? 11/21 Snickers AMPS 336 +2.5 342 +7 393 Yikes! Increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzi_S

Very Active Member
Yesterday
Snickers just isn't coming down. It's been forever, it seems. However she got into the treats again (must not have had the lid tight enough) so now they are in a NEW container and I am putting them up higher!! So, we will wait another 6 cycles.

Milton is acting completely normal. I found some solid poops and some runny poops in the lbs, so one of them has the runs. I don't know who did what but if the runs was Milt's, I have to let it run it's course. I don't think I will give Snick pumpkin either and just see if things return to normal on their own.

Missing DH today (ok, I always miss him, today is just hitting me hard). This isn't the easiest life to live, having him gone for two weeks every month. Plus my pain is a little worse today and the cold does not help, at all! Ugh

Vines to all who need them with extra special vines going to Minka, Doodles, Gracie and Chris Farley. Sorry if I missed anyone
 
Any chance of having low carb treats? I cooked chicken breasts for punkin, diced it in 1/2" cubes, kept a couple of tablespoons in the fridge and froze the rest. That would last him a couple of days and then I'd just thaw a little more.

Low carb, good for him, and if I needed a quick dinner I could always raid punkin's frozen treat supplies! ;)

hope you feel better as the day goes on. We're down to freezing in Oregon today too. But at least it's sunny!
 
I have tried everything on the planet and she will only accept them once if at all. This is the only thing she likes and I can use for test/shot times. She hates things most cats love. She normally only gets one piece for test and one for shot. She loves chicken but will not accept it for her t/s treat.
 
Child safety cabinet locks or a good old rubber band! Doodles sister Moo is a counter climber and has gotten into cabinets so they are locked down tightly. Sorry Snickers isn't coming down yet and I feel your pain. We're increasing at PMPS. Hope you feel better and that DH comes home soon. :bighug::bighug:
 
I lovingly call Snickers the demon child...LOL She gets into EVERYTHING!! And every time I try to scrapbook or make cards she is right on top of it....literally. Laying all over my papers! If you try to read, you better hope she turns invisible because she will be on top of your reading material.
 
Apparently the dose increase threat is backfiring because she is just getting higher!!!! When does she earn another increase?? I hate seeing her this high!
 
We just did our increase tonight and looks like Snickers & Doodles are playing together with the same dose. Personally SLGS says 7 days but we increased 1 cycle early...can't take those lousy numbers either.
 
I was doing tight Reg but had to slow down on testing. Sometimes I can't test as much so it as suggested I switch to SLGS until I can consistently test like this. She does get a dry food treat for test/shoot but it's one piece for each. It is the ONLY thing she likes for those times. I have tried everything on the planet and while she loves chicken, cheese, etc, she won't accept those as a treat for t/s. Otherwise she gets no dry food in her meals.

For her asthma she does get an asthma shot but it's only a few times a year. However, now that I think of it she did get her shot the beginning of last week. When I can afford it I plan on getting her the aerokat.
 
I'd include info on her shots on the spreadsheet. You may be able to see patterns in how she reacts post-shot.

You've tried freeze dried food, then? Is the dry food you use for treats Young Again? If you can't get her to accept something else, at the minimum I'd try getting her to accept the Young Again instead. We've had people report that their cat went up hundreds of points from 3 pieces of dry food. It's pretty powerful stuff.
 
I haven't tried YA. These were a cat treat my mom picked up at the dollar store. From what I've noticed they don't (or haven't yet) really affected her. She has had some really good runs in the blues and greens. I have seriously tried everything. Some stuff she will eat once or twice, then starts refusing it and does the jerking around trying to get away when I shoot her. With these she stays and lets me shoot her with no problem. There are things she likes as treats and things she likes as T/S treats and regular treats are not acceptable as t/s treats. She is a VERY stubborn cat. When I can afford YA I will buy a small bag and see if she likes it. Right now it is way too expensive.
 
Hope she comes down for you soon- Little sneaky snickers (Trouble tries to sneak too- we have learned to put the food and contraband far far away from him!)
 
I know you're on a budget with your strips so may I suggest - if she starts pink in the AM leave the next test until about +4 this will let you know whether or not she's going to need any further attention for her safety and will give us a good idea of how low she's going. Nine times out of ten you'll probably then be able to save that extra day strip for the PM cycle so we can get some idea of what she's doing then too. You saw on 11/10 AM cycle that she can go from pink to green and then back to pink by the next shot so I'd be hesitant to increase without a bit more data.

Your Snickers is quite the character!
 
Is it an issue of needing to give a treat when you're testing or when you're shooting? If it's when you're shooting, many of us give our kitties their shot when their head is in their food bowl. Seriously, Gabby doesn't skip a beat when I give her a shot while she's eating.

Also, what gauge syringe are you using. I use a 31 gauge needle for insulin syringes.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top