11/22/2011 Spitzer AMPS~540, PMPS~349 !!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Very Active Member
Previously

Duration seems to be an issue, and ProZinc has no overlap, while Lantus has limited flexibilty in dosing. Testing a combo of 1 U Lantus and 1.2 U Prozinc. It will take 3-5 days for the Lantus to build up to a somewhat stable rolling level. I am hoping to see lower preshot values, while having the ability to adjust the ProZinc level if (when!) his glucose levels change.

Also, have e-mailed vet to ask about testing for acromegaly and insulin autoantibodies. He does have a moderately big frame. He has renomegaly, i.e. enlarged kidneys. That could be from the diabetes or maybe from acromegaly, since that is due to an adrenal tumor and the adrenal gland sits right on the kidney.
 
Re: 11/22/2011 Spitzer AMPS~540

I hope that helps get Spitzer off that nasty black and red floors. He's got a very stubborn body!

Hugs and an extra scratch for fuzzy feet,
 
Re: 11/22/2011 Spitzer AMPS~540

Thanks everyone.

When I'd asked the vet previously about trying Levemir, after she did some reading she though ProZinc would be better. Spitzer seems to use insulin quickly, so I have a feeling that unless I did TID dosing, ProZinc isn't going to be the final single solution. Maybe 1.5 Lantus and a variable amount of Prozinc to handle day to day erratic levels might work. I'll give it about 5 days to decide, as it takes that long for the Lantus to stabilize.

We havin' fun yet?
 
Re: 11/22/2011 Spitzer AMPS~540

Hope you get some answers from his tests and paws crossed the combination of insulins will get him down out out of blacks.
 
PMPS of 348 ! NOT in the black! Hallaujah!

Of course, doing a combo will make for an interesting curve, though I do know from using just Lantus that he does nadir @ +6 on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top