11/21 Gracie PMPS 298 +1 319 +2 305 +4 316 +6 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday (aka the novel "Marjorie Shoots Low for First Time"): viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30234

Recap:
AMPS: 264
8th cycle 1.25u
+1: 255
+2: 210
+4: 160
+6: 124
+8: 98
+12: 30
+12.25: 33
+12.5: 53
+13: 60
+13.25: 67
PMPS: 67
1st cycle sk 1.25u
+.5: 60
+1: 45
+1.25: 52
+1.75: 103
+2.25: 88
+3: 69
+3.5: 50
+4: 74
+4.5: 113
+5: 144
+6: 101
+7: 88
+7.5: 104
+8.25: 154
+9.5: 264
+11: 333


YAWNN!!!!! Good Morning Lantus Land!!! What a night we had and my baby girl was incredible through it all. I want to thank LIBBY for staying up and helping me shoot that 67 and then staying up longer even though it was very late her time to make sure Gracie was ok. I also thank those of you who checked in with me in the wee hours of the morning: Michelle, Ann, Laurie...it just helped knowing there was someone there even though I knew the drill. I didn't put all the feedings in my recap above...way too much detail but it's all on my SS. Suffice it to say that I went through two cans of 18% gravy when we've barely touched it before. To say that I was shocked at that 30 at +12 last night is an understatement but I learned (and thank God not the hard way) that no matter what I know about Gracie, there are going to be fast curves. She came down so nice and gently yesterday...a beautiful cycle...I figured after +8, she'd be heading back up...shame on me :oops: :oops: Based on her SS and the fact that her eyes were bothering her alot, I thought I'd give her a break. Lesson learned...I cannot make any assumptions like that...one more test at +10 would have given me a wealth of knowledge. Take heed other newbies!! :lol:

WCR: She's my perfect little girl. The purring is definitely in place. Even after all those pokeys, she greeted me with big purrs at +11 and after the test, I laid down next to her and she rolled over towards me and put her paws around my neck and nuzzled her head under my chin and purred herself to sleep. I cried at what an amazing gift God gave me in her and her name, Kinross AJ's Amazing Grace, is so fitting. She hasn't played this morning, obviously and I haven't seen her in the LB but I'm sure she's gone some time; and she has preened. I hope it is a quiet, restful day to her. Congrats on your reduction my sweetheart...you really earned it.

Now for me....as much as I want to get into your condos and see what's happening with you....I sorely need ~O) ~O) and the civvies are hungry! Have a great day.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451

Great Greens for Gracie yesterday....you did a great job Marjorie! :thumbup WOW guys!!!! :mrgreen:
Hope you have a good day....
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451

and this lazy bean slept through it all!!!

what a great night you had...and welcome to the BOS club, girl!

i'm sure binks will come up with a song for his girlfren amazing grace...but at the moment he's just shaking his head in wonder!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451

Thanks Pat and Celi...I've watched you go through it Celi and just shook my head and hoped we'd never be in that crisis mode!! I can remember telling Lori that
I couldn't imagine ever shooting below 150 :lol: :lol: I'd probably get booted out of LL for that :lol: :lol:

BInksy I would love one of your very special songs!!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451

uummm...marj- after your post in mannie's condo, binks is cruising around singing
"sous sous sous-ddio"
...and even when that song was popular (mildly so, anyway..., cuz IMHO...phil should've stuck with genesis and NOT been the male version of celine dion)...i never understood the lyric...

any clues? :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

I shot 1-1/2 hours late last night (at 9pm) and meant to start this morning making it up in 15 min increments so I would shoot at 8:45 this morning, 8:30 tonight and so on. However, I was posting to see if I should further reduce Gracie's dose and didn't get to shoot until 9 this morning instead of backing it off 15 mins. So can I shoot 30 mins early tonight so I'm at 8:30 and then start tomorrow by backing off 15 mins at a time or once I start backing off by 30 mins once a day, I have to stick with that until we get back to 7:30? Thanks!!!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

Oh Majorie...Bless your heart. You and Gracie are AMAZING.

What a wonderful job you guys did last night....and all the wonderful folks who stayed up w/you for support.

And the story about Gracie turning toward you and held your neck...purring herself to sleep.....awwwwww....that's so sweet.

I hope you can get some rest today.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

What a night for you last night, you and Gracie were amazing! I hope you and Gracie get to go BTB after the morning feedings are over. Wishing you a quiet day.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

I wish I had been more awake this morning, or I would have yelled SHOOOOOOOOOT at +11 or +11.5 this morning. When they're bouncing high, sometimes it doesn't hurt to shoot that early. Since we didn't do that, then 15 or 30 minute increments work best, whenever the numbers permit it.

I'll come back to your other questions later, ok? Unpacking groceries and cleaning the house today. I would much rather be on the board.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

Libby..thank you....no hurry; just whenever you get back to it today. I won't be shooting again until tonight. I didn't know you could shoot an hour early but knew I could have shot at +11.5 but had that plan in my mind of 15 min changes. I don't understand this, though:

15 or 30 minute increments work best, whenever the numbers permit it.

What do you mean with the last part...whenever the numbers permit it? As in, if she drops really low again and I have to stall? Assuming her PSs are relatively stable, can I do 30 mins tonight, 15 mins Mon am, 15 mins Mon pm, etc until we're back on schedule? Don't worry about my other questions..one was about +1 which has passed (no worries) and the other about whether she might be "busy" today. She already dropped a good amount in two hours. Will recheck at +4 and adjust testing from there. I would imagine the opportunity exists for her to be busy today and/or tonight until she is no longer affected by yesterday's dose (3 cycles possibly right?).

She seems to have recovered quickly from no sleep...she's like a wild woman!! Wish I could say the same for me :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327

Bad me... so late in getting to you and Gracie this morning. It has been all I could do to keep up with Mannie's stuff. :lol: :lol:

Bummer on the 451 this morning - but after last night, not to surprised - a bounce was a given. it is nice that she is coming down well. Just not too fast there Gracie, OK? I would think that you can back her up 15 minutes each shoot, maybe even 30. I think what Libby meant was if you have a really low numbers to work with, then you probably wouldn't want to do that. ?? I'm sure she'll get back to you when she can.

Great work last night - I hope you can get some rest today. I love the cuddle story - how very special. Anne and Muffin wrote in Mannie's condo today. I guess Anne has been sick, and Muffin spent the day sleeping with her, cuddled up next to her face, watching over her. We truly are blessed with an amazing group of kitties. As is Gracie.

Have a great day today. I know you deserve it!

Gracie! Party!!!! I will come and get you, and then we are off the Camp Stu! We have to pick up Muffin too. So grab your culinary bag Sous Chef Gracie, and lets get cookin'!! ~~ Chef Mannie
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327

Low pink already, that's good. We did a big change 2 weeks ago w/ the time change. Since Tess was in a high bounce , I was told it would be OK to do the time reset all at once, since it would act like an increase and she was high they should sort of cancel each other out. Now that Gracie is dropping I don't know if you have that option any more.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327

Tena....thank you!!! You know how you love and adore all your kitties but sometimes there's just that "one"? Well....Gracie is like that for me. We are very bonded. As far as last night....well, lots of people in LL have had to do the same thing. What amazes me is the people who will sacrifice their sleep to be there for someone dealing with low numbers. Incredible.

Ann and Michelle: thanks for the info on the delays. No worries, Michelle, about getting to our condo late. My goodness...we al have lives and you were up so late!!
I have so much to do today and all I want to do is sleep. My stepson is coming in this week for a week and so I've got some things to do today to get ready for that and then the usual Sunday chores. And Gracie wants to play...where's Tobey??? Sleeping :lol: :lol:

eta: doing this alot lately....my mind is numb :lol: I checked her at 3.5 because she was acting really hungry and really hyper and I thought "oh no...not again". She did drop some more but she's ok. Rechecking at +5.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

And back up she goes.....man, I thought we'd get some blue today! confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

Mannie asked me to give this to you:

smilyseesaw.gif
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

Thanks MJ :lol: :lol: We are collecting quite a few of Mannie's toys in our closet!!! Why not add a teeter totter. I see he is doing the same thing.

Ella...thank you....I feel that if I had been watching Gracie closer yesterday, that I would have been able to prevent that drop. Grrrrr....But without the help and support of the LL friends all along and what they have taught me, I wouldn't have felt so confident...but still...I worried about keeping her up high enough. I'm so excited for you getting Rusty soon!!! Gracie can't wait for the party tonight!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

Marjorie, you are one of the most dedicated beans I ever knew!! She is just Amazing Gracie!! I know the bond you are speaking of--It happens with our FD cats--not that we love any civvies less, it's just that physical & emotional connection, it's so strong!
I have spent many nites up with Moonie in the past and that first low ps is always scary, especially a 30--EEEKKK!! Now you can laugh about it, but while you're in it, it is an
experience! nailbite_smile
Remember You are always in control when your cat goes low-- (they beat this into my head)-You have your strips, lc, mc & hc food, hypo kit, karo,( and about a 6 lb. bar of chocolate!! :lol: ) and you can handle it!--Always good to be on the board at the same time--I used to take computer to Moonie's testing spot!--Still do!
You Did a Great Job!! We are all here for each other, that's what makes it lantus land!
Ok, you'll get through the bounce & start your new dose crease & Gracie will be great! Big Hugs and applause for a job well done--
Oh and....WHEW!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

anybody seen my tetter-totter? ~~ Mannie

mannie's up too. oh sigh, but they will both be back down.

i double what roni said.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

Marjorie don't think i did'nt tune in first thing this morning...but i only had a few minutes and could'nt write. I will tell you that the visual you gave us of gracie holding you and purring herself to sleep under your chin was priceless. it's the reason we're all here huh? so much love from our little ones...so much warm furry happy mommie i love you moments. (there is'nt a smiley for this feeling)
I have to admit that sick as I was, and not able to talk very well I was so relieved to hear your voice last night. On the niquil I knew I would not be up for long. I was upset with the situation but knowing that everything that goes on here is tried and true...still I could'nt imagine WTF??? but i knew if any kitty was in better hands than you i'd like to meet her.
I can almost not look if the #'s go so low again and you shoot them those doses. It's better if I read about it after the fact.
I think about my son Tomtom...and I can't imagine the BOS or whatever you are doing that gives you the comfort level.
You are such a great mommie and a very caring freind.
Thank You Marjorie for sharing you and Gracie with me.
Lori
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 Shot Time ?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
What do you mean with the last part...whenever the numbers permit it? As in, if she drops really low again and I have to stall? Assuming her PSs are relatively stable, can I do 30 mins tonight, 15 mins Mon am, 15 mins Mon pm, etc until we're back on schedule?

Right. If you think "I'm going to shoot 30 minutes early tonight" but then you find her in the 60's, then that probably isn't such a good cycle to shoot early in. In that case I would wait until +12 and try again the next cycle. If she is bouncing, then that is a good opportunity to make up more than 15 minutes at a time.

As far as shooting at +11, most people don't do it, but in my mind if she is already pink and zooming up fast, then why not go ahead and get the insulin in? Then maybe it will kick in before the number gets quite as high.

The caveat is that it works best if you're doing that at a time when you *need* to move the time back an hour. If you shoot at +11 one cycle because you don't like the number, then you have to shoot at +13 the next cycle to make up the time, then you haven't gained anything and you've messed up the shed. Shooting at +11 can be a handy strategy if you're moving back from a stalled shot and the cat is heading to the moon.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie AMPS 451 +2 327 +3.5 264 +5 364

(((Lori)))...thank you...I would never do anything to endanger Gracie and I don't think I had BOS; I think I just wanted to be sure she got her insulin and I knew I had everything here to keep her up....while it was hard and physically exhausting, I was able to give her so MANY more hours in the healing range and that is what I'm striving for. I'm glad you liked the visual...the reality of it was HEAVEN :lol: I hope you're feeling so much better today!!

Libby...got it; complicated!!! Do you have a great resource that is straightforward on the shed? I just don't get it all yet. Thanks for the info on shooting at +11. I'm thinking I'm not going to have to worry about not being able to shoot tonight...she's bounced hard. I think I shouldn't have fed the 154 at +8 but she evidently peaked after +8 yesterday and I was having a hard time keeping her up and didn't want her zooming back down. Lessons learned. Thanks again for all your help.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie PMPS 298

Good evening everyone: I'm so sorry I haven't gotten to but a few condos today...I am moving so slow and have had so much to do to get ready for stepson's visit as Mike does not get home until Tues and then Jason immediately comes! As tired as I am, I only got in a 20 minute nap so I'm dragging but with Gracie's delayed shot time, I'll be up late again tonight just to get her to +5...and that's if she doesn't do anything. Since she seems to have pushed her nadir to closer to +8, it's gonna be another sleep, test, sleep, test.... ohmygod_smile two more nights of this!! When Mike and Jason get here, I'm going to the SPA...ALL DAY :lol: :lol:

Gracie is well this evening...she played and played today like crazy and then just pooped out. But she's up and checking things out after her din din. Have a great evening and I hope I'll be able to visit condos tomorrow. I miss everyone's news. CONGRATS to ESSI...OTJ TRIAL!!!

Mannie and Tess...we're all the same!!!!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie PMPS 298

Hi Marjorie. I hope you managed to get some well deserved rest today. You must be exhausted. That was quite the ride. Make sure and get some sleep tonight.
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie PMPS 298 +1 319

Roni...thank you so much for your encouraging words!! You are always so upbeat and have so many positive things to say...I appreciate that more than you know!! Moonie is one lucky girl (and Copper too..boy I mean :lol: ).

Barb...I know you must be tired too working nights and dealing with everything during the day....thanks for your wishes. I imagine I'll have to trade off sleeping and testing for a little while tonight just to see where she is headed. Glad Tori is doing so well!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie PMPS 298 +1 319

Looks like she's going to give you a break tonight. Good luck on the power naps, OyIIIII, nadir at +8? Take care of yourself!
 
Re: 11/21 Gracie PMPS 298 +1 319 +2 305

have a good night marjorie - maybe you could stretch the naps out to every 2 hours? I dunno - doesn't look like she going anywhere fast. confused_cat rest if you can... see you tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top