11/21 Tommy AMPS 340 - re-starting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nora & John & Tommy

Member Since 2010
Hello,

Based on recommendations here and a phone consultation with Dr. Lisa Pierson, we re-started at 1.5u to determine whether proper dose was missed on the way up to 6u. Have added ketone testing. Have tweaked diet to increase protein and reduce fat, to help Tommy lose a pound or two. He is not obese, but could afford to trim down a bit. Apparently body fat can contribute to difficult regulation and higher need for insulin.

That's the news from here...
 
I am glad to see you have dropped the dose down. I know it will be hard to see the constant high numbers, and you may doubt that the drop was the right choice, but it will rule out doubt later. Even if you end up right back at the same 6u, you will know that you did NOT jump over the good dose for Tommy.
The protocol works and with the diet tweak, you will hopefully see some good results.
 
Ive gone through this process a couple of times with pzi and lantus. Some advice givers always thought Spike was on too much insulin since there were so many micro dosers on the board. Hes been between 5-5.75 for a very long time...this is his magic dose. I hope you find Tommys and get his numbers to be in the nicer colors.
 
Good luck with the starting over.
I love big fluffy orange cats, so I love Tommy :-D
Have a good day. Come on down to some yellows, Tommy. You can do it!
 
I'm glad to see that you have decided to try restarting. As Gayle said, even if he ends up back up on that dose, at least you will know that he needs that much. Please keep posting daily and asking questions as they come up.

I'm a little partial to fluffy orange cats also. :mrgreen:
 
Morning Nora - I hope you feel good about your decision. Dr. Lisa is much respected around these parts. I feel you've made a safe and cautious decision, good for you. Tommy Walker is a beautiful kitty.
 
I'm glad you're starting over. I know that must have been a hard decision, but it will make all the decisions from here on out a lot easier, because you'll be able to follow our protocol with confidence. The protocol takes a lot of the guesswork out of dosing.

I hope you'll post often!
 
Been there, done that and although it was very frustrating (and in the end, we are where we are now, at 8u, +Dx for Acro and still looking for results...) I don't regret it for a minute. Knowledge is power...!
I hope you DID skip the magic number as that would be the best outcome - but whatever happens, at least you will know (for sure)...
 
Hi Nora and Tommy! Here is the link to your last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29985
We link the previous condo to the first post of the day so we can keep the kitties together. Once click and everyone can see what transpired the day before.
Good luck with the new dose. Hope you will see some nice numbers (and no ketones) for Tommy!

We have a way of telling everyone how our kitty is doing beside jsut the BG numbers. We post about the Ps we have seen that day...There are 5 Ps in all: Peeing, Pooping, Purring, Preening and Playing.... Hope Tommy has all Ps in place...
So great to see your post today! :thumbup

ETA: Here is a link for you on how to set up your Profile: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766
 
Thanks for all the encouragement. All Tommy's P's are definitely in Place! He decided while playing this morning that John needed a bg test! Of course, he kissed and kissed after he drew blood!! He is actually buff-colored - very light tan, although he looks orange in the pics, but he is definitely a giant, and usually gentle. He's 15" high at the shoulders, 29" from nose to base of tail, and 44" from nose to tip of tail. The diameter of his head is 14.5". He's 20 pounds now, and, as mentioned, we're trying to cut back a little, slowly, and maybe get him to 18. He, of course, is ravenous, but always has been! It's definitely encouraging to see him play (when he does) instead of sleeping off a sugar-high. He's only 6 years old, so we're really hoping we get this thing under control (and maybe even in remission) so we can enjoy him for a long time! His sister, Rosie, is 9 and in renal failure, but doing well and eating well. She's only 8 pounds, but tries to keep him in line!

Anyway, thanks again for all the encouragement. No ketones again this morning! Glad he's not shy about the litter box!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top