11/21 Max AMPS 441 +3 434 +6 459 +9 421 PMPS 475

Rick Max’s dad

Member Since 2020
Hi, My cat max was only diagnosed a few weeks ago. He had a UID and was on antibiotics for a bit which led to other issues which we have mostly resolved. I'm keen to get his BG under control before the six month period to give him the best shot at remission. After starting at 2 units dose the subsequent visit 2 weeks later led the vet to increase this to 2.5 which he is still on. The vet wanted to wait three weeks to see him again but after some research I felt this was too long to wait for adjustments and I got a glucose meter this week. I started taking readings which I've uploaded to his spreadsheet here.

These were:
11/20 Max 293 +4 326 +8 455 PMPS
11/21 Max AMPS 441 +3 434 +6 459 +9 421 PMPS 475
11/22 Max AMPS 356 +4 329

I was surprised by the readings on the 21st since they were basically flat across the day with no curve. Today is looking like it might be a little more traditional but we'll see.

I was feeding him a 1/4 can hills k/d before doses and letting him graze dry food whenever. However after reading here I've just switched him to 1/2 can before doses and about 1 cup of dry food before bed, he didn't eat last night.

Any thoughts as to why his numbers would be flat would be appreciated. After today's readings I will likely increase his dose to 3.

Thanks very much and great web site to understand this issue.
 
Hello and welcome. Waving "Hi" from North Van. Make sure to read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Lots of good info there. The New to the Group Sticky Note has a definition of "bouncing" and I rather suspect that's part of what you are seeing.

Can you tell me what type of dry food he's eating? Most dry foods are way too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. Also why he's on the k/d food, which is also high carb food.

A couple other requests - could you put in some history on the spreadsheet before the 20th? Even if not testing, it's good to know what day he started insulin and how long he was on the 2.0 units then when he switched to the 2.5 units. So you can fill in the units cells for the other day.

One thing you might want to consider is getting some tests in the night time cycle. Maybe one just before going to bed. Many (probably most) cats tend to go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, hence the need to see if he's going lower at night.

And finally for now, New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Thanks very much. I added some history to his sheet regarding diagnosis and initial vet readings.
My apologies he's on Hill's w/d wet food and finishing a bag of Hill's c/d dry food.
I'll try to get some night readings. I dose him at 8 am/pm so can get one a couple hours after pm dose and maybe an hour before morning dose.
 
Thanks for the updates to the spreadsheet. Is there any medical reason he's on w/d wet or c/d dry? Again, both are horribly high in carbs and there are usually alternatives that are suitable for diabetics. Most of us feed low carb commercially available wet or raw food, some also do home made. If there are any medical issues, could you put them in your signature? The link (in blue) that I included at the end of my post describes what things besides spreadsheets should go in the signature. That just makes is easier/faster for us to help you, instead of keeping on asking questions. :)

A check two hours after the PM shot would be perfect. If the +2 number is a significantly lower than the PMPS, that means an active cycle where he'll likely go lower. And that means either setting an alarm for a later test, or leaving lots of food out so he can stay safe.
 
Last edited:
Welcome. It’s interesting that Max was eating Hills CD. My boy was on OT too but had been off it a couple years before becoming diabetic. Did Max have crystals or a urinary blockage?
 
Thanks everyone. Lots to read and get up to speed with on here. I’ve added some info to the sig. yes max got crystals about three years ago and went on hills c/d at that time. After diabetes diagnosis the vet told me to put him on hills w/d. He’s on half a can before each dose and one cup of dry at night. I’m finisHing the last bag of c/d then move him to w/d dry as well.
 
Good job on the signature.

W/D is not a good food for diabetics, in either wet or dry form. Sorry, your vet is wrong (not uncommon). They get less than a days worth of pet nutrition training in Canada, and it's often given by the pet food manufacturers. :rolleyes: You want a low carb wet or raw food diet. This cat food list contains a number of commercially available cat foods, a good number of which are also available in Canada. You want one with less than 10% carbs. This CANADIAN Food Chart contains some other options. With history of crystals, you need to make sure you add some liquid to the food. Ideally lower phosphorus numbers as well. Here is some reading on feline urinary tract issues, by a vet specializing in feline nutrition, and the author of the food list.

When Neko was diagnosed as a diabetic, one week later my other cat was diagnosed with cystitis and put on c/d. That was a disaster as she stole his food, so I had to find a food both could eat. The vet suggested raw food. But basically any low carb food with water added will work.

Another thought on food, feeding just twice a day is old school. That was you needed to do for the older harsher insulins. Lantus is a gentle insulin and it's fine to give several small meals, or even let him graze. In the beginning, do try to pick up food 2 hours before the shot, so the preshot number is not influenced by the carbs in the food and you'll know it's safe to give the shot.
 
One important caveat, changing to low carb food can make a HUGE difference in the amount of insulin needed. Transition to lower carb food slowly and monitor carefully. W/D wet is 25% carbs. :eek: We've had cats go off of insulin with a change to low carb food.
 
Wow that’s awesome info. Thanks very much. I just assumed the vets knew what they were doing with the prescription food. I’m fairly shocked to learn how that is driven. I will go get him better food tomorrow and see what affect that has on his levels. I wouldn’t be surprised if his condition was caused by the food.
 
By the way, the food is "prescription" in name only. There is a place for some of those foods, but often alternatives too.
 
Thanks very much, been looking into other foods today. I started giving Max more wet food yesturday and mixing water in as well with only a cup or so of dry to tide him overnight. Today his readings have dropped a lot. He hasn't been below 16 since I started monitoring but at +6 today he was 9 and half an hour ago at +9 he was 6.3. He is due for his evening dose in 2.5 hrs. Should I be concerned with the sudden drop in his readings. It's still safe. I gave him an extra serving of wet food just after the +6 reading today.

11/23 Max -2 450 AMPS 450 +6 162 +9 113
 
Last edited:
Back
Top