11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all good!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Woohoo! We have yellow this morning! :-D Time for some blues, big guy. Found a nice poo in the LB in the garage, which is most likely his since Tillie doesn't use that box. Appy is good this morning too. If he doesn't find the lower blue floor, I am going to fatten the dose again tonight.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener AMPS 288;+2 220;+4 200

Almost there Z man, just slide down a little bit more! Don't you love it how we can tell by looking at a litter box which cat did what? :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Zener AMPS 288;+2 220;+4 200;+5.5 111;+8 90

Zener says "I am back!" :-D Nice slide down to green.

Mags wants Detective Poo to know she had prezzies.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener AMPS 288;+2 220;+4 200;+5.5 111;+8 90

OH lookit this green.....Good boy, Zener! :mrgreen:
Hi Liz.....you jumping with joy? flip_cat
 
Re: 11/21 Zener AMPS 288;+2 220;+4 200;+5.5 111;+8 90

Nice dose increast threat there!!!! sure worked nicely!!!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Zener got in a fight with another black cat! Yikes! They were locked together when I went outside. I kicked them and the other cat took off with Zener in hot pursuit. Fortunately, the other cat could climb the fence and Zener couldn't. I felt Zener all over and he had some wet spots but I didn't see or feel any scratches or bites, which is hard to imagine. He's getting too old for this. The bean, on the other hand, has 3 wounds on her leg. I can't tell if they are from claws or teeth. I washed them with hot water and soap (ivory). What else should I do? :shock:
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

First of all...nice green Zener! Oh no on the cat fight. I would put some hydrogen peroxide or rubbing alcohol on your wounds. That's what I do when Turnup gets me. Then put some antibiotic cream on it. Poor Liz!!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Should you go to urgent care and have it checked? I'm not sure if there is something they can give you but it would be worth the peace of mind. ((((Liz))))
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Oh, Liz! I hope that you and Zener are OK.
My wilderness first-aid manual recommends the following for cat bites:
Cat bites should be treated seriously. The fangs of a cat are short and sharp and inflict puncture wounds that frequently become infected. ... Treatment:
1. If the wound is not bleeding heavily, irrigate it with water for 5 to 10 minutes. Remove any foreign material. Only the superficial entrance of a puncture wound can be cleaned, extensive scrubbing cannot clean the depths of a puncture wound. Control bleeding with pressure.
2.If there is a possibility of rabies, wash the wound with soap and water or with Zephiran. . .
3. Cover wounds with a sterile dressing.

The current thinking in first aid is that it is not recommended to put peroxide on a wound.
Keep a close watch and if you feel heat coming from the wounds or have a temperature, don't fool around. Go to a doctor or to an Urgent Care center.

Hang in there.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

I called the 24 hr nurse with my health insurance. She said I need a tetanus shot (since I can't remember when I had one) and possibly a rabies shot. The urgent care closes in an hour here and is closed tomorrow. Zener is at +1 so I can't leave him right now (Anne is in the Netherlands). I think I might wait until I see that he's OK then go to the emergency room tonight. Jeesh!
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

I'm glad Zener is okay after the cat fight. Sorry about your leg. I think to be safe you should probably get the shots.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

A friend of ours got bit by her cat and it was a puncture and she used hydrogen peroxide. It tends to close up the wound which is not good. She got a bad infection and had to spend a night in the hospital on IV antibiotics.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Yikes on the fight!!! When Trix first moved in with us (before she was integrated into the herd), we had a major fight in the house! I had to grab one of my civvies, Petey, out of her jaws, and in the process I got bit pretty good. Of course you want to exercise caution with a cat bite, but I did take the "wait and see" approach and all was fine. Sending many calming and healing vines to your house tonight! Do you know who the other cat belonged to? If you can verify that the cat is UTD on rabies, that should give at least some peace of mind. Please keep us posted!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Ann, it scares me that you don't know this other cat. You don't know if it's been vaccinated against rabies.
Or, is rabies not prevalent in your area? It is a problem, here in NY state. ALL pets are required to be vaccinated here.

A cat bite can be very serious, because the wound is more of a slice, and closes quickly, with the bacteria unable to wash out. Unlike a dog bite, which is wider and can be cleaned easier.

I don't know what claw scratches can bring to a would, but I'm betting it can be nasty.

Ann, I hope you do go to Urgent Care. Please Please!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206 cat fight!

Barb, I agree about not knowing the other cat. I am going to the ER after I know that Zener's numbers are ok tonight. Anne is in the Netherlands so I am here by myself.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135 cat fight!

Sorry about the bite, Liz. Lucky Zener is not hurt.
Is the wound deep? Is the cat your neighbours, not a stray?
Ive been bitten by my cat before, when Miu was having her kitten. The wound at my calf was deep. I cleaned it with disinfectant, applied antibiotics & covered with bandage. Dont panic, it might not be serious. Keep an eye on it.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206 cat fight!

Let us know how you're doing. I suspect we all have "war" stories. Best to be cautious, especially if you're by yourself.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206 cat fight!

OH NO!!!! LIZ! I hope you're ok! You and Zener! He must have been defending his castle and bean! Poor buddy! Hope you don't have to spend too long in the ER and hope you both get some good sleep tonight. ((hugs)) to both of you!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

I'm giving him some honey-laced treats and proplan chicken then going to the er. Thanks everyone!
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

I hope that you and Zener are OK!

I have been badly bitten by a cat. He was mine, so I knew I didn't need the rabies shot. I am not sure what the protocol for you will be in terms of rabies. They may start you on oral antibiotics, and if the wound starts to look more infected, you may need IV antibiotics. That is what I required. I'm glad that you have gone to the ER to get the correct treatment.

Zener may have received puncture wounds. You likely will not see them right away. Keep examining every inch of his skin and look for any swellings, which will indicate the beginning of an abscess. This may take a day or two. The vet will need to treat that immediately. If you call the vet, they may choose to also start Zener on an oral antibiotic just in case. I would give them a call once you have been cared for yourself. I have had a few cats who had quite serious abscessed bite wounds :shock:
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

Yikes on the cat fight. I've heard it's best to make a loud noise like dropping keys nearby or something like that to separate them so you don't get in the middle of them. I must admit, my first instinct is to kick too. The question of how prevalent rabies is in your area is a good one. In B.C. it's only bats that have rabies and the only transmission to animals has been only animals that have eaten bats. There once was a case of a skunk who ate a rabid bat but otherwise it's not very common. Your local animal control or wildlife personnel may be able to help answer that question.

After working/volunteering at the local shelter a number of years I've been bitten a number of times, but only once had to go to the hospital. The wound got quite hot within a couple of hours. That was the sign it was time to hit the emergency department. I wonder if the Neosporin in the BG test kit would help.

Let us know how it goes. We are all worried about you!
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

I am waiting at the ED now. The wounds are not hot at all, nor are they swollen. I am next in line and my situation is not nearly as bad as someone who just came in about a friend's suicide attempt or the woman who seems to be having severe GI distress.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

Take care Liz & keep us posted. Is Anne coming home for the Thanksgiving?
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

I'm glad you went. Your immediate wounds might not seem bad right now but they can get worse and I am more concerned that you get the shots and an AB.

Please keep us posted :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139 cat fight!

I'm in a room in the ED. I probably won't get the rabies shots (series of 4) since the rabies isn't in cats around here. I am getting some ABs and hopefully will be home for +4!
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131 all good!

I just got back from the ED and it only took 1.5 hours. No rabies shots but I am on an AB, doxycycline. Zener seems ok except his left rear foot is tender. He is hissing and growling at me when I feel it and he was licking it earlier. I don't feel any wounds so he may have sprained it. Zener's BG is good and that's with the treats I gave him before I left. I will update in the morning. Thank you, everyone!
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

Wow, what a day at your place! I'm glad you went to the ER and got AB's. And poor Zener! I hope he's ok, too.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

What about tetanus? I'm glad you didn't have to have he rabies shots and now you can feel better about Zener, too. I hope his foot is better tomorrow.

Looks like you got back just in time for a pj party with Zman! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

I didn't ask about a tetanus shot and the doc didn't say anything about one.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

(((Liz and Zener))) oh my, I am just getting caught up with what happened. Is that the same cat that's been there before? So glad you went to the ER and got treatment with antibiotics. I hope Zener's leg is okay. Sending healing vines to both you and Zener.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

I'm glad you got in and out of the ER quickly and that you got some ABs started. I hope Zener's foot is just a sprain. I will be praying everything is okay.
 
Re: 11/21 Zener PMPS 135;+1 206;+2 139;+4 131;+5 119 all goo

Hi Liz,
Not the evening you had planned!! We are so glad that you went to the ER and got the precautionary antibiotics. I'm pretty sure that your regular doctor would keep track of your tetanus booster shots, especially since your outdoor activities take you to all kinds of terrain. A tetanus shot lasts for 10 years. You might ask your doctor to check your records, just to be certain.

We hope that Zener's foot will be OK and that he has no other wounds.

Please keep us posted; we'll check in with you later today.
Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top