all to get just one test at night before you go to bed?

His PMPS number is right before I go to bed, I got him on the schedule of checking his BG , feeding and shooting right before bedtime. I will make it a point to stay up later one night to do so if his PMPS is too low to shoot. I was surprised by this mornings number since we skipped last night shot. I don't like skipping any shots but if you take a look at his SS he has had less pm shots then more. This is where I get all funky feeling.
Thanks
 
Hi Robin,

I'm responding to your PM here.

Robin-S said:
When you have time can you take a look at Dashers SS. Some are telling me to go off the juice to see if he can hold his own . I'm not sure what I should be doing. As much as it would be nice to give it a go I don't want to hurt his chance of going into remission by starting too soon.
Thanks,
Robin.
Honestly, I don't think it's too soon at all. You're only shooting a drop every 24-36 hours anyway, and he's maintaining in the 50s even so. I doubt Dasher will even miss that bit of insulin. I don't think there would be any harm if you wanted to continue for a few more days, but I really don't see any reason why you should. I think Dasher is more than ready.

Here are the "OTJ Trial Instructions:"

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
in response to your PM:

i think it's time to take the training wheels off to see if Dasher can do this all by himself.
i think he can!

libby gave you the OTJ Trial instructions...
GOOD LUCK!!! :mrgreen:
 
Jill & Alex (GA) said:
in response to your PM:

i think it's time to take the training wheels off to see if Dasher can do this all by himself.
i think he can!

libby gave you the OTJ Trial instructions...
GOOD LUCK!!! :mrgreen:


Ok...here we go..... :shock:
 
Thanks everyone....dasher and I couldn't of gotten this far without all of you guidance and support. Dashers has a few Godmothers here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top