11/22/10 Lucky AMPS 431

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa&Lucky

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
We are Newbies here. Lucky was diagnosed on October 14th and we started him on Lantus on the 15th. Started with 1 unit and as you can see from his SS I've was up to 2.5 units, but now back to 2 units. It was suggested that I go back to the 2 units and do a little more testing before I go up anymore on my units. I got a little impatient when my numbers weren't going down, like I thought they should, so I would just up the dose, which I was told I was doing to quickly, so I am trying to be more patient and do more testing.
Lucky had diabetes a few years ago and was on 2 units Novolin N. I put him on a canned catfood low carb diet. He went into remission after a couple of months I kept him on canned food and added a little dry cat food (Hill's prescription) and he was good until last month. I read a lot of good things about Lantus so I decided to try it. So here I am. So if you could look at his SS and give me any advice, on what I should and shouldn't do.
Thanks!!!
This message board is a life saver. :smile:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Great job getting your SS and Profile up and running. One quick question, when was Lucky first diagnosed prior to this recent onset of diabetes?

So far, other than the day that you jumped from 1.5 to 2.0u after one day, you've been holding your doses an appropriate amount of time. If you take a look at the Tight Regulation sticky at the top of the Board, you will find a brief version, as well as the links to the full versions of the dosing protocol that we use. There is a wealth of information in the sticky notes and they will help to familiarize you with both using Lantus and how this forum operates.

We strongly encourage you to routinely get tests before you give a shot of insulin. It looks like you may have been gone for a few days, but other than situations such as those, for safety reasons, it is important to test before you shoot. It's also important to get at least one test per cycle, in addition to your pre-shot tests. If you could do your best to get at minimum, a before bed test every night that will give you important information. Many cats run in lower numbers at night.

Are you still feeding any dry food? If so, I'd suggest eliminating it.

I do think you have room to raise Lucky's dose to 2.25u but I'd like to see a few PM spot checks, as well, before you increase. I'd like to have some of the others stop by and take a look, too.
 
Lucky was diagnosed the first time about 2 years ago. Also I have taken him off the Dry food. He acts like he's starving most of the time, LOL. :-D I started him on the FF glutten free canned food, trying anything I can to help.
Thanks for your input it's greatly appreciated
 
Hi Lisa,

Just wanted to welcome you to LL. You'll find lots of caring people here to help you with Lucky diabetes. Like Sienne said there is a lot of information in the stickies at the top of the lantus page.

Lucky is so hungry because he can't metabolize the food that he eats. In time as his #'s come down you will see a difference. My cat used to eat just like that but now she is doing great on lantus.

Again, welcome and glad you found us.
Good luck with your lucky.

jan and sara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top