11/22, Bell, AMPS 229 +2 254 +4 259 +6 265 PMPS 291

upload_2024-11-22_19-39-56.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-22_19-39-56.png
    upload_2024-11-22_19-39-56.png
    409.5 KB · Views: 29
upload_2024-11-22_19-40-19.png


@Heike & BInie: I've thought about it being the pen so many times, but I kept telling myself I'm being impatient. I do have an old pen from Chewy with some doses still in it that worked great, but it is 3 months old now. Do you think that would still be ok to try? It has been in the fridge all this time and I know the sticky for insulin mentions folks using pens for 5 months or so.

Do folks here have experience with a brand new pen being a dud? The only difference between my last two pens and this one is that the last two were from Chewy and this one I got from Walgreens. I also have another brand new one from Walgreens that is in the fridge and not open. I checked the expiration date on the pen I'm currently using and it is sometime in 2026. Also, Walgreens was keeping it refrigerated.

I do really appreciate the thought because I only had two good cycles on this pen, but that could have been the depot running out from the previous pen...
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-22_19-40-19.png
    upload_2024-11-22_19-40-19.png
    70.3 KB · Views: 30
One thought is that maybe the pen froze at some point and thawed. It doesn't look cloudy to me, but I'm not sure if it would in that scenario.
 
One thought is that maybe the pen froze at some point and thawed. It doesn't look cloudy to me, but I'm not sure if it would in that scenario.
Hi Seth, I’ve only bought a box of five pens at a time each time I buy the pens so I can’t speak to buying individual pens.
Why don’t you make a separate post on the main page with a question about insulin there. I’ll bet you’ll get many more answers because there are so many more eyes on that page and it will be a separate post from your daily one about Bell.
It will be interesting to see what information you get back but hopefully you’ll get some good information there.
Sending good vibes for Bell to have a gentle slide down and a safe surf.
Have a good weekend :bighug::bighug:
 
Good idea, Staci. I decided to give my old pen a try, it will be an interesting experiment. I did check my other new pen and it is from the same lot number as the pen in question.

Never a dull moment…
 
Good idea, Staci. I decided to give my old pen a try, it will be an interesting experiment. I did check my other new pen and it is from the same lot number as the pen in question.

Never a dull moment…

Hi Seth,
good idea! Good luck with the trial! I also read that people use their pens for month so I think it will be fine. Is there a possibility the pen in question got frozen? In my fridge there are definitely spots where this could happen. Therefore I store the unopened vial between my vegetables and the opened pen in the door. I read that somewhere and it makes sense to me.

Curious to see how her numbers are today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike. I don’t think it was frozen in my fridge, just because I started using it immediately so I think I would have noticed. But it could have been frozen in the Walgreens fridge or during transport to them.

Makes me wonder how they ship pens in the dead of winter…
 
If we don’t see any shenanigans today/tonight, time for an increase. Over my time here on the forum, I’ve seen a few folks wonder whether the reason for not much action is because of the insulin, myself included back in the day. It’s usually not the insulin ;), especially as you say it doesn’t look like there’s any cloudiness or floaties. I think she’s just gotten a wee bit too comfy up in these numbers.

My dosecrease threats don’t have as much ooophf as Wendy’s but you never know, let’s hope the threat gets Bell to pay attention.
 
Hi Seth! I was going to say the same thing than Christie, it's usually not the pen.
The only time I suspect it was actually the pen was when I was using a generic that was donated to my vet by a client, ant she then gave it to me. Or with vials, when you would keep it for several months, much longer than pens.
I think it's probably time for an increase. i know it is so frustrating and makes you want to reconsider everything you are doing, but really, be patient. She showed she can get greens, she will again. She just needs the right dose. If you want, look at Bella's SS from previous years. I went all the way up to 4.5 units. Bhomma can probably remember how reluctant I was and I was trying to bargain and find reasons not to, but she was right (of course). It's impossible to predict what a cat will do at a dose, a dose that worked great 3 months ago might not be enough now, or too much. Just follow the protocole and her numbers and eventually it will work.
:bighug:
 
Thank you both for that, it is super appreciated. I actually don’t mind increasing at all, I get impatient wanting to increase too soon. So I was waiting til after tonight’s shot (6 cycles) before going to 4 units.

I knew it was a long shot, but I did want to try the old pen just to rule out the case where my new pen might have been frozen, like Heike mentioned. Bell is pretty high right now still with the old pen, so I will probably shoot one more time with the old pen tonight to rule it out, and then switch back to the new pen tomorrow with the dose increase.

FD is really weird sometimes, huh?
 
Hi Heike. I don’t think it was frozen in my fridge, just because I started using it immediately so I think I would have noticed. But it could have been frozen in the Walgreens fridge or during transport to them.

Makes me wonder how they ship pens in the dead of winter…

Hi Seth,
maybe I brought you on the wrong track. Sorry. I hope the increase will help her to see better numbers!

I think they have to make sure pens are shipped in the right temperature. Of course things can go wrong but I think it is not so likely. Good luck with the increase!
 
No no, not at all! I think it still makes sense to rule it out even if there’s a minimal chance of that. Don’t think it hurts anything to use the older pen, and I’m not wasting the insulin.
 
Back
Top