11/21 Crushy pmps 306 +2 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108556&p=1147998#p1147998

I am loving these numbers! I dont think he got above the low yellows last night

I decided to stick with a 1.75 dose because I feel like Im playing a completely different ball game here. Was the rise into the 200s a bounce? (a bounce into the low 200s! how adorable!) or was it because of moving from 2 units to 1.75 units? is the storage shed even full yet? I figured 1.75 was more conservative until it becomes clear what we are dealing with here. And I can always increase it later.

regardless, compared to where his BG has been for the last several months, his numbers in the last 24 hours have been awesome!!

he looks a lot better today too! more engaging and social...asking to go outside. He is definitely improving :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208

Been watching for this..

SO GREAT!!! i wish they had a yellow face emoticon. I feel :mrgreen: over yellow and blues.

It really is like that...trying to figure out what this all is now..is it a moment in time or the new Crushy?

I LOVE it..a possible 'adorable' bounce to the LOW (below renal threshold) yellows! WooHOO!!

I think the 1.75 was smart...maybe he'll need even less before long :?

Regardless it is all good news, he had nice numbers, is FEELING better, and is rid of his nasty bad toofies.

It's just all good news..all of it. Hope he just gets better and better.
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208

I'm so glad to hear the dental/extractions went well, he's feeling better, eating, and numbers looking good.
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208

thanks you guys!

just tested +2 and it was 232
now Im wishing I'd kept him at 2 units :sad:
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232

Crushy numbers look good. I think the 1.75 was wise with his healthy mouth. Let's see.
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232

What a beautiful sunny day you and Crushy are having! OK Crushy, new mouth=new numbers :-D :-D Michele I think you're onto something here..very nice!
Have a great night
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232

thanks you guys

Im really not liking this constant creep upwards in his #s

Im wondering about doing 2 units tonight....or is that just too many dose changes in a short time?
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232 +6 222 +10 280

Since you've gone ahead with 2 cycles at 1.75, I'd just stick with it awhile longer...See if he settles in

Jeesh...you get pretty yellows after all those pinks and reds and you're still not happy? :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232 +6 222 +10 280

I just dont like the way it keeps creeping up

your right it is tons better than it was though
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232

Michele M said:
thanks you guys

Im really not liking this constant creep upwards in his #s

Im wondering about doing 2 units tonight....or is that just too many dose changes in a short time?
no, it's not too many changes in a short time. the TR protocol does allow you to go right back up to the last good dose (2u), but we have extenuating circumstances. we have a lows less than 72 hours ago, 2 skipped shots, and a dental done... all of which could be influencing the numbers you're seeing. if i were in your shoes, i would stick with the 1.75u dose tonight and reevaluate in the morning.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232 +6 222 +10 280

And sometimes flat yellow can mean an exciting cycle to follow. :-D Maybe give this dose a bit more time.

How is Crushy's appetite - back to Crushy normal now?
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232 +6 222 +10 280

All in all it's a pretty flat curve...and it is SO much better than it's been. We were all excited and thought the yellow was adorable just this morning. It's still adorable.

I also wonder about the REST of the report.. (not just the number). How is recovery going, how does he feel, is he eating, does he seem less sore. You said he went outside today...how was that? Is he seeming more himself? 5 p's?
Those are all important. I am amazed at his progress already in the numbers department. And if not quite over the surgery and still a little sore, just imagine how much better he will feel yet with no more pain in his mouth. He is going to be a whole new Crushy.

Try not to worry about a few points..he is doing so great.
(remember what Dr. lisa said?..about blues/yellows)

BTW, I saw in someones condo at some point, that their kitty ran 50 pts or so high for a few days after their dental (can't recall who it was). FYI.
Did you start the AB today, or no?
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy amps 208 +2 232 +6 222 +10 280

his appetite is fairly normal....He still moves his tongue around a lot like it is uncomfortable though

He is not 100% but there is marked improvement. He is pooping well, still eating even though its uncomfortable, is more cuddly but not up to his usual level of cuddliness quite yet. He went outside today and lay under the tree he usually lays under. I figured that was a good sign. he's not out of the woods yet, just improved from yesterday.

I did start the clindamycin injection today. I wonder if that could be effecting his bg at all? not sure how though...

Im really bummed about the pink pre shot #

I think if he continues to climb up Ill increase the dose in the morning
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy pmps 306

I know your bummed. I saw it and felt it even before you typed. And yes, the AB can elevate the BG.

I still have mixed feelings about him getting it. I will have to hunt for the threads where Dr. Lisa commented on this, but the crux is she questioned giving ABs post-dental where there have been extractions.. the idea being the the nidus for the infection (the diseased tooth) was now gone. She basically was saying what she was against was it being done just as a general rule of thumb vs on a case by case basis, feeling that most cases wouldn't warrant it.
I will try to find the link for you.

Hank was already on the AB 10+ days in advance of our dental so were wrapping up the last couple days just after the procedure. I have told you it really did a number on his GI system. But yes it very well could and likely will affect his numbers. So would infection.

SO be sure to note that on your SS, and maybe the times. Is it once a day for 2 weeks?
I hope you got some probiotic. be sure to give it ahead at least 4 hours or so. I found a couple of good deals online for Fortiflora for $20 or so. I'll forward if you are interested.

Be sure to get advice on how to factor for the AB when deciding your dose. I suspect you will also really need to be careful when you stop them as well.

BTW, hank did the same swirly tongue thing. I think part of it is the sutures, part of it is that it feels weird that there are no teeth and that their mouth doesn't feel like their own. It does eventually stop ;-)
 
Re: 11/21 Crushy pmps 306

hmm thats interesting.
I gave the antibiotic around +7 and I did see a rise after that.
arg
Its an injection though....he is not getting it orally. It can still raise BG that way?

Its a 10 day supply of AB
Ive already got him on a probiotic, thanks though
 
I haven't seen people get a rise in BG from AB injections, just the liquids. What type of probiotic did you use? Some kinds can raise BGs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top