11/22 Biscuit +10 126, AMPS NT, +2 92 +3 55 +4 62 +5 79 PMPS 327

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

I couldn’t be around to test this morning and DH is still out of town, so we had a caregiver come give Biscuit his insulin this morning. I tested before I had to leave and knew I’d be home by +2 so I was pretty comfortable allowing his standard dose. Looks like he’s in an active cycle though and I’m gonna stay on top of him. Already gave him a tsp of MC as a snack just to slow things down a bit. We’ll see what +3 looks like. I think really only the low nights scare me. I was so out of it last night trying to wake up to test and food prop... still wound up with a 49. But our calipers are on the way and I think maybe a 0.62 dose will be best.
 
No playing with sharks Biscuit!

Looks to me like your little buddy has earned a reduction to 0.50u. Last night was the 3rd time between 40 and 50 on current dose or did you actually decide to hold the dose for some reason. :)
 
No playing with sharks Biscuit!

Looks to me like your little buddy has earned a reduction to 0.50u. Last night was the 3rd time between 40 and 50 on current dose or did you actually decide to hold the dose for some reason. :)

We’ve flip flopped twice back and forth from 0.5 to 0.75 and back again etc. He doesn’t seem to be able to handle 0.5, and his numbers start creeping up and with DKA in his history I don’t want his insulin to be too low... but your right I think 0.75 is too much and we keep having to use food to keep him out of the danger zone. I ordered the locking calipers and we’re going to try reducing to in between 0.75 and 0.5 but they’re not here yet and so I’m trying to still use food to keep him elevated. They should be here tomorrow so I didn’t want to change his dose twice in two days. I suppose we could try 0.5 again for the 3rd time if everyone thinks that would be best???
 
If your calipers are coming tomorrow, and you're Ok keeping an close eye on Biscuit and steering as needed, then I think waiting is fine. The lines on the syringes can be off quite a bit in some cases and being able to finesse doses for Biscuit if he's that sensitive to changes sounds like a good idea. He's looking pretty good. Now if only he'd stop throwing in the yellow and pinks every so often......
 
Biscuit it looking good. I agree you can wait for the calipers before you change the dose since you are monitoring.
 
Back
Top