11/22/25. WATSON. AMPS 269L/253M ; +1-225; +2-253;+3-238; +4-132; +5-181;+6-242; +7-237

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Hi everyone! I can’t believe it’s been this long since I posted. Watson has been doing pretty good quite a few blues, mostly yellows and very few pinks.
I am thinking that because he’s going to be on steroids the rest of his life. This may be as good as it gets. He has been doing pretty good at 3.75. Anyone want to take a look at his spreadsheet and see what they think? Thanks!
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Staci & Ivy @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
Last post; ? - 9/16/25 Watson DOSING QUESTION AMPS 267L/191M; +1-254; +2-215; +3-206; +4-125; +5-94L/+5.75 54L/67M; +6-52L;+6.25-49L/51M; +7-61
 
Do you mind adding small cell lymphoma (or SCL) to the signature, it'll remind us why he's on prednisolone. Once a kitty achieves remission from SCL, it's possible that they can be tapered off of prednisolone, or at least down in dose. How are his GI symptoms now? My SCL in remission kitty is still on pred because she also has IBD. Your SS says 2 ml of prednisolone, but how many mg in a ml? ie. What is his total dose in mg? Also, when in the day do you give it?

I'm glad you managed to test that 54 on 11/16 with a human meter. Looks like he's not getting much time below 149 on a human meter and could use a dose increase.
 
Hi everyone! I can’t believe it’s been this long since I posted. Watson has been doing pretty good quite a few blues, mostly yellows and very few pinks.
I am thinking that because he’s going to be on steroids the rest of his life. This may be as good as it gets. He has been doing pretty good at 3.75. Anyone want to take a look at his spreadsheet and see what they think? Thanks!
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Staci & Ivy @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
Last post; ? - 9/16/25 Watson DOSING QUESTION AMPS 267L/191M; +1-254; +2-215; +3-206; +4-125; +5-94L/+5.75 54L/67M; +6-52L;+6.25-49L/51M; +7-61
Hi Rosie, it’s nice to see you and Watson!
Good luck if you give him an increase. I hope you’re both doing well 💕😻💖
 
I wasn't even aware a diabetic could take steroids. My little guy has asthma as well as diabetes and been having a rough patch with his asthma. But I was told steroids are a no go by a vet for diabetes. This info could help a lot.
Good luck on an increase.❤️
 
P
Do you mind adding small cell lymphoma (or SCL) to the signature, it'll remind us why he's on prednisolone. Once a kitty achieves remission from SCL, it's possible that they can be tapered off of prednisolone, or at least down in dose. How are his GI symptoms now? My SCL in remission kitty is still on pred because she also has IBD. Your SS says 2 ml of prednisolone, but how many mg in a ml? ie. What is his total dose in mg? Also, when in the day do you give it?

I'm glad you managed to test that 54 on 11/16 with a human meter. Looks like he's not getting much time below 149 on a human meter and could use a dose increase.
@Wendy&Neko I added small cell lymphoma and/or IBD to his spreadsheet because the internist was not sure which it was without doing a biopsy which I chose not to put him through. She did tell me that the treatment is the same for both which is chemo pill every other week and the prednisolone daily. He gets 2 mL of liquid prednisolone every night before his dinner, which is about 10:10pm EST. I have no idea how to convert liquid milliliters to milligrams. When I tried to google it said something about having to know about the viscosity of the liquid.???
His GI symptoms have not really changed much. His poop is still pretty loose, not exactly like water anymore, but more like sloppy pudding.
I will up his dose on Tuesday when I will be home for a few days 24/7 to keep an eye on him.
Thanks for your reply. If you have any idea about the conversion, let me know.
By the way, his internist seemed to think he will be on chemo and prednisolone for the rest of his life
 
She did tell me that the treatment is the same for both which is chemo pill every other week and the prednisolone daily.
Sigh, this is wrong. Not all IBD kitties get chemo, that is only for those with severe cases. My IBD+SCL kitty - did have a biopsy and has both. Her IBD does not need chemo and she no longer gets it for her SCL as it is in remission. SCL kitties get prednisolone in the beginning, but once the chemo starts to work, can be tapered off pred. Except in cases like mine where they have both and the IBD needs pred. In fact, some SCL kitties can go off of chemo as well, as my girl did. Sounds like if Watson still has loose poo, he still has some signs of SCL Kitties aren't considered in remission until their symptoms go away. At least your vet is doing the latest chemo dosing protocol.

There are long term effects of pred. My girl has been on it for 7 years now, and she has osteoperosis and muscle wasting due to it. But I tried stopping or tapering pred down, and her gut said no. If Watson needs it forever, you want it to be the lowest dose possible.
He gets 2 mL of liquid prednisolone every night before his dinner, which is about 10:10pm EST. I have no idea how to convert liquid milliliters to milligrams.
There should be something on the bottle that tells you how many mg per ml. It depends on the concentration or how much pred is in a ml. I give pred as a compounded chew treat, which makes it easy for anyone else to give it if I'm away. But harder to change the pred dose.
 
Sigh, this is wrong. Not all IBD kitties get chemo, that is only for those with severe cases. My IBD+SCL kitty - did have a biopsy and has both. Her IBD does not need chemo and she no longer gets it for her SCL as it is in remission. SCL kitties get prednisolone in the beginning, but once the chemo starts to work, can be tapered off pred. Except in cases like mine where they have both and the IBD needs pred. In fact, some SCL kitties can go off of chemo as well, as my girl did. Sounds like if Watson still has loose poo, he still has some signs of SCL Kitties aren't considered in remission until their symptoms go away. At least your vet is doing the latest chemo dosing protocol.

There are long term effects of pred. My girl has been on it for 7 years now, and she has osteoperosis and muscle wasting due to it. But I tried stopping or tapering pred down, and her gut said no. If Watson needs it forever, you want it to be the lowest dose possible.

There should be something on the bottle that tells you how many mg per ml. It depends on the concentration or how much pred is in a ml. I give pred as a compounded chew treat, which makes it easy for anyone else to give it if I'm away. But harder to change the pred dose.
@Wendy&Neko The original prescription label says 15MG/5ML. Glad I saved that package because now they give it to me in a plain bottle.
 
OK, that means 3 mg per mL, so a 6 mg dose. That's sounds reasonable. My first (of 3 :rolleyes:) SCL kitties started with 10 mg, but reduced down to 5 mg after about 3 months when his symptoms went away. The dose is typically based on size of cat, and given Watson's 7mg chlorambucil, I'm guess he's a good sized boy.

The reason I was asking about time of dose is to see if there was a pattern in the numbers associated with that. Pred impact on the BG doesn't last 24 hours. The majority of Watson's greens seem to be during the day, but not all.
 
OK, that means 3 mg per mL, so a 6 mg dose. That's sounds reasonable. My first (of 3 :rolleyes:) SCL kitties started with 10 mg, but reduced down to 5 mg after about 3 months when his symptoms went away. The dose is typically based on size of cat, and given Watson's 7mg chlorambucil, I'm guess he's a good sized boy.

The reason I was asking about time of dose is to see if there was a pattern in the numbers associated with that. Pred impact on the BG doesn't last 24 hours. The majority of Watson's greens seem to be during the day, but not all.
Watson weighs 14lbs 6 ozs
 
Back
Top