11/21 PMPS 36

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Baby

Member Since 2011
My kitty is on 1.4 units of lantus insulin. Please see her BS spreadsheet. I'm sorry there are gaps in it. If there is a measurement before the +12 I took it before I fed her. Her blood sugar always goes up a lot after i feed her, so if i measure her pretty close to the +12, I won't measure her again before i give her shot because i know she just went up.

Tonight her PMPS was 36, which is obviously quite low. I skipped her shot for now, and i'm wondering if i should lower the dose at all. I have posted on the levemir boards and on the main message board. Thank you for your help.
 
Sarah, I'm a newbie and can't give advice. Please post to the Lantus board here. It is a very active forum and I'm sure you wll get the answers you need there. Good luck to you and Baby.
 
Sarah:

Any test below 40 requires that you take a dose reduction. You should reduce your dose by 0.25u. You may want to refamiliarize yourself with the information in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky.

I can't tell from your SS whether you shot -- you have a dose in the "U" column. If you did skip, please don't show the dose. If you leave the space blank, we will assume that you didn't shoot.

I really want to encourage you to get some tests in around the mid-cycle. The more you can vary your tests times, the more information about Baby's cycle we'll have. If you are able to get a curve, you will have an idea of when Lantus onset and nadir occur, as well as what kind of duration you're getting. Maybe with the holiday coming up, you'll be home enough to get a curve. I'm stressing this because it may be that some of the higher numbers you're seeing reflect bounces. It's possible that Baby has been hitting lows that you've not been able to catch.
 
hi sarah - i was wondering, are you still splitting the dose like you were at the beginning?

it looks like you shot the 36 on the ss. for the future, you don't want to shoot less than 150 unless you have a lot more data so you know how low she's going and are going to be able to monitor. 36 is getting close to hypoglycemic and we treat cats when they dip below 50 by giving a little gravy from the high carb food and retesting every 20 minutes to keep the cat over 50.

the "normal" curve of lantus would have a cat dropping from the preshot number fairly steadily for the next several hours. we wouldn't want a cat to drop from a 36.

how's everything going now? have you gotten more tests?
 
I'm sorry, I miss-typed on the spread sheet. I did not give a dose last night. If you will look further up the spread sheet, you will notice that I have done several curves on her since I started dosing the lantus. She has a very flat curve, which is fairly well established. I'm having problems with her ears being very sensitive and painful right now, especially after I had to poke her so many times last night. I am very hesitant to poke her more than is absolutely necessary.
 
if you skipped the shot you can give her a breather - just a test or two mid-cycle will give a lot of info.

has anyone given you the Neosporin with Pain Relief tip? i like the ointment, some others like the cream. that stuff is amazing - i slather it on whenever we've had to do a lot of testing and it basically heals their ears. the cats scratched my foot and i tried it on me - it's really good at taking the sting out. wipe most of it off before you retest because it will goo up your strip otherwise.

as a regular daily course, you really want to get at least one mid-cycle test from both the morning and night cycles. it's different than with humulin and we dose based upon the lowest point of each cycle.

i like to think of it as a jigsaw puzzle. the preshot numbers are the edge pieces but without the midcycle tests we really have close to no idea what's going on with the insulin in baby's body. the more inside pieces (mid-cycle tests) we have the clearer the picture becomes.

eta - oh, and the flat curve that she had before can change. all of the cats change on lantus after they get going on it. you absolutely can't count on it being the same cycle after cycle.

are you still splitting the dose?
 
I did just put the Neosporin + pain on her ears this morning. Maybe after that heals up her ears a little bit, I'll be able to do a curve. I work pretty much constantly for the next few days over the holiday weekend so I can't really do it then anyway.

I haven't been having to split dose very often over the last three months or so. Maybe one time. I don't know when it was, so that's why it's not reflected on the spread sheet.

I do get mid-cycle numbers quite often actually... a lot of the time they're closer to +8 because of my work schedule, but as I said, I try to test before I feed her all the time. Unless she's waking me up at 7am when i went to bed at 5am ;)

I tend to feed her at AMPS and PMPS and +6 on both sides. she goes through cycles of wanting to eat constantly, and then not wanting to eat at all. Part of the problem last night was that she hadn't eaten half of the food i gave her for the day. I don't know why she does this, so any ideas would be good. Thanks for the help!!
 
Sarah and Baby said:
So now her AMPS is coming up. Should I give her 1.4 or should i drop the does to 1.3?
Sienne and Gabby said:
Sarah:

Any test below 40 requires that you take a dose reduction. You should reduce your dose by 0.25u. You may want to refamiliarize yourself with the information in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky.

If you current dose is 1.40 and your are reducing the dose by 0.25, then the new dose would be 1.15.
I think that would look something like a fat 1.00 with maybe just a splinter of light between the plunger and the 1.00 unit mark.
 
hi sarah! didn't see a condo from you today, but i did look at baby's ss and notice she was up in the 370's last night at +10. knowing that you've transitioned from humulin, I just wanted to make sure you know that you take the reduction from that 36 anyway, even if the numbers are high at preshot time. with lantus, nearly all the dosing decisions are made by the lowest point BG in the cycle.

that low 36 zooming up to the 377 meant that Baby's liver released sugars and hormones at the 36 - it's a protective mechanism that we call a bounce. the liver did that to save Baby from hypoglycemia. the bounce can take up to 3 days to clear but unless she goes under 50 during those 3 days, you hold the dose and wait for the hormones/sugar bounce to clear. so you should be shooting the 1.15 dose now.

if you post regularly we'd all be glad to help you learn all the little things about lantus and how it works.
 
I didn't know about the 1.15 dose, but I will start shooting it tonight.

Unfortunately, I am not going to be able to do any curves or any more testing than absolutely necessary for the next couple of weeks because I am running out of test strips and I absolutely can't afford any more right now. I am just barely going to have enough money for her food at the moment.

Part of her sugar zooming up was that I gave her a small handful of dry cat food, so i'm sure that she went up very quickly from that.

Sorry I don't post as much as I could, I am extremely busy all of the time so it's hard to find time to post unless something very important comes up. Thank you for all your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top