11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116, +6-148, pmps-345

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56

Wow. The change in food sure makes a difference. I can't believe he was on 11 units before :shock:
Casey will be feeling so much better under your care, so glad you took him in :-D
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

It's been a day already and I'm not even to noon yet. lol

DH didn't inform me until the alarm went off an hour later than normal that because of the cold/snow/ice that work was starting an hour later. (He's a commercial roofer). So instead of morning starting at 5:40 today it started at 6:40.

So off to a flying start to get 2 cats tested and shots ready, feed 16cats, 1 drooler and a husband. Then Casey hands me a 59 and Autumn a 34. Okay both get dose reduction. Then Arabella has a petite mal seizure, so time to see about adjusting her Pheno barb dose now that she's growing up.

And somehow still got out the door in time to get DH to work on time and recycling cashed in and dishes all done before needing to test both sugarcats again at +3 lol

Mel and The Zoo
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

whew! Busy morning for you and the crew! I don't have words for the change in Casey's dose @-) I'm so glad he found his way to your home so he can start to feel better. Good luck on both reductions!
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

I'm really happy with how far he's come in such a short time already, even with less than ideal conditions for him meeting the crew. Normally he'd still be crated and meeting everyone from a safe distance, but when I ageed to take him I was planning on Mariposa joining the family 4 days before. Since she is a wee thing and needs to gain so badly she got dibs on the foster area, plus honestly Casey wouldn't have fit anyhow. He's cramped in the bathroom as it is, but that also means I can't isolate him either. As the way our house is built the only doors are on the bathroom and our bedroom, but if I shut those the rest of the house freezes.

Even with 14 overly friendly cats in his face, he's already starting to unfold and relax. Actually had to hunt for him last night to get a +6 because he was off exploring and had decided the drooler made a warm comfy place for a nap. lol Found him sleeping on top of King, good thing King is one of the few things here that is bigger than Casey.

Mel and The Zoo
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

OMG Mel. I am exhausted just reading this. I can barely get myself up and dressed and out the door.

You woke up to a 34 and a 56 :o How low did SHE go. I don't know Autumns story but yes, it looks like she screamed for a reduction.

This poor guy was SO overdosed. If he is throwing those numbers amidst the stress of new environment and that zoo of beasts he does not know...it just breaks your heart what he must have been feeling like all this time. He may have been eating more just to counteract too much insulin too. Once his insulin levels get corrected and he regulates, he may eat more normally and lose weight just from that.

LOVE that he laid on KING..so adorable. So is he sleeping at night in the bathroom or integrated in with the herd already? Just all so amazing for a cat who has only lived with one other cat.

BTW..balls of steel on the 56. Sounds like you won't have a problem him eating if he needs to. Can't wait to hear about his continued progress.
I just LOVE orange boys!
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

Wow...a few days in, and we've got reducies, awesome numbers, and BFFs with the drooler. Casey, you hit the jackpot!!!
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116

:-D :-D :-D What a great report! Casey certainly has made himself at home. Hope you have some time for an R&R moment today, Mel! :lol:

Carry on!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116, +6-148

Lol nah the Balls of steel was shooting the 34 but Autumn and I have been dance partners for two years so I pretty much know where she'll head. As well as her nadir and her preshots are one and the same, so doubt she dropped much lower or she would have been slapping her dish across the bedroom and it would have been licked clean. This morning she was definitely ready for breakfast since my nose only got a brief sanding instead of the normal 5 minute snuggle fest and skin removal. But her dish even still had some scraps left in it.

She's a funny girl, once I get Casey straightened out, I'll fill y'all in on her back story. As well as the rest of the zoo. All are rescues except Bert and most were slated to be euthanized because they were " unadoptable" Sure glad no one ever told them that. lol

Mel and The Zoo
 
Re: 11/22 Casey amps-56,+3-116, +6-148

Quite the busy day Mel. I hope the rest of it was less dramatic. Good to see those sub renal threshold numbers on Casey. :-D

A note to any newer people reading this. We would never recommend shooting a 34. Like Autumn, my Neko also is on Levemir and often nadirs at PS, but sometimes not. With a later onset of Levemir you have time to bring the cat up, but even the experienced people here don't shoot under 50 as there is no room for error. Mel, however, knows her Autumn upside down and sideways and has been doing this gig for two years with her.
 
Thanks Wendy :-)

I should have added yeah I did but this is because Autumn and I have 2 YEARS of testing data between us. And much like Casey I adopted her as a diabetic who hadn't been treated at all for 10+ months after she was dxed before I got her. She was a mess. Severely dehydrated, moderate ketones but not in DKA yet, blood sugar in the black and not even weighing 5lbs. And so matted I had to cut out mats to find enough skin to shoot the first night. In two years she is the cat you see in my avatar. She will always be insulin dependent but otherwise she 14 lbs of Maine Coonish Tortitude Beauty. :-D

But in getting where we are today, I really got to know how for the most where her numbers will go in any given situation. Of course she can and does throw me a curve ball, she is still a cat. lol

And even though I shot I did shoot a Fat zero as a token, she earned the reduction on a .5 ( must put update her ss on the todo list for this weekend) and I knew once she hit onset I would be with her all day. And it still makes me nervous everytime I do it.

This works for Autumn and Autumn ONLY!!

Mel and The Zoo
 
All in all pretty happy with Casey's numbers today. Even the pink preshot. At least he stayed fairly steady, most likely for the first time. Oh noticed tonight he's also down on his hocks but I can't tell if it's weight or neuropathy. But he is starting to iniate contact and came to me on his own for his pmps test. He was also out exploring the bedroom when we got home from grocery shopping.

Mel and The Zoo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top