11/21 Dasher AMPS 66 ...64 +3 , 91+6 , 63 +12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
So after the reduction starting yesterday AM & PM we have a nice 66 +12. Should I continue shooting even with this lower number? I have shot a upper 60's number on 0.25 but feeling a little unsure on this. Any input would be helpful.

Thanks.
 
Re: 11/21 Dasher 66 +12

Are you going to be home and able to monitor Dasher closely today?
 
Re: 11/21 Dasher 66 +12

If you can test periodically in the first half of the cycle and are flexible with your schedule, ie. can feed high carb and monitor if he gets low, then I'd shoot. Otherwise, skip. The last time you skipped, he was still green for the next cycle.
 
Re: 11/21 Dasher 66 +12

Thanks Wendy. I did shoot and will be sure to stay close to home. I wonder if and when I should see about letting Dasher go without and see if diet and insulin was enough to get him into remission. I may be jumping the gun a little but am curious about our next step.

I keep HC food on hand in the event he drops too low.
 
Re: 11/21 Dasher 66 +12

I hope Dasher had a good day today. He's been looking great lately. We do try to give kitties insulin support for a while to try to get a strong remission. Sometimes kitties have other plans. :lol: The ideal would be to keep Dasher at this dose a total of 7 days before starting an OTJ trial, unless he goes under 50. From the protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.

Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top