? 11/21 Hyde AMPS 599 +3.5 425 +6 444 +8 480 0.5uR PMPS 441 +4 295

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Anne, you certainly do need to increase, the 0.5uR just isn't moving her. If you are around all day I would try the 1u if you feel comfortable with that, but let's see what the experts say. It will work Anne, you just haven't got the right dose yet.
 
I think you're @suki & crystal as much an expert on R as anyone!

If she were mine, I'd increase her L dose by as much as 20%. That would be an increase of 2.5u, or to about 15.5u. I think it looks like the current dose isn't moving her into good numbers at all.

Looking at the guidelines from the Tight Reg protocol, the increase on 0.25u is 0.25 - or 100%. On 1.0u, it's 0.25u, or 25%. So I don't think it's unreasonable to have a larger increase - I think in terms of 10-20%. Sometimes people on small doses fatten or skinny their dose and unless the cat is basically in great numbers, that never seems to me like it works. With a high dose cat, the smaller dose increases are more like fattening and skinnying. The reason I'm suggesting a full 20% is because it appears she's pretty constantly over 300 on this dose.

If you want to try R, I'd probably try 1.0u provided you're around to monitor the next 4 hours. I wouldn't do both the R and the Lev increase in the same cycle myself. It just looks to me like overall she needs more insulin. If you want to get in the habit of using R with every shot, like Sandy @Sandy and Black Kitty did, then you could begin to do that. Either way, I think she needs more insulin.

That's what I'm thinking at least - see what others say!
 
I agree with Julie on increasing the Levemir. Sometimes with IAA you just have to take out the big guns and hit them with that bigger increase. With the TR protocol, it says to go to larger increases if the numbers are all over 300 and that's all this dose has given you. That's the frustrating thing with IAA, sometimes an increased dose looks worse than the lower one you were just at.

You were starting to see a bit of blue with 15U of Lantus. I think going to 15.5 is a good move.

I hope you had a good dinner out. Come on Hyde, let's see some movement please.
 
SEnding you and Hyde vines that you find some nicer numbers soon- And so glad you got a dinner out- hope you had a great time :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top