11/21 Monster amps 107 +.5 141, +1 143, +2 165, +7 141, +9 135 pmps 129, +2 125

Her favorite activity
20251121_100018.jpg
 
She's quite beautiful. I so love tortis. Not only beautiful coats, but such character.😍
I can't comment on the every 3rd day of, as I'm new to this. But hopefully someone will show up to comment on that. Her numbers look pretty good me though. We're working to get my baby's down there too.
Happy Friday!
 
She's quite beautiful. I so love tortis. Not only beautiful coats, but such character.😍
I can't comment on the every 3rd day of, as I'm new to this. But hopefully someone will show up to comment on that. Her numbers look pretty good me though. We're working to get my baby's down there too.
Happy Friday!
Thank you so much. She does have that character too.
After looking through and reading about other kitties, including yours, I can help but to think I'm pretty lucky (knock on wood) that FD is really her only issue. Aside from a little asthma, and that isn't so bad. She remains untreated for that.
Her numbers have been been mostly consistent. I feel like I'm getting to know her in that aspect.
Today is my 'Monday' at work. I'm still fighting off this cold or whatever it is and not feeling to great. I should've just stayed home, but $$$ calls....
 
I ened up leaving work early today. I just couldn't do it, was not feeling good at all. Plus side is I was able to get some mid cyle tests in and she did good. She didn't drop like I was afraid of at first. But something told me that she wouldn't. I guess that's the first sign of getting to "know thy cat". I do think she drops lower at night for some reason though.
 
I ened up leaving work early today. I just couldn't do it, was not feeling good at all. Plus side is I was able to get some mid cyle tests in and she did good. She didn't drop like I was afraid of at first. But something told me that she wouldn't. I guess that's the first sign of getting to "know thy cat". I do think she drops lower at night for some reason though.
I hope you feel better soon. Sucks when you have to take care of others when you're feeling low.
I can't wait to get those instincts. As you said, the Knowing thy cat. It must make things a little bit easier.
Weird about the night. My cat seems to be the same. Makes it a little difficult in the beginning at least, to watch closely and make sure the dip isn't too much. Glad your little monster had a good, smooth day. Hope the pm hours go well too.💕
 
I hope you feel better soon. Sucks when you have to take care of others when you're feeling low.
I can't wait to get those instincts. As you said, the Knowing thy cat. It must make things a little bit easier.
Weird about the night. My cat seems to be the same. Makes it a little difficult in the beginning at least, to watch closely and make sure the dip isn't too much. Glad your little monster had a good, smooth day. Hope the pm hours go well too.💕
Thank you. I've only been doing this for about 2 weeks or so. Those instincts just popped up recently out of nowhere, so I'm sure you're gonna feel them soon. Maybe they are there a little bit and you just don't know it yet 😉
 
She had some really nice blues today, and you did a great job handling that lower than normal preshot number this morning. You waited and tested to see that she was moving up and then you shot 👍 With consistent dosing, she's going to become more stable and flatter (and, hopefully, not bouncing). By the way, numbers below 200 are healing numbers, meaning that her pancreas' beta cells can often experience healing at those levels (and healing those cells can lead to remission). So, we like it when they "marinate" in the blues and greens.

I'm sorry you've been feeling unwell, Regan, and I hope that you are able to get some rest to recoup soon.

Your little Monster is BEAUTIFUL. I too love a tortie! Such lovely cats!
 
Thank you. I've only been doing this for about 2 weeks or so. Those instincts just popped up recently out of nowhere, so I'm sure you're gonna feel them soon. Maybe they are there a little bit and you just don't know it yet 😉
This is my second month.:(
The first month we tried Prozinc. Didn't seem to help him and later learning about the benefits of Lantus over Prozinc? I was mad that we didn't go on it from the start.
My little man was in the blacks constantly. I think he was in the mid-500's when first diagnosed.:( So it's been a slow go. He's up to 3.75 right now, but rarely has any blacks anymore, and very recently not as many reds even.
Maybe I'm just not listening close enough? I think maybe I need to stop stressing so much over all this and maybe it will get that way for me too.😁
 
She had some really nice blues today, and you did a great job handling that lower than normal preshot number this morning. You waited and tested to see that she was moving up and then you shot 👍 With consistent dosing, she's going to become more stable and flatter (and, hopefully, not bouncing). By the way, numbers below 200 are healing numbers, meaning that her pancreas' beta cells can often experience healing at those levels (and healing those cells can lead to remission). So, we like it when they "marinate" in the blues and greens.

I'm sorry you've been feeling unwell, Regan, and I hope that you are able to get some rest to recoup soon.

Your little Monster is BEAUTIFUL. I too love a tortie! Such lovely cats!
Thank you so much 🥰 and that is great to hear about healing numbers.
I didn't want to skip her shot because it seems like when I do just ends up bouncing later and we repeat the same thing. I'm so happy with how she did today. I look forward to learning even more about my sugar baby.
Chewy delivery 😻😸
20251121_201304.jpg
 
This is my second month.:(
The first month we tried Prozinc. Didn't seem to help him and later learning about the benefits of Lantus over Prozinc? I was mad that we didn't go on it from the start.
My little man was in the blacks constantly. I think he was in the mid-500's when first diagnosed.:( So it's been a slow go. He's up to 3.75 right now, but rarely has any blacks anymore, and very recently not as many reds even.
Maybe I'm just not listening close enough? I think maybe I need to stop stressing so much over all this and maybe it will get that way for me too.😁
I am grateful the vet gave us Lantus to begin with. I had no idea of any differences in them.
It just sounds like your little man has had a longer journey but he's getting there and you are the one getting him there. Celebrate the little wins, no more blacks! I'm sure you'll see more of the blues 💙
 
Her +2 is 125 and it has me a little nervous since I think she has a lower cycle at night. Anyone have an opinions on how low she can get, or when? I felt safe leaving her today because she was on the rise but it seems like she dips at night and I'm not really sure what to do.
 
Her +2 is 125 and it has me a little nervous since I think she has a lower cycle at night. Anyone have an opinions on how low she can get, or when? I felt safe leaving her today because she was on the rise but it seems like she dips at night and I'm not really sure what to do.
You might want to put the question mark in your topic heading. That's what they told me, to let others know I had a question.
I tested my boy at what seems his nadir at +4, and it was 104. Which is in the green for a pet meter. I'm not worried about him though, as he tends to go up at 5. Do you know when yours has his nadir?
 
You might want to put the question mark in your topic heading. That's what they told me, to let others know I had a question.
I tested my boy at what seems his nadir at +4, and it was 104. Which is in the green for a pet meter. I'm not worried about him though, as he tends to go up at 5. Do you know when yours has his nadir?
Not really she hasn't shown much of one and I haven't been able to do much testing overnight.
 
Her +2 is 125 and it has me a little nervous since I think she has a lower cycle at night. Anyone have an opinions on how low she can get, or when? I felt safe leaving her today because she was on the rise but it seems like she dips at night and I'm not really sure what to do.
Hi Regan! 125 is okay (be sure to update your spreadsheet). And it's a pretty flat number compared to her PMPS, and that is good (as opposed to a big drop from the PMPS). Continue testing her hourly until you see her numbers go up. Remember: food is the tool that brings her up, if she goes too low. Report back with your next test.
 
Hi Regan! 125 is okay (be sure to update your spreadsheet). And it's a pretty flat number compared to her PMPS, and that is good (as opposed to a big drop from the PMPS). Continue testing her hourly until you see her numbers go up. Remember: food is the tool that brings her up, if she goes too low. Report back with your next test.
And I would test hourly.
 
And I would test hourly.
FYI, I've had to give Jude HC all day today (periodically) because he has an unusual situation and is trending low due to a UTI issue we're navigating. Notice our spreadsheet this morning--each lower number, I gave him HC to boost his bg. Just showing you the power of food to boost the bg when you need to.
 
I gave her a higher carb treat. The ones she really likes. I try not to use them too often
Just know that HC treats boost her bg. And that boost remains in her system for 1-2 hours. You always want to be careful when feeding HC treats/food to test 2 hrs. after feeding because the bg can drop when the HC wanes from her system.
 
Just know that HC treats boost her bg. And that boost remains in her system for 1-2 hours. You always want to be careful when feeding HC treats/food to test 2 hrs. after feeding because the bg can drop when the HC wanes from her system.
So really, it seems like a catch 22. I understand though, the idea is to keep it that way throughout the cycle by feeding often.
 
So really, it seems like a catch 22. I understand though, the idea is to keep it that way throughout the cycle by feeding often.
There is a word for it that they use here; it's called manipulating the curve with food (here's the sticky 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***). It's a powerful maneuver to learn that helps you keep them surfing at a good number while not going too low.
 
And just so you know, you can use LC to manipulate the curve or to boost their bg through a cycle, if it will work. You use MC and HC when you encounter a low number when LC won’t work. For example, today, Jude’s LC was not boosting him up enough, so I had to turn to MC/HC.
 
Thank you. I just did +4 and she's at 105. I fed some MC and leaving it out for her to graze on until morning. I'm going to try to get her to sleep with me tonight, I'm not sure I can stay awake much longer.
 
And just so you know, you can use LC to manipulate the curve or to boost their bg through a cycle, if it will work. You use MC and HC when you encounter a low number when LC won’t work. For example, today, Jude’s LC was not boosting him up enough, so I had to turn to MC/HC.
I've seen other's sheets today showed antibiotics mess with the numbers. That's so odd to me, but good to know. My little guy already has a battered immune system from early severe malnutrition (we found him while home shopping), and can't even fight off a cold on his own.

Thank you. I just did +4 and she's at 105. I fed some MC and leaving it out for her to graze on until morning. I'm going to try to get her to sleep with me tonight, I'm not sure I can stay awake much longer.
And wow, you gave it your all last night! I don't think our kitties realize how lucky they are sometimes, all that we do for them.😅 Am looking forward to seeing your numbers this morning.
I've done 2 later nights with mine, but learning the nadir and seeing his past numbers, I went to sleep at midnight feeling safe. Today is our lowest and I'll be checking him regularly. But I have a feeling he'll be ok today. I hope Monster is in the same boat we are today! 🥰
 
And wow, you gave it your all last night! I don't think our kitties realize how lucky they are sometimes, all that we do for them.😅 Am looking forward to seeing your numbers this morning.
I've done 2 later nights with mine, but learning the nadir and seeing his past numbers, I went to sleep at midnight feeling safe. Today is our lowest and I'll be checking him regularly. But I have a feeling he'll be ok today. I hope Monster is in the same boat we are today! 🥰
They do not know how lucky they are, but my kids never did either, lol. Wow, Nicos numbers look great! Maybe he's finally finding his zone. Great job!
 
Back
Top