11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482; PMPS 517

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56903

I'm starting to get tired of this yo-yo'ing! Just when I think he is making progress & feeling better, he turns around & goes backwards again!

He only ate about 3/8 of his food again last night. I am still mixing 1/2 can LC Merrick with 1 can MC Fancy Feast to temp him into eating more. He did poop again last night & there were several pee clumps as well. Maybe he is too sleepy from the bupe to eat? I did not give him any bupe this morning - we'll see how he does today. I did give him his ab's still this morning.

His numbers have been high the past several days, but I did not want to adjust his dose until he was eating more consistantly. Now that he dropped low this morning, I guess he is bouncing a bit - I'm just not sure if it's from too much or too little insulin. Any thoughts?

I know it takes awhile for a body to adjust after surgery, but I just wish it was easier to figure out what was going on in Mr Morris' little body!!!!!
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182 bouncing??

Hi guys .. boy I wish I had the answers you were looking for .. I could never understand the yo-yo'ing .. I hope morris settles into a nice dose for you with decent numbers soon .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

So far today, he has eaten 1/2 his food. He was just finnishing up a snack when I went in to test him. After his snack, he rushed over to the LB - he is still negative for ketones. Once that was done, I managed to get a test in! It looks like he is doing just fine, even without having any more bupe since PMPS time yesterday.

It looks like he is bouncing, but I'm not sure if I should be adjusting his dose while he is still not eating consistently & while he is still on his antibiotics. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Hi Gwen,
It looks to me like Morris may have seen some lowish numbers either last night or today...the 182 this morning could have been low enough to trigger the bounce, but it's hard to say if he was lower than that at some point without any other tests. Since he is bouncing, you don't want to increase the dose now. You want to wait for the bounce to clear and then evaluate the numbers and see if he needs an increase.

When you see a lower PS like you got this morning, I would try to get a +2 and see which way he's heading. If he's going down, you would want to monitor closely.

Good job getting the ketone test!
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Others may have other thoughts and opinions, but bounces, you just have to wait out. Keep testing for ketones every chance you can, and keep encouraging him to eat. Sending more eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines to Morris.
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Hi Gwen

Hope he stops bouncing soon.

Your previous condos aren't linking properly for some reason. If you copy the previous day's browser address, then to link it in the current day's condo, just put your cursor in the large text section, click the "url" button
below the subject line and then paste your browser link between the middle brackets: LINK

See if that works tomorrow ;-)
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
When you see a lower PS like you got this morning, I would try to get a +2 and see which way he's heading. If he's going down, you would want to monitor closely.
It's impossible for me to get a +2 check during the day Mon-Fri as I work. I give insulin at 7:30am & I am out the door before 8am Mon-Fri.
Dyana said:
Others may have other thoughts and opinions, but bounces, you just have to wait out. Keep testing for ketones every chance you can, and keep encouraging him to eat. Sending more eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines to Morris.
The funny part is that I had intended to ask today about dose advice because of the high numbers lately - then I finally found the bounce! :?
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Your previous condos aren't linking properly for some reason.
Strange! I hadn't even noticed! Thanks for the info - I will try that tomorrow morning!
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Donovan had wonky numbers for a couple of weeks after major dental surgery. However, he was OTJ at the time (and still is, knock wood), so I didn't have the further complication of trying to figure out insulin dosage while he was recovering. His numbers crept into the 200s before surgery, but I chose to wait and see if his numbers got better afterward. Thankfully they did. I'm glad Morris came through the surgery OK, but I'm sorry to see him bouncing so much.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Would it be possible to move your shot time a little earlier so you could get an out the door test? Even a +1 or +1.5 would be helpful. The other advantage is that it builds in a little stalling time....if you shoot and leave 1/2 hour later, it's going to be tough to stall when you need to. Just a thought...I don't know if this is doable for you or not.
 
Re: 11/21 Morris AMPS 182; +9 482 bouncing?? Dose advice pls

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Would it be possible to move your shot time a little earlier so you could get an out the door test? Even a +1 or +1.5 would be helpful. The other advantage is that it builds in a little stalling time....if you shoot and leave 1/2 hour later, it's going to be tough to stall when you need to. Just a thought...I don't know if this is doable for you or not.
Not really doable. I'm not a morning person (really sucks having to get up early on weekends to tend to him!), plus I also have 2 kids & a husband to deal with in the morning as well. Our weekday mornings are extremely hectic!
 
He didn't eat any more since +9 :cry: He only ate 1/2 his food today. All other functions seem to be working normally though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top