11-21 Small Kitty - amps 407 pmps 176 +3 308 - Soo strange..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning all,

What happened yesterday is unusual, that Small Kitty went from yellow to red within 2h
and this after an injection :confused::confused:. Even more strange is that he stayed there up to this
morning ????:eek::eek::eek:

We'll blame the weather, melting snow started yesterday (stopping the plan of letting
them go out in the wild) and this morning it's the real thing. Cars are covered and
winter coat and boots are waiting at the front door.

Both cats were very exited, when I woke up they ask access to the bedroom's balcony... no go ;)

So there it is, hope next few days will show that 2.5 is THE dose for healing.

Good day every one !

Sébastien

Yesterday
 
I wonder if SK bounced from the 97 on the 19th, started to clear the bounce and then bounced again. Furball would do that sometimes. I hope SK slides down today and doesn't bounce back up.
 
I am sorry about the red Sebastien. This dance is frustrating. Hang in there...you are doing a great job taking care of Small Kitty! :cat::bighug:
 
I wonder if SK bounced from the 97 on the 19th, started to clear the bounce and then bounced again. Furball would do that sometimes. I hope SK slides down today and doesn't bounce back up.

Good morning,

Sounds this is the problem with the 2.5U, it's good at clearing up bounce faster but bring
them up faster also. What's strange is the raise to red 3h after shot.

Not to make to much damage to the neck I did the shot below it, on the upper back.
Could this have an effect on insulin effectiveness ?

SubQ should be SubQ no matter where.

Strange...

.
 
Sebastian

With some kitties a bounce can hit immediately, with others it can be a partial bounce then a delayed full bounce. After hitting the green on the 19th a bounce was certainly a strong possibility. Remember that a bounce can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) to fully clear the system, so today's numbers are not unusual. Some articles say that giving the injection in the scruff can have a poorer absorption rate because there is less blood supply in that area. Also remember that absorption rates at any injection site can vary from day to day.

"Most people, including veterinarians, make the mistake of injecting the insulin into the scruff of the neck. This area has a very poor blood supply and insulin absorption is thus rather erratic from this area. Use an area further back around the hips or flank or, ideally, on the sides of the stomach. Try to rotate sites also, because repeated injections in the same site can cause a "granuloma" or knot of tissue that has poor blood supply (which means the insulin isn't absorbed well)."

http://www.felinediabetes.com/injections.htm

"
  • Many people give insulin shots in the scruff of the pet's neck, which is now considered to be a less than optimum choice. The neck area provides poor insulin Absorption, due to it not having many capillaries, veins. etc. (vascularization). Other sites suggested by Dr. Greco include the flank and armpit[15]. Intervet recommends giving injections from just back of the shoulder blades to just in front of the hipbone on either side, from 1 to 2 inches from the middle of the back[16]."
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Injecting_insulin

"It is best to inject the sides of the body and not in the scruff of the neck, where the circulation is relatively poor."

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6importantfactors.htm (this is the home page for the German protocol that TR is based on)

For the time being patience is required. :bighug: :bighug:
 
Agree on the nature of the bounce and on the scruff not being optimum for some cats.
Gussie's body responded more FAR consistently when I moved his shot to various locations on the side of his body.
Hang in there Sebastien:bighug::bighug:each cat writes his own flight plan with this dance, all you can do is to try to anticipate the next stop and keep that plane fueled for acrobatics!
Ok SK, enough aerial acrobatics, level off and fly smoothly!
It sounds absolutely beautiful where you are..we actually have RAIN again this morning!!!! I'm so excited!!:)
 
, from 1 to 2 inches from the middle of the back[16]."

That was the idea in switching site. I had always been rotating in the surrounding of the neck.
Near the junction of the leg bones, on the sides of the neck, right left and so on but rarely on the
middle of the neck because there is lots of furr. Yesterday my new spot was slightly off the
middle of the back bone, 1 inch farther to the neck.

I'll make some more reading and find a graph with blood vessels. Hope hitting one is not catastrophic.
I usually grab the skip and tear it off the muscles.

Thanks Mary-Ann, very interesting.
.
 
injsitesforcats1.jpg


Here some ideas for you.
 
This is from the BD site and is intended for humans but also applies to kitties. A small drop of blood occasionally is not a problem.

"It's normal for a small amount of blood to occasionally appear when you inject insulin. This bleeding, which is usually caused when the syringe punctures a tiny blood vessel, can be stopped by putting pressure on the injection site with your finger or a cotton ball.

Also, be sure that you:

  • Don't rub the spot.
  • Maintain light pressure with your finger to prevent bruising.
  • If a bruise does appear, don't use that injection site again until the bruise is gone.
resource.aspx


It's normal for a small amount
of blood to appear when you
inject insulin. This bleeding is
usually caused when the
syringe punctures a tiny
blood vessel."


http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx?cat=7001&id=7265
 
Thanks everyone for your little help. I think the yesterday the the fast clearing of
bounces with 2.5 units makes sens. Good shooting spot will make insulin even
more effective. Gave the shot on the side fuselage, right behind the the leg (not under,
little away from it to the back.

(second arrow on the beautiful drawing posted by @Woodsywife )

Why there ? This is where the muscle moving the legs are so there is
lots of contraction thus blood activity. This will spread out everywhere,
can't wait to see what's next


:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

:woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot:

:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
 
I think it's ECID where you shoot. I notice no difference whether I shoot shoulders just below the scruff or the flank. Experiment and take notes. If you get thickening in one spot, then it's definitely time to move around. I always alternate right and left for AM and PM.
 
Just performed the before bed test and I'm totally confused... Small Kitty seems to be imune
to insulin and acting in reserve.. very strange indeed... GL not doubling in 3h. but almost.

:confused::confused::confused:
 
There is a good chance that SK could have dropped lower during the day. If he hit some greens at nadir time then that would be enough to cause another bounce....and SK is definitely a bouncy kitty.

images
Thanks for your reply Mary-Ann.
Can constantly interrupted and short healing passes still be of any value ? Guess an organ need long period of releif to get back on duty... Trying to grab any hope that can pass by..

My guess with what we see is that insulin will not stop a bounce in progress, that only time can.
.
.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top